How to Become an Agrology Technologist in Alberta
Do you need a licence?
Licence required
You must be registered with the Alberta Institute of Agrologists to work as an agrology technologist in Alberta or to use a protected title.
- Protected titles
- Not listed in the sources checked
Show the source
“Under Alberta’s Agrology Profession Act [pdf] and Agrology Profession Regulation [pdf], registration with the Alberta Institute of Agrologists (AIA) is mandatory if you meet both of these criteria: You meet the educational requirements for becoming a member of the AIA.”
From alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/agrology-technolo..., checked October 10, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Licence required See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 5 steps
- Licensed in another province: 4 steps
- Trained outside Canada: 3 steps
- Annual fees
- Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Institute of Agrologists
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 5 done
- 5 steps without a listed fee
-
The applicant submits post-secondary transcripts showing at least a 60-credit diploma, degree, or applied degree with the required agrology and English or communications credits.
Source
“Post-secondary transcripts that show a minimum of a 60-credit diploma, degree, or applied degree that includes 45 credits in agrology and 3 credits in English or communications.”
albertaagrologists.ca/site/registration/Categoriesofregistration -
The applicant completes the AIA's online course in Professional Ethical Competency.
Source
“Proof of successful completion of the AIA’s online course in Professional Ethical Competency.”
albertaagrologists.ca/site/registration/Categoriesofregistration -
A successful applicant signs an agreement to complete the training program.
Source
“To be registered as an Agrology Technologist in Training, a successful applicant must sign an agreement to complete the training program.”
albertaagrologists.ca/site/registration/Categoriesofregistration -
The training member obtains any required educational upgrading, the required supervised work experience, and completes the Professional Ethical Competency course.
Source
“obtain educational upgrading required by the practice standard in the relevant practice area, obtain the work experience required by the Training Program Rules in the relevant practice area, under the supervision of a qualified professional who takes responsibility for the training member’s work, and complete the AIA’s online course in Professional Ethical Competency.”
albertaagrologists.ca/site/registration/trainingprogram -
After completing the training program, the training member applies for the Registered Technologist in Agrology title.
Source
“How does an Agrology Technologist in Training become a Registered Technologist in Agrology (RT [Ag])?”
albertaagrologists.ca/site/registration/Categoriesofregistration
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Alberta Institute of Agrologists
5 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Licensed in another province
0 of 4 done
- 4 steps without a listed fee
-
The applicant asks all current registering bodies to send their file, including evidence of good standing, statements about conditions and character, complaint history, and transcripts, directly to the AIA.
Source
“Labour mobility applicants are required to request that all current registering bodies provide the applicant’s file directly to the AIA”
albertaagrologists.ca/site/registration/labourmobilityapplicants -
Applicants for the Registered Technologist in Agrology title identify their desired area of practice in Alberta and complete the online work history summary.
Source
“Applicants for the title of Professional Agrologist (PAg) or Registered Technologist in Agrology (RT [Ag]) must identify their desired area of practice in Alberta and complete the online work history summary.”
albertaagrologists.ca/site/registration/labourmobilityapplicants -
Within 20 business days of receiving a complete application, the Registrar registers the applicant with or without conditions or refuses registration.
Source
“Within 20 business days after receiving a complete application, the Registrar will make one of the following decisions: Register the applicant without conditions, Register the applicant with conditions, Refuse to register the applicant”
albertaagrologists.ca/site/registration/labourmobilityapplicants -
Depending on the registration category, the practice permit may require the member to complete the AIA's online course about agrology practice in Alberta.
Source
“Depending on the category of registration, the member’s practice permit may include a requirement to complete the AIA’s online course concerning knowledge of matters applicable to the practice of agrology in Alberta.”
albertaagrologists.ca/site/registration/labourmobilityapplicants
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Alberta Institute of Agrologists
4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Trained outside Canada
0 of 3 done
- 3 steps without a listed fee
-
The applicant obtains a course-by-course WES assessment or a specialized IQAS assessment of their international diploma or degree.
Source
“A Course-by-Course WES (World Education Services) assessment OR Specialized IQAS (International Qualifications Assessment Service) assessment of international diploma(s) or degree(s).”
albertaagrologists.ca/site/membership/apply/application -
Applicants who are not Canadian citizens provide proof of ability to work in Canada, such as a permanent resident card, work permit, or visa.
Source
“If you are not a Canadian citizen, proof of ability to work in Canada is required - such as a permanent resident card, work permit, visa, etc.”
albertaagrologists.ca/site/membership/apply/application -
The applicant then follows the application requirements for the Agrology Technologist in Training title, including submitting transcripts.
Source
“Applicants must provide all post-secondary education transcripts with the Registrar’s signature and the post-secondary seal on the transcript.”
albertaagrologists.ca/site/membership/apply/application
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Alberta Institute of Agrologists
3 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Other listed fees
The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.
- Review fee: $250
Source
“The fee for a review is $250.00.”
albertaagrologists.ca/site/registration/labourmobilityapplicants
Requirements
Education
Applicants for the Agrology Technologist in Training title must have post-secondary transcripts showing a minimum of a 60-credit diploma, degree, or applied degree that includes 45 credits in agrology and 3 credits in English or communications.
Source
“Post-secondary transcripts that show a minimum of a 60-credit diploma, degree, or applied degree that includes 45 credits in agrology and 3 credits in English or communications.”
albertaagrologists.ca/site/registration/CategoriesofregistrationApplicants for the Registered Technologist in Agrology title must provide post-secondary transcripts demonstrating the minimum education required by at least one practice area.
Source
“Post-secondary transcripts that demonstrate the applicant has obtained the minimum education required by at least one practice area.”
albertaagrologists.ca/site/registration/Categoriesofregistration
Experience
To become a Registered Technologist in Agrology, applicants must provide evidence of having obtained the minimum work experience required by at least one practice area.
Source
“Evidence that the applicant has obtained the minimum work experience required by at least one practice area.”
albertaagrologists.ca/site/registration/Categoriesofregistration
Good character
Applicants must provide evidence satisfactory to the Registrar of having good character and reputation.
Source
“Evidence satisfactory to the Registrar of having good character and reputation.”
albertaagrologists.ca/site/registration/Categoriesofregistration
Other
Applicants must provide evidence of being a Canadian citizen or lawfully entitled to work in Canada.
Source
“Evidence of being a Canadian citizen or lawfully entitled to work in Canada.”
albertaagrologists.ca/site/registration/CategoriesofregistrationApplicants must have successfully completed the AIA's Training Program.
Source
“Each applicant for registration as a professional agrologist (PAg) or registered technologist in agrology (RTAg) must have successfully completed the Training Program”
albertaagrologists.ca/site/registration/trainingprogram
Already licensed in another province?
Direct transfer
Applicants registered with another agrology institute in Canada can apply for dual or transfer registration, and the Registrar registers them based on their file without requiring an entry-to-practice exam or competence assessment. Source
“An individual can apply to transfer registration to Alberta, hold dual registration with Alberta and another province or multiple provinces.”
albertaagrologists.ca/site/registration/labourmobilityapplicants
Request file transfer
Source
“Labour mobility applicants are required to request that all current registering bodies provide the applicant’s file directly to the AIA”
albertaagrologists.ca/site/registration/labourmobilityapplicantsRegistrar decides
Source
“Within 20 business days after receiving a complete application, the Registrar will make one of the following decisions”
albertaagrologists.ca/site/registration/labourmobilityapplicants
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Institute of Agrologists
Credential assessment
WES Course-by-Course assessment
assessment of international diplomas or degrees for internationally educated applicants
Source
“A Course-by-Course WES (World Education Services) assessment OR Specialized IQAS (International Qualifications Assessment Service) assessment of international diploma(s) or degree(s).”
albertaagrologists.ca/site/membership/apply/applicationIQAS Specialized assessment
assessment of international diplomas or degrees for internationally educated applicants
Source
“A Course-by-Course WES (World Education Services) assessment OR Specialized IQAS (International Qualifications Assessment Service) assessment of international diploma(s) or degree(s).”
albertaagrologists.ca/site/membership/apply/application
Exams
Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Institute of Agrologists
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Institute of Agrologists
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Institute of Agrologists
Supervised practice
Required
Agrology Technologists In-Training must complete a Training Program that includes work experience under the supervision of a qualified professional. Source
“obtain the work experience required by the Training Program Rules in the relevant practice area, under the supervision of a qualified professional who takes responsibility for the training member’s work”
albertaagrologists.ca/site/registration/trainingprogram
Demand and pay
No Job Bank wage or outlook data for this occupation yet.
Agrology technologists in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Not confirmed yet
- Saskatchewan Not confirmed yet
- Manitoba Not confirmed yet
- Ontario Not confirmed yet
- Quebec Not confirmed yet
- New Brunswick Not confirmed yet
- Nova Scotia Not confirmed yet
- Prince Edward Island Not confirmed yet
- Newfoundland and Labrador Not confirmed yet
- Yukon Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories Not confirmed yet
- Nunavut Not confirmed yet
Sources checked
- Agrology Technologist: Certifications in Alberta - alis alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/agrology-technolo... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Categories of registration - AIA albertaagrologists.ca/site/registration/Categoriesofregistration · fetched October 10, 2026
- Training Program - AIA albertaagrologists.ca/site/registration/trainingprogram · fetched October 10, 2026
- Labour Mobility Applicants - AIA albertaagrologists.ca/site/registration/labourmobilityapplicants · fetched October 10, 2026
- Application - AIA albertaagrologists.ca/site/membership/apply/application · fetched October 10, 2026
Frequently asked questions
1
Do you need a licence to work as an agrology technologist in Alberta?
Yes. Registration with the Alberta Institute of Agrologists is required to practise in Alberta.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.