Province comparison
Pharmacist Licensing by Province
Licence status by province and territory
Boundaries simplified for display. Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence – Canada. Source: Statistics Canada, 2021 Census boundary files.
- Licence required
- British Columbia: Licence required
- Alberta: Licence required
- Saskatchewan: Licence required
- Manitoba: Licence required
- Ontario: Licence required
- Quebec: Licence required
- New Brunswick: Licence required
- Nova Scotia: Licence required
- Prince Edward Island: Licence required
- Newfoundland and Labrador: Licence required
- Yukon: Licence required
- Northwest Territories: Licence required
- Nunavut: Licence required
Compare the provinces
Listed one-time fees
| Where | Fees | No-fee steps |
|---|---|---|
| British Columbia | Not listed | 6 |
| Alberta | Not listed | 8 |
| Saskatchewan | Not listed | 2 |
| Manitoba | $100 | 2 |
| Ontario | Not listed | 7 |
| Quebec | $748.10 | 8 |
| New Brunswick | Not listed | 6 |
| Nova Scotia | Not listed | 4 |
| Prince Edward Island | Not listed | 9 |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | Not listed | 10 |
Listed time
Time not stated for every step: British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan, Manitoba, Ontario, Quebec, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island, and Newfoundland and Labrador.
Side by side
| Where | Routes | Exams | Language | Listed fees | Listed time | Median wage | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| British Columbia | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | PEBC Qualifying Exam, Jurisprudence Exam (JE) | — | Not listed | — | $52.00 an hour | Good (4 of 5) |
| Alberta | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | PEBC Qualifying Exam, Ethics and Jurisprudence Exam (pharmacist) | — | Not listed | 0.5 months (partial) | $55.00 an hour | Good (4 of 5) |
| Saskatchewan | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | Pharmacy Examining Board of Canada (PEBC) Qualification Exam Part I (MCQ), Pharmacy Examining Board of Canada (PEBC) Qualification Exam Part II (OSCE), Jurisprudence Examination | — | Not listed | — | $55.33 an hour | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Manitoba | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | Jurisprudence Examination (JP Exam) | — | $100 (Trained outside Canada) | — | $56.00 an hour | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Ontario | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | PEBC Qualifying Exam, PEBC Evaluating Exam, Jurisprudence, Ethics and Professionalism exam, Practice Assessment of Competence at Entry (PACE) | — | Not listed | — | $53.85 an hour | Good (4 of 5) |
| Quebec | Trained in Canada, Trained outside Canada | Examen d’aptitude du BEPC – Partie I (MCQ), Examen d’aptitude du BEPC – Partie II (OSCE), Examen ECOS | — | $748.10 (Trained outside Canada) | 1 to 3 months (partial) | $63.00 an hour | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| New Brunswick | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | Jurisprudence Exam, Qualifying Examination Part I (MCQ), Qualifying Examination Part II (OSCE) | — | Not listed | — | $52.00 an hour | Good (4 of 5) |
| Nova Scotia | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | PEBC Qualifying Exam, NSPR Jurisprudence Examination, Practice Readiness Assessment Program (PRAP) | — | Not listed | — | $51.00 an hour | Good (4 of 5) |
| Prince Edward Island | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | PEBC Qualifying Exam, PEBC Evaluating Exam, Pharmacy Assessment of Competence at Entry (PACE) | — | Not listed | — | $55.50 an hour | Good (4 of 5) |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | PEBC Qualifying Exam, CPNL Registration Exam, PEBC Evaluating Exam | — | Not listed | — | $51.00 an hour | Good (4 of 5) |
Moving between provinces
- Direct transfer (48)
- Extra steps (24)
- Not stated (84)
All answers as a table
Demand and pay
Median wage
| Where | Low | Median | High |
|---|---|---|---|
| Canada | $40.00 | $55.49 | $67.00 |
| British Columbia | $40.87 | $52.00 | $64.00 |
| Alberta | $41.24 | $55.00 | $62.00 |
| Saskatchewan | $35.18 | $55.33 | $62.00 |
| Manitoba | $50.00 | $56.00 | $69.23 |
| Ontario | $37.00 | $53.85 | $65.00 |
| Quebec | $41.03 | $63.00 | $75.00 |
| New Brunswick | $46.15 | $52.00 | $65.00 |
| Nova Scotia | $41.25 | $51.00 | $58.97 |
| Prince Edward Island | $46.88 | $55.50 | $62.50 |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | $33.00 | $51.00 | $59.00 |
| Yukon | $43.61 | $64.71 | $82.88 |
| Northwest Territories | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Nunavut | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
Job outlook
| Where | Outlook |
|---|---|
| British Columbia | Good (4 of 5) |
| Alberta | Good (4 of 5) |
| Saskatchewan | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Manitoba | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Ontario | Good (4 of 5) |
| Quebec | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| New Brunswick | Good (4 of 5) |
| Nova Scotia | Good (4 of 5) |
| Prince Edward Island | Good (4 of 5) |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | Good (4 of 5) |
| Yukon | Outlook not determined |
| Northwest Territories | Outlook not determined |
| Nunavut | Outlook not determined |
Tools and tables
- Licence transfer checker Already licensed in one province? See what another province asks for.
- Roadmap builder Your steps, listed fees and time for one occupation and province.
- Language test scores Minimum IELTS, CELPIP and other scores, by occupation and province.
- Credential assessments Which regulators ask for an assessment of your education.
- Licensing exams Which exams each regulator asks for.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.