At a glance

Licence status
Licence required See the source
Annual fees

Your roadmap

Trained in Canada

  • 8 steps without a listed fee
  • Annual fees: $25 (for renewing an EPC in Drug Administration)
  1. Canadian graduates of a CCAPP accredited pharmacy program applying for the Qualifying Examination for the first time must submit a completed application and ID documents to PEBC for identity and education verification.

    Source
    “You are required to first complete ID and Education Verification by submitting the completed application and ID documents if you graduated in Canada from a CCAPP accredited pharmacy program and intend to apply for the Pharmacist Qualifying Examination for the first time”
    pebc.ca/pharmacists/qualifying-examination/application-for-part-i-a...
  2. The applicant must pass the multiple-choice part of the PEBC Qualifying Examination.

    Source
    “This certification is granted by the PEBC to those who successfully complete the PEBC Qualifying Examination – Part I (MCQ) and Part II (OSCE).”
    pebc.ca/pharmacists/certification-pathway/canadian-graduates
  3. The applicant must pass the performance-based OSCE part of the PEBC Qualifying Examination.

    Source
    “the Board uses both a multiple choice assessment (Part I – MCQ) and a performance-based assessment (Part II – OSCE). Both Parts must be completed satisfactorily in order for an individual to be certified as competent.”
    pebc.ca/pharmacists/certification-pathway/canadian-graduates
  4. Current provisional pharmacists apply for General Class registration through the application form in their registrant profile.

    Source
    “Current provisional pharmacists may apply for registration in the General Class by accessing the application form found in their registrant profile.”
    pepharmacists.ca/registration/pharmacists/general-pharmacists/curre...
  5. Applicants must submit a letter from PEBC or a certificate confirming successful completion of the PEBC Qualifying exams.

    Source
    “Applicants must submit either a letter from PEBC or a certificate confirming successful completion of PEBC Qualifying exams.”
    pepharmacists.ca/registration/pharmacists/general-pharmacists/curre...
  6. Applicants and preceptors must submit the required documentation for the post-graduate structured practical training program to the PEICP office.

    Source
    “Applicants and preceptors must submit the required documentation to the PEICP office in person, by fax or by email.”
    pepharmacists.ca/registration/pharmacists/general-pharmacists/curre...
  7. Canadian graduates must submit confirmation of 280 hours of unstructured practice experience from any regulatory authority where the hours were completed, if transferring them to PEI.

    Source
    “Canadian graduates of BSc(Pharm) programs must submit confirmation of completion of 280 hours of unstructured practice experience from any regulatory authority where they have completed unstructured practice experience, if transferring the hours to PEI.”
    pepharmacists.ca/registration/pharmacists/general-pharmacists/curre...
  8. Applicants access a fee invoice through their registrant profile and must pay the fees for the application to be complete.

    Source
    “Applicants will access a fee invoice through the registrant profile. Applications are not considered complete until all required documentation is received and fees are paid.”
    pepharmacists.ca/registration/pharmacists/general-pharmacists/curre...

Listed fees for this route

No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Prince Edward Island College of Pharmacy

8 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Annual fees Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.

Licensed in another province

  • 4 steps without a listed fee
  • Annual fees: $25 (for renewing an EPC in Drug Administration)
  1. Applicants registered in another eligible jurisdiction must complete the Initial Pharmacist Application form in the applicant portal.

    Source
    “Applicants currently registered in another eligible jurisdiction must complete the Initial Pharmacist Application form in the applicant portal of the PEI College of Pharmacy website.”
    pepharmacists.ca/registration/pharmacists/general-pharmacists/trans...
  2. Source
    “Applicants must download the Notarized ID Form and have a copy of a passport photo and supporting documents notarized by a notary public.”
    pepharmacists.ca/registration/pharmacists/general-pharmacists/trans...
  3. Applicants must have a letter of standing from each regulatory body where they hold a registration forwarded directly to the PEI College of Pharmacy.

    Source
    “Applicants are required to submit a letter of standing from any and all regulatory bodies where they hold a registration.”
    pepharmacists.ca/registration/pharmacists/general-pharmacists/trans...
  4. Applicants access a fee invoice through their registrant profile and must pay the fees for the application to be complete.

    Source
    “Applicants will access a fee invoice through the registrant profile. Applications are not considered complete until all required documentation is received and fees are paid.”
    pepharmacists.ca/registration/pharmacists/general-pharmacists/trans...

Listed fees for this route

No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Prince Edward Island College of Pharmacy

4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Annual fees Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.

Trained outside Canada

  • 9 steps without a listed fee
  • Annual fees: $25 (for renewing an EPC in Drug Administration)
  1. International pharmacy graduates must first register in the Pharmacists Gateway Canada and obtain a Gateway ID number before applying.

    Source
    “Applicants must first complete registration in the Pharmacists Gateway Canada and have a Gateway ID number to submit an application for Provisional Pharmacist registration.”
    pepharmacists.ca/registration/pharmacists/provisional-pharmacists/i...
  2. Applications for provisional registration are submitted through the PEI College of Pharmacy online Applicant Portal.

    Source
    “Applications for registration are submitted through the PEI College of Pharmacy online Applicant Portal.”
    pepharmacists.ca/registration/pharmacists/provisional-pharmacists/i...
  3. Source
    “Applicants must download the Notarized ID Form and attach a passport photo (taken within the past 12 months) then have the form and the supporting documents notarized by a notary public.”
    pepharmacists.ca/registration/pharmacists/provisional-pharmacists/i...
  4. Applicants must successfully complete the PEBC Pharmacist Evaluating Examination, although this requirement ends in January 2027.

    Source
    “NOTE: Effective January 2027, International Pharmacy Graduates (IPGs) will no longer be required to successfully complete the Pharmacist Evaluating Examination to become certified by PEBC.”
    pepharmacists.ca/registration/pharmacists/provisional-pharmacists/i...
  5. Applicants must meet the current English language proficiency requirements described in the NAPRA language proficiency policy or the College's RP15 policy.

    Source
    “Applicants must meet current English language proficiency requirements as described in the NAPRA Language Proficiency Requirements for Licensure as a Pharmacist in Canada or the RP15 Policy on English Language Proficiency”
    pepharmacists.ca/registration/pharmacists/provisional-pharmacists/i...
  6. Provisional pharmacists must complete the NAPRA Diagnostic Tool and Learning Modules before beginning the practice assessment.

    Source
    “Provisional Pharmacists are required to complete the NAPRA Diagnostic Tool and Learning Modules prior to beginning the practice assessment.”
    pepharmacists.ca/registration/pharmacists/provisional-pharmacists/i...
  7. Provisional pharmacists educated outside Canada must complete the Pharmacy Assessment of Competence at Entry with an assessor chosen by the College.

    Source
    “International graduates must complete a PACE assessment with an assessor chosen by the College. Please contact PEICP to arrange the assessment.”
    pepharmacists.ca/registration/pharmacists/general-pharmacists/curre...
  8. Applicants who have not passed the PEBC Qualifying Exams on their first attempt or have not attempted them, or who are not successful at PACE, must complete 280 hours of supervised practice experience with an approved preceptor.

    Source
    “Applicants who are not successful at PACE, are also required to complete 280 hours of practice experience under the supervision of a preceptor.”
    pepharmacists.ca/registration/pharmacists/provisional-pharmacists/i...
  9. Applicants must have a letter of standing from all regulatory bodies where they have held registration forwarded directly to the College office.

    Source
    “Applicants are required to submit a letter of standing from all regulatory bodies where they have held registration.”
    pepharmacists.ca/registration/pharmacists/provisional-pharmacists/i...

Listed fees for this route

No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Prince Edward Island College of Pharmacy

9 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Annual fees Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.

Other listed fees

The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.

Requirements

Education

Experience

  • Applicants under the waiver pathway must have practiced at least 600 hours as a pharmacist without restrictions or conditions in the three years preceding their application.

    Source
    “Have practiced, at minimum, 600 hours as a pharmacist, without any restrictions or conditions, in the three years preceding your application for registration.”
    pepharmacists.ca/registration/pharmacists/general-pharmacists/trans...

Police check

Insurance

  • Applicants must hold professional liability insurance in accordance with section 14 of the Pharmacist and Pharmacy Technician Regulations.

    Source
    “The professional liability insurance policy must be in accordance with section 14 of the Pharmacist and Pharmacy Technician Regulations.”
    pepharmacists.ca/registration/pharmacists/general-pharmacists/curre...

Other

  • CPR and First Aid certification is required if the pharmacist will be applying for an extended practice certification in drug administration.

    Source
    “CPR and First Aid certification is required if the pharmacist will be applying for an extended practice certification in drug administration.”
    pepharmacists.ca/registration/pharmacists/general-pharmacists/curre...
  • Applicants granted registration through the waiver pathway must practice for 14 days under the supervision of another pharmacist in the General Class in PEI.

    Source
    “The condition will be that the pharmacist will practice for 14 days under supervision of another pharmacist in the General Class in PEI.”
    pepharmacists.ca/registration/pharmacists/general-pharmacists/trans...

Already licensed in another province?

Direct transfer

Pharmacists registered in another Canadian jurisdiction may apply to register in an equivalent registration category under the CFTA labour mobility provisions.

Source
“Pharmacists registered in another Canadian jurisdiction may apply to register in an equivalent registration category.”
pepharmacists.ca/registration/pharmacists/general-pharmacists/trans...

Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Prince Edward Island College of Pharmacy

Check a move between two provinces

Credential assessment

Not stated by the regulator Check with Prince Edward Island College of Pharmacy

Exams

Language tests

Not stated by the regulator Check with Prince Edward Island College of Pharmacy

Compare scores across provinces and professions

Canadian experience

Not stated by the regulator Check with Prince Edward Island College of Pharmacy

Supervised practice

Required · 280 hours

Applicants who are not successful at PACE must complete 280 hours of practice experience under the supervision of a preceptor.

Source
“Applicants who are not successful at PACE, are also required to complete 280 hours of practice experience under the supervision of a preceptor.”
pepharmacists.ca/registration/pharmacists/provisional-pharmacists/i...

Demand and pay

Job Bank wages and outlook in Prince Edward Island and Canada
WhereLowMedianHighOutlook
Prince Edward Island $46.88 $55.50 $62.50 Good (4 of 5)
Canada $40.00 $55.49 $67.00 —

Wages by region and job outlook in Prince Edward Island

Wages in every province and territory

Pharmacists in other provinces and territories

Compare pharmacist licensing across Canada

Sources checked

  1. Canadian Graduates - PEBC pebc.ca/pharmacists/certification-pathway/canadian-graduates · fetched October 9, 2026
  2. Current provisional pharmacists — Prince Edward Island College of Pharmacy pepharmacists.ca/registration/pharmacists/general-pharmacists/curre... · fetched October 10, 2026
  3. ID and Education Verification for Canadian Grads - PEBC pebc.ca/pharmacists/qualifying-examination/application-for-part-i-a... · fetched October 9, 2026
  4. Transferring from another Jurisdiction — Prince Edward Island College of Pharmacy pepharmacists.ca/registration/pharmacists/general-pharmacists/trans... · fetched October 10, 2026
  5. International Graduates - Requirements — Prince Edward Island College of Pharmacy pepharmacists.ca/registration/pharmacists/provisional-pharmacists/i... · fetched October 10, 2026
  6. Extended practice certification — Prince Edward Island College of Pharmacy pepharmacists.ca/registration/pharmacists/extended-practice-certifi... · fetched October 10, 2026

Frequently asked questions

2

Do you need a licence to work as a pharmacist in Prince Edward Island?

Yes. Registration with the Prince Edward Island College of Pharmacy is required to practise in Prince Edward Island.

Which exams are required?

PEBC Qualifying Examination – Part I (MCQ), Pharmacist Evaluating Examination, Pharmacy Assessment of Competence at Entry (PACE).

Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too

Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.

Schedule a Call

Free consultation. No commitment.