How to Become a Pharmacist in Manitoba
Do you need a licence?
Licence required
You must be registered with the College of Pharmacists of Manitoba to work as a pharmacist in Manitoba or to use a protected title.
- Protected titles
- Not listed in the sources checked
Show the source
“To practice as a pharmacy professional in Manitoba, you must register with the College of Pharmacists of Manitoba (CPhM).”
From cphm.ca/professional-registration, checked October 10, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Licence required See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 4 steps, listed one-time fees $100
- Licensed in another province: 3 steps, listed one-time fees $100
- Trained outside Canada: 3 steps, listed one-time fees $100
- Annual fees
- Not stated by the regulator Check with CPhM
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 4 done
- Listed one-time fees: $100
- 3 steps without a listed fee
-
You submit your registration application and supporting documents to the College for approval.
Source
“Your registration application and supporting documents have been approved by CPhM”
cphm.ca/professional-registration/jurisprudence-examinations -
You complete the Pharmacy Jurisprudence Modules and submit proof of completion, including payment confirmation and a Statement of Completion, to the College.
- Pharmacy Jurisprudence Modules registration: $100
Source
“Any pharmacy professional in Manitoba can also register to complete the modules. The cost of registration is $100.”
cphm.ca/friday-five/friday-five-january-21-2022
Source
“You have submitted proof of completing the Pharmacy Jurisprudence Modules (i.e. confirmation that you have paid for the modules and copy of Statement of Completion) to [email protected].”
cphm.ca/professional-registration/jurisprudence-examinations - Pharmacy Jurisprudence Modules registration: $100
-
Once your application is approved and module completion is proven, you register for and write the Jurisprudence Examination, which must be passed before licensure.
Source
“All eligible candidates will be provided with instructions on how to register for and book their JP exam.”
cphm.ca/professional-registration/jurisprudence-examinations -
If you are an out-of-province graduate of a Canadian CCAPP-accredited program who has not been licensed in another Canadian jurisdiction, you must complete a minimum 200-hour internship in Manitoba with an approved preceptor before licensure.
Source
“These applicants must successfully complete a minimum 200-hour internship in Manitoba with an approved preceptor prior to licensure.”
cphm.ca/friday-five/friday-five-december-22-2023
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $100
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Other | $100 | 100% |
| One-time total | $100 | 100% |
3 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Licensed in another province
0 of 3 done
- Listed one-time fees: $100
- 2 steps without a listed fee
-
You submit your registration application and supporting documents to the College for approval.
Source
“Your registration application and supporting documents have been approved by CPhM”
cphm.ca/professional-registration/jurisprudence-examinations -
You complete the Pharmacy Jurisprudence Modules and submit proof of completion, including payment confirmation and a Statement of Completion, to the College.
- Pharmacy Jurisprudence Modules registration: $100
Source
“Any pharmacy professional in Manitoba can also register to complete the modules. The cost of registration is $100.”
cphm.ca/friday-five/friday-five-january-21-2022
Source
“You have submitted proof of completing the Pharmacy Jurisprudence Modules (i.e. confirmation that you have paid for the modules and copy of Statement of Completion) to [email protected].”
cphm.ca/professional-registration/jurisprudence-examinations - Pharmacy Jurisprudence Modules registration: $100
-
You may attempt the Jurisprudence Examination at any point during your internship or structured practical training, and it must be successfully completed before licensure.
Source
“Applicants are still required to complete the JP Modules prior to attempting the exam, however, they may now attempt the exam at any point throughout their internship or structured practical training (SPT) program. The JP Exam must be successfully completed prior to licensure/listing.”
cphm.ca/friday-five/friday-five-december-22-2023
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $100
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Other | $100 | 100% |
| One-time total | $100 | 100% |
2 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Trained outside Canada
0 of 3 done
- Listed one-time fees: $100
- 2 steps without a listed fee
-
If you meet the eligibility criteria, you follow a registration and licensure process like that used for pharmacists applying from other Canadian jurisdictions.
Source
“Through this streamlined pathway, applicants who meet the eligibility criteria will follow a process like that used for pharmacists applying from other Canadian jurisdictions. All remaining legislative and regulatory requirements will continue to apply.”
cphm.ca/friday-five/friday-five-january-16-2026 -
As an internationally educated pharmacist, you must complete the Pharmacy Jurisprudence Modules before you can write the Jurisprudence Examination.
- Pharmacy Jurisprudence Modules registration: $100
Source
“Any pharmacy professional in Manitoba can also register to complete the modules. The cost of registration is $100.”
cphm.ca/friday-five/friday-five-january-21-2022
Source
“Pharmacists, interns, and Pharmacy Technicians-in-training registered with the College of Pharmacists of Manitoba (CPhM), including domestically and internationally educated pharmacists, must complete the Pharmacy Jurisprudence Modules before they can write the Jurisprudence Examination (JP Exam).”
cphm.ca/professional-registration/jurisprudence-examinations - Pharmacy Jurisprudence Modules registration: $100
-
After your application is approved and module completion is proven, you register for and write the Jurisprudence Examination, which is mandatory for licensure.
Source
“The Jurisprudence Examination (JP Exam) is a mandatory step to licensure in Manitoba.”
cphm.ca/professional-registration/jurisprudence-examinations
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $100
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Other | $100 | 100% |
| One-time total | $100 | 100% |
2 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Requirements
Experience
International applicants through the streamlined pathway must have practiced at least 600 hours in pharmacy practice, or graduated from their pharmacy education program, in an eligible jurisdiction within the three years before applying.
Source
“have practiced for at least 600 hours in pharmacy practice, or graduated from their pharmacy education program, in an eligible jurisdiction, in the three years preceding their application.”
cphm.ca/friday-five/friday-five-january-16-2026To be eligible for licence renewal, pharmacists must have practiced a minimum of 600 hours in the previous three-year period.
Source
“practice for a minimum of 600 hours in the previous three-year period;”
cphm.ca/professional-registration/licence-renewal
Police check
Pharmacists must have a current Criminal Record Check including Vulnerable Sector Search and Adult and Child Abuse Registry Checks, which must be updated every five years after initial registration.
Source
“have a current Criminal Record Check (including Vulnerable Sector Search) and Adult and Child Abuse Registry Checks. After initial registration and licensing with CPhM, these record and registry checks must be updated every five years.”
cphm.ca/professional-registration/licence-renewal
Insurance
Pharmacists must retain professional liability insurance providing a minimum of $2,000,000 per claim or per occurrence and a minimum $4,000,000 annual aggregate.
Source
“retain professional liability insurance providing a minimum of $2,000,000 per claim or per occurrence and a minimum $4,000,000 annual aggregate;”
cphm.ca/professional-registration/licence-renewal
Other
International applicants through the streamlined pathway must currently hold an active pharmacist licence in an eligible jurisdiction with no conditions, restrictions, or outstanding complaints, discipline, or remedial process.
Source
“currently hold an active pharmacist license, with no conditions, restrictions, or outstanding complaints, discipline, or remedial process in an eligible jurisdiction”
cphm.ca/friday-five/friday-five-january-16-2026To be eligible for licence renewal, pharmacists must meet the requirements for continuing professional development.
Source
“meet requirements for continuing professional development;”
cphm.ca/professional-registration/licence-renewal
Already licensed in another province?
Not stated
The pages do not state how someone already licensed in another Canadian province or territory registers in Manitoba. Source
“Out-of-province pharmacist graduates of a Canadian CCAPP-accredited pharmacy program, who have not been licensed in another Canadian jurisdiction previously, are now able to register and license with CPhM without first licensing in their province/territory of graduation, provided they meet the licensing requirements.”
cphm.ca/friday-five/friday-five-december-22-2023
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with CPhM
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with CPhM
Exams
-
Jurisprudence Examination (JP Exam)
Source
“The Jurisprudence Examination (JP Exam) is a mandatory step to licensure in Manitoba.”
cphm.ca/professional-registration/jurisprudence-examinations
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with CPhM
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with CPhM
Supervised practice
Not stated by the regulator Check with CPhM
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Manitoba | $50.00 | $56.00 | $69.23 | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Canada | $40.00 | $55.49 | $67.00 | — |
Pharmacists in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Licence required
- Alberta Licence required
- Saskatchewan Licence required
- Ontario Licence required
- Quebec Licence required
- New Brunswick Licence required
- Nova Scotia Licence required
- Prince Edward Island Licence required
- Newfoundland and Labrador Licence required
- Yukon Licence required
- Northwest Territories Licence required
- Nunavut Licence required
Sources checked
- Professional Registration | College of Pharmacists of Manitoba cphm.ca/professional-registration · fetched October 10, 2026
- Friday Five (December 22, 2023) | College of Pharmacists of Manitoba cphm.ca/friday-five/friday-five-december-22-2023 · fetched October 10, 2026
- Jurisprudence Examination | College of Pharmacists of Manitoba cphm.ca/professional-registration/jurisprudence-examinations · fetched October 10, 2026
- Friday Five (January 21, 2022) | College of Pharmacists of Manitoba cphm.ca/friday-five/friday-five-january-21-2022 · fetched October 10, 2026
- Friday Five (January 16, 2026) | College of Pharmacists of Manitoba cphm.ca/friday-five/friday-five-january-16-2026 · fetched October 10, 2026
- Pharmacist Licence Renewal | College of Pharmacists of Manitoba cphm.ca/professional-registration/licence-renewal · fetched October 10, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as a pharmacist in Manitoba?
Yes. Registration with the College of Pharmacists of Manitoba is required to practise in Manitoba.
Which exams are required?
Jurisprudence Examination (JP Exam).
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.