How to Become a Pharmacist in Newfoundland and Labrador
Do you need a licence?
Licence required
You must be registered with The College of Pharmacy of Newfoundland and Labrador to work as a pharmacist in Newfoundland and Labrador or to use a protected title.
- Protected titles
- pharmacist
Show the source
“Any individual who wishes to practice as a pharmacist in Newfoundland and Labrador must register with the College of Pharmacy of Newfoundland and Labrador (CPNL).”
From cpnl.ca/registration/initial-registration/pharmacist/out-of-provinc..., checked October 10, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Licence required See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 8 steps
- Licensed in another province: 5 steps
- Trained outside Canada: 10 steps
- Annual fees
-
- Pharmacist Annual Registration: $1,258.40
Source
“Pharmacist Annual Registration | $1258.40”
cpnl.ca/message-from-the-board-of-directors-upcoming-fee-adjustment
- Pharmacist Annual Registration: $1,258.40
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 8 done
- 8 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $1,258.40
-
Graduates of a Canadian accredited pharmacy program apply to PEBC for verification of their identity and education.
Source
“Canadian Accredited Program Graduates - ID and Education Verification”
pebc.ca/pharmacists/certification-pathway/canadian-graduates -
The applicant takes the multiple-choice part of the PEBC Qualifying Examination.
Source
“Qualifying Examination Part I (MCQ)”
pebc.ca/pharmacists/certification-pathway/canadian-graduates -
The applicant takes the performance-based OSCE part of the PEBC Qualifying Examination.
Source
“Qualifying Examination Part II (OSCE)”
pebc.ca/pharmacists/certification-pathway/canadian-graduates -
After passing both parts of the Qualifying Examination, the applicant receives PEBC certification.
Source
“This certification is granted by the PEBC to those who successfully complete the PEBC Qualifying Examination – Part I (MCQ) and Part II (OSCE).”
pebc.ca/pharmacists/certification-pathway/canadian-graduates -
The applicant collects the documents required for the pharmacist registration application, such as photo identification, certificate of conduct, proof of insurance, proof of education and proof of passing the PEBC exam.
Source
“The following documentation is required to be submitted with the Pharmacist Registration Application.”
cpnl.ca/registration/initial-registration/pharmacist/pharmacist-cca... -
The applicant logs into CPNL's online application portal, selects the new graduate pharmacist registration application and follows the instructions to submit it.
Source
“Click *Select this Application* button under the *New Graduate of a Canadian CCAPP-Accredited Pharmacy Program – Pharmacist Registration Application*.”
cpnl.ca/registration/initial-registration/pharmacist/pharmacist-cca... -
The applicant pays the application fee when submitting the application.
Source
“Follow the instructions to submit the application and pay the application fee.”
cpnl.ca/registration/initial-registration/pharmacist/pharmacist-cca... -
Once the application is approved, the applicant pays the annual registration fee to be added to the public register.
Source
“If approved, the applicant must pay the annual registration fee by logging into the Applications Portal and clicking the *Pay Registration Fees* button next to the appropriate application.”
cpnl.ca/registration/initial-registration/pharmacist/pharmacist-cca...
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with The College of Pharmacy of Newfoundland and Labrador
8 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.
- Pharmacist Annual Registration: $1,258.40
Source
“Pharmacist Annual Registration | $1258.40”
cpnl.ca/message-from-the-board-of-directors-upcoming-fee-adjustment
Licensed in another province
0 of 5 done
- 5 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $1,258.40
-
The applicant must successfully complete the CPNL Registration Exam.
Source
“Must have successfully completed the CPNL Registration Exam.”
cpnl.ca/registration/initial-registration/pharmacist/out-of-provinc... -
The applicant collects the required documents, including photo identification, certificate of conduct, proof of insurance and letters of standing from all pharmacy regulatory authorities where they are or were registered.
Source
“The following documentation is required to be submitted with the Pharmacist Registration Application.”
cpnl.ca/registration/initial-registration/pharmacist/out-of-provinc... -
The applicant logs into CPNL's online application portal, selects the pharmacist from another Canadian jurisdiction application and follows the instructions to submit it.
Source
“Click *Select this Application* button under the *Pharmacist Registration Application – Pharmacist from Another Canadian Jurisdiction or Expedited International Applicant*.”
cpnl.ca/registration/initial-registration/pharmacist/out-of-provinc... -
The applicant pays the application fee when submitting the application.
Source
“Follow the instructions to submit the application and pay the application fee.”
cpnl.ca/registration/initial-registration/pharmacist/out-of-provinc... -
Once the application is approved, the applicant pays the annual registration fee to be added to the public register.
Source
“If approved, the applicant must pay the annual registration fee by logging into the Applications Portal and clicking the *Pay Registration Fees* button next to the appropriate application.”
cpnl.ca/registration/initial-registration/pharmacist/out-of-provinc...
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with The College of Pharmacy of Newfoundland and Labrador
5 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.
- Pharmacist Annual Registration: $1,258.40
Source
“Pharmacist Annual Registration | $1258.40”
cpnl.ca/message-from-the-board-of-directors-upcoming-fee-adjustment
Trained outside Canada
0 of 10 done
- 10 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $1,258.40
-
The applicant registers with the Pharmacists' Gateway Canada and indicates Newfoundland and Labrador as a province of interest.
Source
“Must be registered with the Pharmacists' Gateway Canada and have indicated Newfoundland and Labrador as a province of interest.”
cpnl.ca/registration/initial-registration/pharmacist/international-... -
The applicant registers with PEBC and completes the document evaluation.
Source
“Must be registered with the Pharmacy Examining Board of Canada (PEBC), and have completed the document evaluation and successfully completed the PEBC Evaluating Exam.”
cpnl.ca/registration/initial-registration/pharmacist/international-... -
The applicant must successfully complete the PEBC Evaluating Exam.
Source
“Must be registered with the Pharmacy Examining Board of Canada (PEBC), and have completed the document evaluation and successfully completed the PEBC Evaluating Exam.”
cpnl.ca/registration/initial-registration/pharmacist/international-... -
The applicant must successfully complete English language proficiency testing.
Source
“Must have successfully completed English language proficiency testing.”
cpnl.ca/registration/initial-registration/pharmacist/international-... -
The applicant must be registered as a Pharmacy Intern and complete the practical training requirements.
Source
“Must be registered as a Pharmacy Intern and have completed the practical training requirements.”
cpnl.ca/registration/initial-registration/pharmacist/international-... -
The applicant must successfully complete the CPNL Registration Exam.
Source
“Must have successfully completed the CPNL Registration Exam.”
cpnl.ca/registration/initial-registration/pharmacist/international-... -
The applicant must successfully complete both Parts I and II of the PEBC Qualifying Examination for Pharmacists.
Source
“Must have successfully completed both Parts I and II of the Pharmacy Examining Board of Canada (PEBC) Qualifying Examination for Pharmacists.”
cpnl.ca/registration/initial-registration/pharmacist/international-... -
The applicant collects the required documents, including photo identification, certificate of conduct, proof of insurance and proof of passing the PEBC Qualifying Examination.
Source
“The following documentation is required to be submitted with the Pharmacist Registration Application.”
cpnl.ca/registration/initial-registration/pharmacist/international-... -
The applicant logs into CPNL's online application portal, selects the international pharmacy graduate pharmacist registration application and follows the instructions to submit it.
Source
“Click *Select this Application* button under the *International Pharmacy Graduate – Pharmacist Registration Application*.”
cpnl.ca/registration/initial-registration/pharmacist/international-... -
The applicant pays the application fee when submitting the application.
Source
“Follow the instructions to submit the application and pay the application fee.”
cpnl.ca/registration/initial-registration/pharmacist/international-...
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with The College of Pharmacy of Newfoundland and Labrador
10 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.
- Pharmacist Annual Registration: $1,258.40
Source
“Pharmacist Annual Registration | $1258.40”
cpnl.ca/message-from-the-board-of-directors-upcoming-fee-adjustment
Other listed fees
The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.
- Application fee: $132.82 (additional fee increase for pharmacists for 2024)
Source
“The fee increases for 2024 will translate to an additional $132.82 for pharmacists, $88.45 for pharmacy technicians, and $254.34 for community pharmacies (including taxes).”
cpnl.ca/message-from-the-board-of-directors-upcoming-fee-adjustment
Requirements
Education
Applicants must provide proof of education in the form of an official transcript sent directly to CPNL from the university or a notarized copy of the diploma.
Source
“Proof of education in the form of: an official transcript indicating graduation sent directly to the CPNL from the university where the pharmacy program was completed; or a notarized copy of the diploma mailed or hand-delivered to the CPNL office.”
cpnl.ca/registration/initial-registration/pharmacist/pharmacist-cca...
Experience
Internationally educated applicants on the standard pathway must be registered as a Pharmacy Intern and have completed the practical training requirements.
Source
“Must be registered as a Pharmacy Intern and have completed the practical training requirements.”
cpnl.ca/registration/initial-registration/pharmacist/international-...
Police check
Applicants must submit a certificate of conduct with their application.
Source
“Certificate of conduct”
cpnl.ca/registration/initial-registration/pharmacist/pharmacist-cca...
Insurance
Applicants must provide proof of professional liability insurance.
Source
“Proof of professional liability insurance”
cpnl.ca/registration/initial-registration/pharmacist/pharmacist-cca...
Other
Applicants must have successfully completed both Parts I and II of the PEBC Qualifying Examination for Pharmacists.
Source
“Must have successfully completed both Parts I and II of the Pharmacy Examining Board of Canada (PEBC) Qualifying Examination for Pharmacists.”
cpnl.ca/registration/initial-registration/pharmacist/pharmacist-cca...Applicants must attest to current membership in the Pharmacists' Association of Newfoundland and Labrador.
Source
“Membership in the Pharmacists’ Association of Newfoundland and Labrador. *Note: Proof is not required but the applicant must attest to current membership.*”
cpnl.ca/registration/initial-registration/pharmacist/pharmacist-cca...Proof of English language proficiency may be required depending on the province where the education was completed.
Source
“Proof of English language proficiency may be required depending on the province where the education was completed.”
cpnl.ca/registration/initial-registration/pharmacist/pharmacist-cca...Out-of-province applicants must be currently registered as a pharmacist in another Canadian jurisdiction.
Source
“Must be currently registered as a pharmacist in another Canadian jurisdiction.”
cpnl.ca/registration/initial-registration/pharmacist/out-of-provinc...Out-of-province applicants must have successfully completed the CPNL Registration Exam.
Source
“Must have successfully completed the CPNL Registration Exam.”
cpnl.ca/registration/initial-registration/pharmacist/out-of-provinc...Out-of-province applicants must have letters of standing sent directly to CPNL from all pharmacy regulatory authorities with which they are or were registered.
Source
“Letters of Standing sent directly to CPNL from all pharmacy regulatory authorities with which the applicant is currently, or was formerly, registered.”
cpnl.ca/registration/initial-registration/pharmacist/out-of-provinc...Internationally educated applicants on the standard pathway must be registered with the Pharmacists' Gateway Canada and have indicated Newfoundland and Labrador as a province of interest.
Source
“Must be registered with the Pharmacists' Gateway Canada and have indicated Newfoundland and Labrador as a province of interest.”
cpnl.ca/registration/initial-registration/pharmacist/international-...Internationally educated applicants on the standard pathway must be registered with PEBC, have completed the document evaluation and passed the PEBC Evaluating Exam.
Source
“Must be registered with the Pharmacy Examining Board of Canada (PEBC), and have completed the document evaluation and successfully completed the PEBC Evaluating Exam.”
cpnl.ca/registration/initial-registration/pharmacist/international-...Internationally educated applicants on the standard pathway must have successfully completed English language proficiency testing.
Source
“Must have successfully completed English language proficiency testing.”
cpnl.ca/registration/initial-registration/pharmacist/international-...Expedited pathway applicants must currently be registered and practicing pharmacy in a CPNL-approved jurisdiction before applying.
Source
“CPNL waives select initial registration requirements for applicants who are currently registered and practicing pharmacy in any of the following CPNL-approved jurisdictions”
cpnl.ca/registration/initial-registration/pharmacist/international-...
Already licensed in another province?
Extra steps
Pharmacists registered in another Canadian jurisdiction must pass the CPNL Registration Exam and provide letters of standing before registering with CPNL. Source
“Pharmacists currently registered in another jurisdiction in Canada are eligible to apply for registration with CPNL if they meet the requirements set out below.”
cpnl.ca/registration/initial-registration/pharmacist/out-of-provinc...
Pass CPNL Registration Exam
Source
“Must have successfully completed the CPNL Registration Exam.”
cpnl.ca/registration/initial-registration/pharmacist/out-of-provinc...
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with The College of Pharmacy of Newfoundland and Labrador
Credential assessment
Document evaluation
Evaluates the documents of internationally educated pharmacists
Source
“Must be registered with the Pharmacy Examining Board of Canada (PEBC), and have completed the document evaluation and successfully completed the PEBC Evaluating Exam.”
cpnl.ca/registration/initial-registration/pharmacist/international-...
Exams
-
PEBC Qualifying Examination for Pharmacists – Part I (MCQ)
Source
“Must have successfully completed both Parts I and II of the Pharmacy Examining Board of Canada (PEBC) Qualifying Examination for Pharmacists.”
cpnl.ca/registration/initial-registration/pharmacist/pharmacist-cca...Which provinces ask for the PEBC Qualifying Examination for Pharmacists – Part I (MCQ)
-
CPNL Registration Exam
Source
“Must have successfully completed the CPNL Registration Exam.”
cpnl.ca/registration/initial-registration/pharmacist/out-of-provinc... -
PEBC Evaluating Exam
Source
“Must be registered with the Pharmacy Examining Board of Canada (PEBC), and have completed the document evaluation and successfully completed the PEBC Evaluating Exam.”
cpnl.ca/registration/initial-registration/pharmacist/international-...
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with The College of Pharmacy of Newfoundland and Labrador
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with The College of Pharmacy of Newfoundland and Labrador
Supervised practice
Not stated by the regulator Check with The College of Pharmacy of Newfoundland and Labrador
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Newfoundland and Labrador | $33.00 | $51.00 | $59.00 | Good (4 of 5) |
| Canada | $40.00 | $55.49 | $67.00 | — |
Wages by region and job outlook in Newfoundland and Labrador
Pharmacists in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Licence required
- Alberta Licence required
- Saskatchewan Licence required
- Manitoba Licence required
- Ontario Licence required
- Quebec Licence required
- New Brunswick Licence required
- Nova Scotia Licence required
- Prince Edward Island Licence required
- Yukon Licence required
- Northwest Territories Licence required
- Nunavut Licence required
Sources checked
- Out-of-Province Pharmacist | cpnl.ca/registration/initial-registration/pharmacist/out-of-provinc... · fetched October 10, 2026
- New Graduate | cpnl.ca/registration/initial-registration/pharmacist/pharmacist-cca... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Canadian Graduates - PEBC pebc.ca/pharmacists/certification-pathway/canadian-graduates · fetched October 9, 2026
- Internationally Educated Pharmacist | cpnl.ca/registration/initial-registration/pharmacist/international-... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Message from the Board of Directors - Upcoming Fee Adjustment - College of Pharmacy of Newfoundland and Labrador cpnl.ca/message-from-the-board-of-directors-upcoming-fee-adjustment · fetched October 10, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as a pharmacist in Newfoundland and Labrador?
Yes. Registration with The College of Pharmacy of Newfoundland and Labrador is required to practise in Newfoundland and Labrador, and to use the title pharmacist.
Which exams are required?
PEBC Qualifying Examination for Pharmacists – Part I (MCQ), CPNL Registration Exam, PEBC Evaluating Exam.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.