Province comparison
Construction Electrician Licensing by Province
Licence status by province and territory
Boundaries simplified for display. Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence – Canada. Source: Statistics Canada, 2021 Census boundary files.
- Certification required
- Voluntary certification
- British Columbia: Certification required
- Alberta: Certification required
- Saskatchewan: Certification required
- Manitoba: Certification required
- Ontario: Certification required
- Quebec: Certification required
- New Brunswick: Certification required
- Nova Scotia: Certification required
- Prince Edward Island: Certification required
- Newfoundland and Labrador: Certification required
- Yukon: Voluntary certification
- Northwest Territories: Voluntary certification
- Nunavut: Voluntary certification
Compare the provinces
Listed one-time fees
| Where | Fees | Route | No-fee steps |
|---|---|---|---|
| British Columbia | $120 | Trained outside Canada | 5 |
| Alberta | Not listed | Trained outside Canada | 4 |
| Saskatchewan | Not listed | Trained outside Canada | 5 |
| Manitoba | Not listed | Trained outside Canada | 5 |
| Ontario | Not listed | Trained outside Canada | 4 |
| Quebec | Not listed | Trained outside Canada | 5 |
| New Brunswick | Not listed | Licensed in another province | 0 |
| Nova Scotia | Not listed | Trained outside Canada | 2 |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | Not listed | Trained outside Canada | 1 |
| Yukon | Not listed | Trained in Canada | 3 |
| Northwest Territories | Not listed | — | — |
Listed time
Time not stated for every step: British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan, Manitoba, Ontario, Quebec, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Newfoundland and Labrador, Yukon, and Northwest Territories.
Side by side
| Where | Routes | Exams | Language | Listed fees | Listed time | Median wage | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| British Columbia | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | Certification exam, Level 1 Standardized Level Exam, Red Seal exam | — | $120 (Trained outside Canada) | — | $34.00 an hour | Limited (2 of 5) |
| Alberta | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | Theory exam, Red Seal exam | — | Not listed | 0.9 to 1.4 months (partial) | $38.00 an hour | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Saskatchewan | Trained in Canada, Trained outside Canada | Journeyperson exam, journeyperson certification exam, journeyperson examination, practical exam | — | Not listed | — | $37.50 an hour | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Manitoba | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | Level Placement Exam | — | Not listed | — | $35.00 an hour | Limited (2 of 5) |
| Ontario | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | certifying exam, in-school exemption test | — | Not listed | — | $34.00 an hour | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Quebec | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | Provincial qualification examination | — | Not listed | — | $41.30 an hour | Limited (2 of 5) |
| New Brunswick | Licensed in another province | — | — | Not listed | — | $28.00 an hour | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Nova Scotia | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | Certification examination, Trade qualifier exam | — | Not listed | — | $31.00 an hour | Good (4 of 5) |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | certification exam, certification examination | — | Not listed | — | $31.00 an hour | Limited (2 of 5) |
| Yukon | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province | Journeyperson Certificate of Qualification exam | — | Not listed | — | — | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Northwest Territories | — | Written Level Examinations, Written Certification Examination | — | Not listed | — | $40.55 an hour | Good (4 of 5) |
Moving between provinces
- Direct transfer (48)
- Extra steps (24)
- Not stated (84)
All answers as a table
Demand and pay
Median wage
| Where | Low | Median | High |
|---|---|---|---|
| Canada | $20.00 | $35.00 | $48.00 |
| British Columbia | $20.00 | $34.00 | $47.49 |
| Alberta | $21.50 | $38.00 | $46.00 |
| Saskatchewan | $19.00 | $37.50 | $48.00 |
| Manitoba | $17.15 | $35.00 | $46.00 |
| Ontario | $20.00 | $34.00 | $50.50 |
| Quebec | $22.40 | $41.30 | $44.79 |
| New Brunswick | $18.00 | $28.00 | $35.00 |
| Nova Scotia | $19.00 | $31.00 | $42.00 |
| Prince Edward Island | $19.84 | $26.44 | $40.00 |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | $18.70 | $31.00 | $45.40 |
| Yukon | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Northwest Territories | $30.14 | $40.55 | $50.56 |
| Nunavut | $21.45 | $34.67 | $47.70 |
Job outlook
| Where | Outlook |
|---|---|
| British Columbia | Limited (2 of 5) |
| Alberta | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Saskatchewan | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Manitoba | Limited (2 of 5) |
| Ontario | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Quebec | Limited (2 of 5) |
| New Brunswick | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Nova Scotia | Good (4 of 5) |
| Prince Edward Island | Good (4 of 5) |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | Limited (2 of 5) |
| Yukon | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Northwest Territories | Good (4 of 5) |
| Nunavut | Good (4 of 5) |
Tools and tables
- Licence transfer checker Already licensed in one province? See what another province asks for.
- Roadmap builder Your steps, listed fees and time for one occupation and province.
- Language test scores Minimum IELTS, CELPIP and other scores, by occupation and province.
- Credential assessments Which regulators ask for an assessment of your education.
- Licensing exams Which exams each regulator asks for.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.