How to Become a Construction Electrician in Yukon
Do you need certification?
Certification is voluntary
Construction electrician is a voluntary trade in Yukon. You can work in the trade without a certificate.
- Protected titles
- Not listed in the sources checked
Show the source
“Compulsory/Voluntary (C/V) Certification Required by Apprenticeship Authority Provinces and Territories designate each trade as compulsory or voluntary. Work in Compulsory trades can only be performed by certified journeypersons or registered apprentices. Work in Voluntary trades may legally be performed with or without certification or apprenticeship training C C C C C C C C C C V V V”
From ellischart.ca/eng/trades/const-electrician/ellis-chart.shtml, checked October 11, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Voluntary certification See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 3 steps (1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total)
- Licensed in another province: 6 steps (1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total)
- Annual fees
- Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Training
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 3 done
- 1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total
- 2 steps without a listed fee
- Listed time: 24 to 48 months (only 1 of 3 steps state a time)
-
You apply to register as an apprentice in the Yukon apprenticeship program.
- Apprenticeship application fee: $10 (non-refundable, when applying to register as an apprentice)
Source
“You’ll pay a $10 non-refundable application fee when you apply to register as an apprentice.”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou...
Source
“You’ll pay a $10 non-refundable application fee when you apply to register as an apprentice.”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou... - Apprenticeship application fee: $10 (non-refundable, when applying to register as an apprentice)
-
As a registered apprentice you spend 80 per cent of your time learning on the job from a certified journeyperson and 20 per cent in in-school technical training.
Time: 2 to 4 yearsTime source
“let you return to your job over the 2 to 4 year period until you're a certified journeyperson.”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou...Source
“80 per cent of your time learning from a certified journeyperson on the job while getting paid; and - 20 per cent of your time learning at in-school technical training.”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou... -
When you finish your apprenticeship you earn a Certificate of Qualification and become a certified journeyperson.
Source
“When you finish your apprenticeship, you earn a Certificate of Qualification and become a certified journeyperson.”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou...
Listed fees for this route
1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total.
2 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Licensed in another province
0 of 6 done
- 1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total
- 5 steps without a listed fee
- Listed time: 2 to 3 months (only 3 of 6 steps state a time)
-
You download and complete the Application for examination for the Certificate of Qualification form.
Source
“Download and complete the Application for examination for the Certificate of Qualification form.”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/apply-cert... -
You download and complete a Trade Experience Verification form for each employer and include all completed forms with your application.
Source
“Download and complete a Trade Experience Verification form. Use one form for each employer. Include all completed Trade Experience Verification forms with your application.”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/apply-cert... -
You pay a non-refundable application fee of $15.
- Application fee: $15 (non-refundable, to apply for a Yukon certificate of qualification)
Source
“You will need to pay a non-refundable $15 application fee to apply for a Yukon certificate of qualification.”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/apply-cert...
Source
“Pay a non-refundable application fee of $15. We accept cash, cheque, debit or credit card.”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/apply-cert... - Application fee: $15 (non-refundable, to apply for a Yukon certificate of qualification)
-
You submit your application in person, by email requesting a secure upload link, or by mail.
Time: 4 to 6 weeksTime source
“Our office will verify your experience and process your application. This can take 4 to 6 weeks.”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/apply-cert...Source
“Submit your application. In person: Education Building (entrance to parking is on Hospital Road), 1000 Lewes Boulevard in Whitehorse.”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/apply-cert... -
The office contacts you to schedule your exam, which you write at the Department of Education building.
Time: 4 to 6 daysTime source
“It will take 4 to 6 business days to mark your exam.”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/apply-cert...Source
“We’ll contact you to schedule your written and practical exams, where applicable. You’ll write your exam at the Department of Education building.”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/apply-cert... -
If you pass the exam you receive a Certificate of Qualification, which is mailed within 4 to 6 weeks.
Time: 4 to 6 weeksTime source
“We’ll mail the certificate within 4 to 6 weeks.”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/apply-cert...Source
“If you pass the exam, you’ll receive a Certificate of Qualification. We’ll mail the certificate within 4 to 6 weeks.”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/apply-cert...
Listed fees for this route
1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total.
5 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Requirements
Experience
To challenge the exam without completing an apprenticeship you must have enough experience working in the trade.
Source
“You may be eligible to write or “challenge” the journeyperson Certificate of Qualification exam without completing an apprenticeship if you have enough experience working in the trade.”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/apply-cert...
Residency
To register as an apprentice you must be a Yukon resident.
Source
“- be a Yukon resident;”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou...
Other
To register as an apprentice you must be at least 16 years old.
Source
“To register as an apprentice in the apprenticeship program, you must: - be at least 16 years old;”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou...To register as an apprentice you must meet the entrance requirements for your trade.
Source
“- meet the entrance requirements for your trade; and”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou...To register as an apprentice you must work for an employer who employs a certified journeyperson in the trade and is willing to sponsor your apprenticeship.
Source
“work for an employer who: - employs a journeyperson certified in the trade you’re applying to register in; and - is willing to sponsor your apprenticeship.”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou...
Already licensed in another province?
Not stated
The pages do not state how someone already licensed in another Canadian province or territory can register in the Yukon. Source
“You can receive a Certificate of Qualification when you: - complete the Yukon’s apprenticeship program; or - apply with enough demonstrated working hours in a designated trade, including self-employment, and successfully pass the appropriate exam.”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/apply-cert...
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Training
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Training
Exams
-
journeyperson Certificate of Qualification exam
Source
“You may be eligible to write or “challenge” the journeyperson Certificate of Qualification exam without completing an apprenticeship if you have enough experience working in the trade.”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/apply-cert... -
Red Seal exam
Source
“Review the Red Seal Exam Preparation Guide for more information about the Red Seal exam, how to prepare and practise questions.”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/apply-cert... -
apprenticeship level 1 exam
Source
“the apprenticeship level 1 exam based on: - your previous experience and training;”
yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou...
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Training
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Training
Supervised practice
Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Training
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Yukon | — | — | — | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Canada | $20.00 | $35.00 | $48.00 | — |
Construction electricians in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Certification required
- Alberta Certification required
- Saskatchewan Certification required
- Manitoba Certification required
- Ontario Certification required
- Quebec Certification required
- New Brunswick Certification required
- Nova Scotia Certification required
- Prince Edward Island Certification required
- Newfoundland and Labrador Certification required
- Northwest Territories Voluntary certification
- Nunavut Voluntary certification
Sources checked
- Construction Electrician – Ellis Chart ellischart.ca/eng/trades/const-electrician/ellis-chart.shtml · fetched October 9, 2026
- Learn about the apprenticeship program | Yukon.ca yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/learn-abou... · fetched October 9, 2026
- Apply to certify as a journeyperson in a designated trade | Yukon.ca yukon.ca/en/education-and-schools/apprentices-and-trades/apply-cert... · fetched October 9, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as a construction electrician in Yukon?
No. Certification is available, but it is not required to work in the trade in Yukon. Certification is managed by Apprenticeship Training.
Which exams are required?
journeyperson Certificate of Qualification exam, Red Seal exam, apprenticeship level 1 exam.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.