Province comparison
Welder Licensing by Province
Licence status by province and territory
Boundaries simplified for display. Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence – Canada. Source: Statistics Canada, 2021 Census boundary files.
- Certification required
- Voluntary certification
- British Columbia: Voluntary certification
- Alberta: Certification required
- Saskatchewan: Voluntary certification
- Manitoba: Voluntary certification
- Ontario: Voluntary certification
- Quebec: Certification required
- New Brunswick: Certification required
- Nova Scotia: Voluntary certification
- Prince Edward Island: Voluntary certification
- Newfoundland and Labrador: Voluntary certification
- Yukon: Voluntary certification
- Northwest Territories: Voluntary certification
- Nunavut: Voluntary certification
Compare the provinces
Listed one-time fees
| Where | Fees | Route | No-fee steps |
|---|---|---|---|
| British Columbia | $120 | Trained outside Canada | 6 |
| Alberta | $160 | Trained outside Canada | 1 |
| Saskatchewan | Not listed | Trained outside Canada | 4 |
| Manitoba | Not listed | Trained outside Canada | 6 |
| Ontario | Not listed | Trained outside Canada | 5 |
| Quebec | Not listed | Trained outside Canada | 2 |
| Nova Scotia | Not listed | Trained outside Canada | 3 |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | Not listed | Trained outside Canada | 9 |
| Yukon | Not listed | Trained in Canada | 3 |
| Northwest Territories | Not listed | Trained in Canada | 1 |
Listed time
Time not stated for every step: British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan, Manitoba, Ontario, Quebec, Nova Scotia, Newfoundland and Labrador, Yukon, and Northwest Territories.
Side by side
| Where | Routes | Exams | Language | Listed fees | Listed time | Median wage | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| British Columbia | Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | Certification exam, Red Seal exam, Level exam | — | $120 (Trained outside Canada) | — | $35.00 an hour | Limited (2 of 5) |
| Alberta | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | Theory exam, Practical exam, Entrance exam, Red Seal exam | — | $160 (Trained outside Canada) | — | $38.00 an hour | Limited (2 of 5) |
| Saskatchewan | Trained in Canada, Trained outside Canada | Interprovincial Journeyperson Examination, journeyperson certification exam | — | Not listed | — | $32.00 an hour | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Manitoba | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | practical examination, Level Placement Exam | — | Not listed | — | $27.00 an hour | Limited (2 of 5) |
| Ontario | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | certifying exam, Ontario Welder Practical Examination, in-school exemption test | — | Not listed | — | $28.00 an hour | Very limited (1 of 5) |
| Quebec | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | Provincial qualification examination, Cours de connaissance générale de l’industrie de la construction (CCGIC) | — | Not listed | — | $28.00 an hour | Limited (2 of 5) |
| Nova Scotia | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | Red Seal exam, certification exam, level exam | — | Not listed | — | $29.00 an hour | Good (4 of 5) |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | certification exam, practical exam | — | Not listed | — | $38.41 an hour | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Yukon | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province | journeyperson Certificate of Qualification exam, practical exam, apprenticeship level 1 exam | — | Not listed | 0.9 to 2.3 months (partial) | $37.47 an hour | Undetermined |
| Northwest Territories | Trained in Canada | entrance examination, Red Seal exam | — | Not listed | — | $48.29 an hour | Undetermined |
Moving between provinces
- Direct transfer (48)
- Extra steps (12)
- Not stated (96)
All answers as a table
Demand and pay
Median wage
| Where | Low | Median | High |
|---|---|---|---|
| Canada | $22.00 | $30.00 | $47.00 |
| British Columbia | $23.25 | $35.00 | $51.87 |
| Alberta | $25.00 | $38.00 | $52.18 |
| Saskatchewan | $22.00 | $32.00 | $46.00 |
| Manitoba | $21.00 | $27.00 | $40.16 |
| Ontario | $21.00 | $28.00 | $41.28 |
| Quebec | $22.00 | $28.00 | $35.38 |
| New Brunswick | $22.00 | $28.00 | $46.00 |
| Nova Scotia | $21.00 | $29.00 | $43.00 |
| Prince Edward Island | $20.00 | $25.00 | $32.50 |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | $23.46 | $38.41 | $54.00 |
| Yukon | $30.96 | $37.47 | $49.71 |
| Northwest Territories | $22.48 | $48.29 | $57.68 |
| Nunavut | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
Job outlook
| Where | Outlook |
|---|---|
| British Columbia | Limited (2 of 5) |
| Alberta | Limited (2 of 5) |
| Saskatchewan | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Manitoba | Limited (2 of 5) |
| Ontario | Very limited (1 of 5) |
| Quebec | Limited (2 of 5) |
| New Brunswick | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Nova Scotia | Good (4 of 5) |
| Prince Edward Island | Good (4 of 5) |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Yukon | Outlook not determined |
| Northwest Territories | Outlook not determined |
| Nunavut | Outlook not determined |
Tools and tables
- Licence transfer checker Already licensed in one province? See what another province asks for.
- Roadmap builder Your steps, listed fees and time for one occupation and province.
- Language test scores Minimum IELTS, CELPIP and other scores, by occupation and province.
- Credential assessments Which regulators ask for an assessment of your education.
- Licensing exams Which exams each regulator asks for.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.