Province comparison
Professional Engineer Licensing by Province
Licence status by province and territory
Boundaries simplified for display. Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence – Canada. Source: Statistics Canada, 2021 Census boundary files.
- Licence required
- Not confirmed yet
- British Columbia: Licence required
- Alberta: Licence required
- Saskatchewan: Licence required
- Manitoba: Licence required
- Ontario: Licence required
- Quebec: Licence required
- New Brunswick: Licence required
- Nova Scotia: Licence required
- Prince Edward Island: Not confirmed yet
- Newfoundland and Labrador: Licence required
- Yukon: Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories: Not confirmed yet
- Nunavut: Not confirmed yet
Compare the provinces
Listed one-time fees
| Where | Fees | Route | No-fee steps |
|---|---|---|---|
| British Columbia | $325 | Trained outside Canada | 3 |
| Alberta | Not listed | Trained outside Canada | 2 |
| Saskatchewan | $1,105 | Trained outside Canada | 5 |
| Manitoba | $610 | Trained outside Canada | 4 |
| Ontario | $406.80 | Trained in Canada | 4 |
| Quebec | Not listed | Trained outside Canada | 5 |
| New Brunswick | Not listed | Trained outside Canada | 8 |
| Nova Scotia | $1,555 | Trained outside Canada | 1 |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | $612.50 | Trained outside Canada | 1 |
Listed time
Time not stated for every step: British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan, Manitoba, Ontario, Quebec, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, and Newfoundland and Labrador.
Side by side
| Where | Routes | Exams | Language | Listed fees | Listed time | Median wage | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| British Columbia | Trained in Canada, Trained outside Canada | National Professional Practice Exam (NPPE), Professional Practice Examination, Institution of Structural Engineers' Chartered Membership Examination, NCEES PE Structural Exam, BC Codes and Practices Examination | — | $325 (Trained outside Canada) | 6 months (partial) | $52.88 an hour | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Alberta | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | National Professional Practice Exam (NPPE) | — | Not listed | — | $58.97 an hour | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Saskatchewan | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | National Professional Practice Exam (NPPE) | — | $1,105 (Trained outside Canada) | 4.5 to 8.9 months (partial) | $48.06 an hour | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Manitoba | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | National Professional Practice Exam (NPPE), Act, By-laws, and Code of Ethics (ABC) test, Technical Exams | CELPIP-General 8 overall | $610 (Trained outside Canada) | — | $48.72 an hour | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Ontario | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province | National Professional Practice Exam (NPPE) | — | $406.80 (Trained in Canada) | 3.3 months (partial) | $51.14 an hour | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Quebec | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | Professional exam, OQLF French exam | — | Not listed | 25.8 to 62.8 months (partial) | $48.08 an hour | Good (4 of 5) |
| New Brunswick | Trained in Canada, Trained outside Canada | National Professional Practice Exam (NPPE), Fundamentals of Engineering (FE) exam | — | Not listed | — | $43.71 an hour | Good (4 of 5) |
| Nova Scotia | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | National Professional Practice Exam (NPPE), National Technical Examination | TOEFL iBT 580 overall | $1,555 (Trained outside Canada) | 6 months (partial) | $47.50 an hour | Good (4 of 5) |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | National Professional Practice Exam (NPPE), Competency Based Assessment (CBA), Technical Exams | — | $612.50 (Trained outside Canada) | — | $45.78 an hour | Moderate (3 of 5) |
Moving between provinces
- Direct transfer (32)
- Not stated (40)
All answers as a table
Demand and pay
Median wage
| Where | Low | Median | High |
|---|---|---|---|
| Canada | $28.00 | $50.00 | $82.42 |
| British Columbia | $37.00 | $52.88 | $84.13 |
| Alberta | $35.00 | $58.97 | $104.10 |
| Saskatchewan | $36.00 | $48.06 | $67.31 |
| Manitoba | $33.17 | $48.72 | $65.64 |
| Ontario | $27.25 | $51.14 | $87.91 |
| Quebec | $28.75 | $48.08 | $71.29 |
| New Brunswick | $27.52 | $43.71 | $70.52 |
| Nova Scotia | $28.00 | $47.50 | $62.31 |
| Prince Edward Island | $29.34 | $43.53 | $77.53 |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | $28.85 | $45.78 | $69.23 |
| Yukon | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Northwest Territories | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Nunavut | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
Job outlook
| Where | Outlook |
|---|---|
| British Columbia | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Alberta | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Saskatchewan | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Manitoba | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Ontario | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Quebec | Good (4 of 5) |
| New Brunswick | Good (4 of 5) |
| Nova Scotia | Good (4 of 5) |
| Prince Edward Island | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Yukon | Outlook not determined |
| Northwest Territories | Outlook not determined |
| Nunavut | Outlook not determined |
Tools and tables
- Licence transfer checker Already licensed in one province? See what another province asks for.
- Roadmap builder Your steps, listed fees and time for one occupation and province.
- Language test scores Minimum IELTS, CELPIP and other scores, by occupation and province.
- Credential assessments Which regulators ask for an assessment of your education.
- Licensing exams Which exams each regulator asks for.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.