At a glance

Licence status
Certification required See the source
Routes
Annual fees
Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

Your roadmap

Trained in Canada

  • 4 steps without a listed fee
  1. Before enrolling in classroom instruction you must meet the entrance requirements, which include specific high school courses, or pass an entrance exam instead.

    Source
    “Entrance requirements include specific high school courses that you must have passed.”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/eligibilit...
  2. As a registered apprentice you attend periods of classroom instruction as part of the apprenticeship education program.

    Source
    “Theory exam required to complete each period”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/023
  3. You must pass a theory exam to complete each period of the apprenticeship program.

    Source
    “Theory exam required to complete each period”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/023
  4. In the final period you have the option of writing the Red Seal exam.

    Source
    “Red Seal exam option in final period”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/023

Listed fees for this route

No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Licensed in another province

  • Listed one-time fees: $150
  • 5 steps without a listed fee
  • Listed time: 18.9 to 19.4 months (only 2 of 6 steps state a time)
  1. You begin your application online by clicking Apply Now, using an Alberta.ca Account and an Alberta Student Number.

    Source
    “Begin your application by clicking Apply Now here.”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/become-certified/trades-qualifier-programs/...
  2. You upload and attach a clear copy of your trade certificate to your application.

    Source
    “Upload and attach a clear copy of your trade certificate to your application.”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/become-certified/trades-qualifier-programs/...
  3. You pay the non-refundable application fee of $150 CAD.

    Source
    “Pay the non-refundable $150 (CAD) application fee.”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/become-certified/trades-qualifier-programs/...
  4. Time: 4 to 6 weeks
    Time source
    “Processing time is approximately 4 to 6 weeks.”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/become-certified/trades-qualifier-programs/...
    Source
    “We review your application and verify your trade certificate with the issuing jurisdiction.”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/become-certified/trades-qualifier-programs/...
  5. You pass the required theory exam, and you are notified of the date, time, and location through your MyTradesecrets profile.

    Source
    “All trades require a theory exam, and some also require a practical exam.”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/become-certified/trades-qualifier-programs/...
  6. If you complete all program requirements within 18 months, your journeyperson certificate and wallet card are mailed to you.

    Time: 18 months
    Time source
    “If you complete all Trades Qualifier – Recognized Credential program requirements within 18 months, your journeyperson certificate and wallet card is mailed to you.”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/become-certified/trades-qualifier-programs/...
    Source
    “If you complete all Trades Qualifier – Recognized Credential program requirements within 18 months, your journeyperson certificate and wallet card is mailed to you.”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/become-certified/trades-qualifier-programs/...

Listed fees for this route

One-time total listed: $150

One-time fees listed for Licensed in another province, by type
Fee typeAmountShare
Application $150 100%
One-time total $150 100%

5 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Trained outside Canada

  • Listed one-time fees: $150
  • 5 steps without a listed fee
  1. You begin your application online by clicking Apply Now, using an Alberta.ca Account and an Alberta Student Number.

    Source
    “Begin your application by clicking Apply Now here.”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/become-certified/trades-qualifier-programs/...
  2. You upload a clear copy of your trade certificate, and documents in a language other than English must be translated into English by a member of a recognized translator association.

    Source
    “Documents written in a language other than English must be translated into English by a member of a recognized translator association.”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/become-certified/trades-qualifier-programs/...
  3. You pay the non-refundable application fee of $150 CAD.

    Source
    “Pay the non-refundable $150 (CAD) application fee.”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/become-certified/trades-qualifier-programs/...
  4. Source
    “If your recognized credential is from outside Canada, it may take longer.”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/become-certified/trades-qualifier-programs/...
  5. You pass the required theory exam, and you are notified of the date, time, and location through your MyTradesecrets profile.

    Source
    “All trades require a theory exam, and some also require a practical exam.”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/become-certified/trades-qualifier-programs/...
  6. If you complete all program requirements within 18 months, your journeyperson certificate and wallet card are mailed to you.

    Source
    “If you complete all Trades Qualifier – Recognized Credential program requirements within 18 months, your journeyperson certificate and wallet card is mailed to you.”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/become-certified/trades-qualifier-programs/...

Listed fees for this route

One-time total listed: $150

One-time fees listed for Trained outside Canada, by type
Fee typeAmountShare
Application $150 100%
One-time total $150 100%

5 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Other listed fees

The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.

Requirements

Education

Experience

  • To qualify through the Work Experience Program you must complete 54 months and 7200 hours of verifiable Commercial Appliance Service Technician work experience.

    Source
    “Complete 54 months and 7200 hours of verifiable Commercial Appliance Service Technician work experience.”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/0231

Already licensed in another province?

Extra steps

Applicants already certified in another Canadian province must submit a copy of their recognized trade certificate and pass a theory exam to obtain Alberta certification.

Source
“1. Submit a copy of a recognized trade certificate from outside Alberta. 2. Pass a theory exam.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/0231

  1. Submit trade certificate

    Source
    “1. Submit a copy of a recognized trade certificate from outside Alberta.”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/0231

Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

Check a move between two provinces

Credential assessment

Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

Exams

Language tests

Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

Compare scores across provinces and professions

Canadian experience

Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

Supervised practice

Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

Demand and pay

No Job Bank wage or outlook data for this occupation yet.

Appliance service technicians - commercial in other provinces and territories

  • British Columbia Not confirmed yet
  • Saskatchewan Not confirmed yet
  • Manitoba Not confirmed yet
  • Ontario Not confirmed yet
  • Quebec Not confirmed yet
  • New Brunswick Not confirmed yet
  • Nova Scotia Not confirmed yet
  • Prince Edward Island Not confirmed yet
  • Newfoundland and Labrador Not confirmed yet
  • Yukon Not confirmed yet
  • Northwest Territories Not confirmed yet
  • Nunavut Not confirmed yet

Compare appliance service technician - commercial licensing across Canada

Sources checked

  1. Tradesecrets - Compulsory Certification Trades tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/compulsory-certification-... · fetched October 8, 2026
  2. Tradesecrets - Meet Requirements tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/eligibilit... · fetched October 9, 2026
  3. Tradesecrets - Appliance Service Technician tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/023 · fetched October 10, 2026
  4. Tradesecrets - Commercial Appliance Service Technician tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/0231 · fetched October 10, 2026
  5. Tradesecrets - Trades Qualifier- Recognized Credential Program Details tradesecrets.alberta.ca/become-certified/trades-qualifier-programs/... · fetched October 9, 2026
  6. Tradesecrets - Prior Learning Assessments tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/prior-lear... · fetched October 9, 2026

Frequently asked questions

2

Do you need a licence to work as an appliance service technician - commercial in Alberta?

Yes. Certification, or registration as an apprentice, is required to work in the trade in Alberta. Certification is managed by Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training.

Which exams are required?

Red Seal exam, Entrance exam.

Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too

Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.

Schedule a Call

Free consultation. No commitment.