How to Become a Baker in Alberta
Do you need certification?
Certification is voluntary
Baker is a voluntary trade in Alberta. You can work in the trade without a certificate.
- Protected titles
- Not listed in the sources checked
Show the source
“Under Alberta’s Skilled Trades and Apprenticeship Education Act [pdf], bakers who are self-employed or work for an employer who validates you have the skills and knowledge expected of a journeyperson certified by Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training, do not require certification.”
From alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/baker, checked October 11, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Voluntary certification See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 5 steps
- Licensed in another province: 1 step
- Trained outside Canada: 2 steps
- Annual fees
- Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 5 done
- 5 steps without a listed fee
-
If you are new to the trade, register as an apprentice to begin learning and working toward your Journeyperson Certificate.
Source
“If you are new to the trade, register as an apprentice to begin learning and working toward your Journeyperson Certificate.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/about-designated-trades -
Before enrolling in classroom instruction you must meet entrance requirements, which include specific high school courses or alternatives such as an entrance exam.
Source
“Entrance requirements include specific high school courses that you must have passed.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/eligibilit... -
Complete the three 12-month periods of on-the-job training and classroom instruction.
Source
“The term of apprenticeship in Alberta is 3 years (three 12-month periods) that include a minimum of 1,560 hours of on-the-job training and 8 weeks of classroom instruction each year.”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/baker -
A theory exam is required to complete each period of the apprenticeship program.
Source
“Theory exam required to complete each period”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/024 -
You may take the Red Seal Exam upon completion of your apprenticeship in this trade.
Source
“You may take the Red Seal Exam upon the completion of your apprenticeship in this trade.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/024
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
5 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Licensed in another province
0 of 1 done
- 1 step without a listed fee
-
Submit a copy of a recognized trade certificate from outside Alberta.
Source
“Submit a copy of a recognized trade certificate from outside Alberta.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/024
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
1 step without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Trained outside Canada
0 of 2 done
- 2 steps without a listed fee
-
Complete 54 months and 7020 hours of verifiable Baker work experience.
Source
“Complete 54 months and 7020 hours of verifiable Baker work experience.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/024 -
Provide an Employer Declaration Letter (EDL).
Source
“Provide an Employer Declaration Letter (EDL).”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/024
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
2 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Other listed fees
The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.
- Entrance exam fee: $150 (for writing an entrance exam)
Source
“There is a $150 fee for writing an entrance exam.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/apprentice-services/prepare-for-an-exam/ent...
Requirements
Education
Apprentices must meet entrance requirements, which include specific high school courses that must have been passed.
Source
“Entrance requirements include specific high school courses that you must have passed.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/eligibilit...
Experience
Applicants to the Work Experience Program must complete 54 months and 7020 hours of verifiable Baker work experience.
Source
“Complete 54 months and 7020 hours of verifiable Baker work experience.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/024
Already licensed in another province?
Extra steps
Bakers trained in other provinces can work in Alberta if they hold a recognized certificate, but the Recognized Credentials Program requires submitting the certificate and passing a theory exam. Source
“Bakers trained in other provinces and territories can work in Alberta if they hold a certificate or license recognized by Alberta or have the skills and knowledge expected of a journeyperson certified in Alberta.”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/baker
Submit recognized trade certificate
Source
“Submit a copy of a recognized trade certificate from outside Alberta.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/024
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
Exams
-
Entrance exam
Source
“There is a $150 fee for writing an entrance exam.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/apprentice-services/prepare-for-an-exam/ent... -
Theory exam
Source
“Theory exam required to complete each period”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/024 -
Red Seal exam
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
Supervised practice
Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alberta | $15.00 | $18.00 | $24.04 | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Canada | $15.00 | $17.50 | $24.81 | — |
Bakers in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Voluntary certification
- Saskatchewan Not confirmed yet
- Manitoba Voluntary certification
- Ontario Voluntary certification
- Quebec Voluntary certification
- New Brunswick Voluntary certification
- Nova Scotia Voluntary certification
- Prince Edward Island Voluntary certification
- Newfoundland and Labrador Voluntary certification
- Yukon Voluntary certification
- Northwest Territories Voluntary certification
- Nunavut Voluntary certification
Sources checked
- Baker: Certifications in Alberta - alis alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/baker · fetched October 8, 2026
- Tradesecrets - Baker tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/024 · fetched October 10, 2026
- Tradesecrets - About Designated Trades tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/about-designated-trades · fetched October 9, 2026
- Tradesecrets - Meet Requirements tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/eligibilit... · fetched October 9, 2026
- Tradesecrets - Entrance Exams tradesecrets.alberta.ca/apprentice-services/prepare-for-an-exam/ent... · fetched October 9, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as a baker in Alberta?
No. Certification is available, but it is not required to work in the trade in Alberta. Certification is managed by Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training.
Which exams are required?
Entrance exam, Theory exam, Red Seal exam.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.