At a glance

Licence status
Voluntary certification See the source
Routes
Annual fees
Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

Your roadmap

Trained in Canada

  • 4 steps without a listed fee
  1. If you are new to the trade, you register as an apprentice to begin learning and working toward your Journeyperson Certificate.

    Source
    “If you are new to the trade, register as an apprentice to begin learning and working toward your Journeyperson Certificate.”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/about-designated-trades
  2. Before enrolling in classroom instruction, you must meet the entrance requirements, which include specific high school courses, or show you are ready another way such as by passing an entrance exam.

    Source
    “Before you enroll in classes as a registered apprentice, you'll need to meet the entrance requirements.”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/eligibilit...
  3. You must pass a theory exam to complete each period of the apprenticeship program.

    Source
    “Theory exam required to complete each period”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/001
  4. In the final period, you have the option of writing the Red Seal exam.

    Source
    “Red Seal exam option in final period”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/001

Listed fees for this route

No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Licensed in another province

  • Listed one-time fees: $210
  • 1 step without a listed fee
  1. You submit a copy of a recognized trade certificate from outside Alberta.

    Source
    “Submit a copy of a recognized trade certificate from outside Alberta.”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/001
  2. You pass a practical exam that costs $210.00.

    Source
    “Pass a practical exam ($210.00).”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/001

Listed fees for this route

One-time total listed: $210

One-time fees listed for Licensed in another province, by type
Fee typeAmountShare
Exams $210 100%
One-time total $210 100%

1 step without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Trained outside Canada

  • Listed one-time fees: $210
  • 1 step without a listed fee
  1. You submit a copy of a recognized trade certificate from outside Alberta.

    Source
    “Submit a copy of a recognized trade certificate from outside Alberta.”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/001
  2. You pass a practical exam that costs $210.00.

    Source
    “Pass a practical exam ($210.00).”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/001

Listed fees for this route

One-time total listed: $210

One-time fees listed for Trained outside Canada, by type
Fee typeAmountShare
Exams $210 100%
One-time total $210 100%

1 step without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Other listed fees

The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.

Requirements

Education

Experience

Already licensed in another province?

Direct transfer

Bricklayers trained in other provinces and territories can work in Alberta if they hold a certificate or license recognized by Alberta or have the skills and knowledge expected of a journeyperson certified in Alberta.

Source
“Bricklayers trained in other provinces and territories can work in Alberta if they hold a certificate or license recognized by Alberta or have the skills and knowledge expected of a journeyperson certified in Alberta.”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/bricklayer

Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

Check a move between two provinces

Credential assessment

Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

Exams

Language tests

Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

Compare scores across provinces and professions

Canadian experience

Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

Supervised practice

Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

Demand and pay

Job Bank wages and outlook in Alberta and Canada
WhereLowMedianHighOutlook
Alberta $28.00 $41.85 $54.00 Moderate (3 of 5)
Canada $25.78 $40.00 $48.78 —

Wages by region and job outlook in Alberta

Wages in every province and territory

Bricklayers in other provinces and territories

Compare bricklayer licensing across Canada

Sources checked

  1. Tradesecrets - Bricklayer tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/001 · fetched October 9, 2026
  2. Tradesecrets - About Designated Trades tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/about-designated-trades · fetched October 9, 2026
  3. Tradesecrets - Meet Requirements tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/eligibilit... · fetched October 9, 2026
  4. Tradesecrets - Entrance Exams tradesecrets.alberta.ca/apprentice-services/prepare-for-an-exam/ent... · fetched October 9, 2026
  5. Bricklayer: Certifications in Alberta - alis alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/bricklayer · fetched October 8, 2026

Frequently asked questions

2

Do you need a licence to work as a bricklayer in Alberta?

No. Certification is available, but it is not required to work in the trade in Alberta. Certification is managed by Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training.

Which exams are required?

Theory exam, Practical exam, Red Seal exam, Entrance exam.

Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too

Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.

Schedule a Call

Free consultation. No commitment.