How to Become a Chemist in Alberta
Do you need a licence?
Title protected
Registration is needed to use the title Professional Chemist in Alberta. The work itself does not need a licence.
- Protected titles
- Professional Chemist
Show the source
“Professional Chemist is a protected title under Alberta's Professional and Occupational Associations Registration Act. This means that to call yourself a Professional Chemist, you must be a registered member of the Association of the Chemical Profession of Alberta (ACPA). You do not have to be registered if you do not call yourself a Professional Chemist.”
From alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/chemist, checked October 10, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Title protected See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 4 steps, listed one-time fees $275
- Licensed in another province: 1 step
- Trained outside Canada: 2 steps
- Annual fees
- Not stated by the regulator Check with ACPA
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 4 done
- Listed one-time fees: $275
- 3 steps without a listed fee
-
You must graduate from a post-secondary chemistry program accredited by the Canadian Society for Chemistry.
Source
“The ACPA requires that all professional members graduate from a program accredited by the Canadian Society for Chemistry (CSC).”
pchem.ca/resources/becoming-a-professional-chemist -
You begin your application to earn the P.Chem. or C.I.T. designation through the ACPA.
Source
“Ready to earn your P.Chem. or C.I.T. designation? Start your application now to gain professional credibility and exclusive benefits in Alberta.”
pchem.ca/membership/become-a-member -
You must complete four years of full-time, chemistry-related work experience, with credits available for advanced degrees.
Source
“Four years of full-time, chemistry-related experience are required for P.Chem. status. Advanced degrees can accelerate this path, with credits available for M.Sc. (1 year), Ph.D. (2 years), and Post-Doctoral work (1 year).”
pchem.ca/membership/member-categories-acpa -
You must successfully complete the ACPA Professional Ethics for Chemists course and the online Jurisprudence course.
- Professional Ethics for Chemists course: $275
Source
“It is offered at a cost of $275 (+GST) and includes an exam and certificate.”
pchem.ca/event/professional-ethics-for-chemists-fall-2026
Source
“To ensure the public trust, all C.I.T. and P.Chem. members must successfully complete the ACPA Professional Ethics for Chemists and the online Jurisprudence courses.”
pchem.ca/membership/member-categories-acpa - Professional Ethics for Chemists course: $275
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $275
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Other | $275 | 100% |
| One-time total | $275 | 100% |
3 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Licensed in another province
0 of 1 done
- 1 step without a listed fee
-
If you are already a member of another provincial association, your credentials are recognized for a seamless move to Alberta.
Source
“If you are already a member of another provincial Association, like the ACPBC in British Columbia, the ACPO in Ontario, or from any other provincial jurisdiction, your credentials will be recognized for a seamless move.”
pchem.ca/resources/becoming-a-professional-chemist
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with ACPA
1 step without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Trained outside Canada
0 of 2 done
- 2 steps without a listed fee
-
You must have your transcripts assessed by IQAS or WES and submit the assessment along with a copy of your transcripts.
Source
“Yes, the ACPA welcomes internationally educated chemists. A transcript assessment completed by IQAS or WES must be submitted along with a copy of your transcripts.”
pchem.ca/resources/becoming-a-professional-chemist -
IQAS issues assessment certificates comparing international education credentials to Canadian educational standards.
Source
“providing clear, accurate and reliable assessment certificates for potential candidates who have international education credentials”
alberta.ca/iqas-for-organizations
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with ACPA
2 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Other listed fees
The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.
- Duplicate assessment certificate: $30
- Courier fee for duplicate certificate: $5
Requirements
Education
Applicants must hold a university degree in the chemical sciences, typically involving at least 1,000 hours of instruction or 16 single-semester chemistry courses across major sub-disciplines.
Source
“Applicants must hold a university degree in the chemical sciences. This typically involves at least 1,000 hours of instruction or 16 single-semester chemistry courses across major sub-disciplines like organic, analytical, and physical chemistry.”
pchem.ca/membership/member-categories-acpa
Experience
Applicants need four years of full-time, chemistry-related work experience for P.Chem. status, with credits available for advanced degrees.
Source
“Four years of full-time, chemistry-related experience are required for P.Chem. status. Advanced degrees can accelerate this path, with credits available for M.Sc. (1 year), Ph.D. (2 years), and Post-Doctoral work (1 year).”
pchem.ca/membership/member-categories-acpa
Other
To remain in good standing, members must record annual Professional Development activities and adhere to the ACPA Code of Ethics.
Source
“To remain in good standing, you must record annual Professional Development (PD) activities and adhere to the ACPA Code of Ethics.”
pchem.ca/resources/becoming-a-professional-chemist
Already licensed in another province?
Direct transfer
Chemists already registered with another provincial association have their credentials recognized for a seamless move to Alberta. Source
“If you are already a member of another provincial Association, like the ACPBC in British Columbia, the ACPO in Ontario, or from any other provincial jurisdiction, your credentials will be recognized for a seamless move.”
pchem.ca/resources/becoming-a-professional-chemist
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with ACPA
Credential assessment
IQAS transcript assessment
education
Source
“A transcript assessment completed by IQAS or WES must be submitted along with a copy of your transcripts.”
pchem.ca/resources/becoming-a-professional-chemistWES transcript assessment
education
Source
“A transcript assessment completed by IQAS or WES must be submitted along with a copy of your transcripts.”
pchem.ca/resources/becoming-a-professional-chemist
Exams
-
Jurisprudence
Source
“To ensure the public trust, all C.I.T. and P.Chem. members must successfully complete the ACPA Professional Ethics for Chemists and the online Jurisprudence courses.”
pchem.ca/membership/member-categories-acpa
Language tests
No minimum test score stated by the regulator Check with ACPA
Exemptions: The pages do not state any language test exemptions. Source
“Yes, the ACPA welcomes internationally educated chemists. A transcript assessment completed by IQAS or WES must be submitted along with a copy of your transcripts.”
pchem.ca/resources/becoming-a-professional-chemist
Canadian experience
The pages do not state any Canadian experience requirement. Source
“Four years of full-time, chemistry-related experience are required for P.Chem. status.”
pchem.ca/membership/member-categories-acpa
Supervised practice
Not required
The pages do not state a supervised practice requirement. Source
“During this period, you could have your professional work supervised (and stamped) by a full P.Chem.”
pchem.ca/resources/becoming-a-professional-chemist
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alberta | $27.00 | $43.74 | $68.19 | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Canada | $24.00 | $38.46 | $65.93 | — |
Chemists in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Voluntary certification
- Saskatchewan Voluntary certification
- Manitoba Not confirmed yet
- Ontario Voluntary certification
- Quebec Licence required
- New Brunswick Not confirmed yet
- Nova Scotia Voluntary certification
- Prince Edward Island Not confirmed yet
- Newfoundland and Labrador Not confirmed yet
- Yukon Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories Not confirmed yet
- Nunavut Not confirmed yet
Sources checked
- Chemist: Certifications in Alberta - alis alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/chemist · fetched October 10, 2026
- Becoming a Professional Chemist | ACPA pchem.ca/resources/becoming-a-professional-chemist · fetched October 10, 2026
- Become a Member | ACPA pchem.ca/membership/become-a-member · fetched October 10, 2026
- Member Categories | ACPA pchem.ca/membership/member-categories-acpa · fetched October 10, 2026
- Professional Ethics for Chemists - Fall 2026 - ACPA pchem.ca/event/professional-ethics-for-chemists-fall-2026 · fetched October 10, 2026
- IQAS for organizations | Alberta.ca alberta.ca/iqas-for-organizations · fetched October 10, 2026
- IQAS – Order duplicate certificates | Alberta.ca alberta.ca/iqas-employment-certificate · fetched October 10, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as a chemist in Alberta?
No. Only the title is protected in Alberta. Registration with the Association of the Chemical Profession of Alberta is needed to use the title Professional Chemist.
Which exams are required?
Jurisprudence.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.