How to Become a Combined Laboratory and X-ray Technologist in Alberta
Do you need a licence?
Licence required
You must be registered with the Alberta College of Combined Laboratory and X-Ray Technologists to work as a combined laboratory and X-ray technologist in Alberta or to use a protected title.
- Protected titles
- Not listed in the sources checked
Show the source
“registration with the Alberta College of Combined Laboratory and X-Ray Technologists (ACCLXT) is mandatory. Only registered members may provide restricted activities specified in the regulations.”
From alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/combined-laborato..., checked October 10, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Licence required See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 6 steps (3 fees depend on your situation and are not in the total)
- Licensed in another province: 6 steps (1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total)
- Annual fees
-
- General – Active Registration / Permit Renewal: $650 (annual renewal)
Source
“General – Active Registration / Permit Renewal | $650 | Annual renewal”
acclxt.com/registration-and-permits/fee-schedule
- General – Active Registration / Permit Renewal: $650 (annual renewal)
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 6 done
- 3 fees depend on your situation and are not in the total
- 4 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $650 (annual renewal)
-
Before applying, confirm you have completed an approved diploma program in combined laboratory and x-ray sciences of at least two years and passed an approved registration exam within two years of applying.
Source
“Under the CLXT Profession Regulation, to be eligible for registration on the General Register, applicants must have completed a Council-approved diploma program in combined laboratory and x-ray sciences (minimum two years) and passed a Council-approved registration exam within two years of application.”
acclxt.com/registration-and-permits/first-time-registration -
Read the Registration Requirements page carefully so you understand the assessment criteria and can submit a complete and accurate application.
Source
“Before starting your application, review the Registration Requirements page carefully. Familiarizing and fully understanding the assessment criteria will help ensure your submission is complete and accurate.”
acclxt.com/registration-and-permits/first-time-registration -
Successfully complete the ACCLXT Jurisprudence Examination as part of the registration application process.
Source
“Applicants are required to successfully complete the ACCLXT Jurisprudence Examination as part of the registration application process.”
acclxt.com/registration-and-permits/first-time-registration -
- General Registration / Permit Application: $100 (on submission of application)
Source
“General Registration / Permit Application | $100 | On submission of application”
acclxt.com/registration-and-permits/fee-schedule
Source
“Applying to the College is an online process. Click here to get started. You will need to sign up if you do not already have a MyACCLXT account.”
acclxt.com/registration-and-permits/first-time-registration - General Registration / Permit Application: $100 (on submission of application)
-
Your application is reviewed once the College has received the completed form, all supporting documents, and full payment of fees.
Source
“Your application will be reviewed only after the College has received: - - A fully completed application form; - All required supporting documents; and - Full payment of fees.”
acclxt.com/registration-and-permits/first-time-registration -
If approved, your general active registration and practice permit take effect once full payment of registration fees has been received.
- General – Active Registration / Permit: $650 (issued between Apr 1 and Sept 30, includes Labour Mobility)
Source
“General – Active Registration / Permit | $650 | Issued between Apr 1 and Sept 30\*”
acclxt.com/registration-and-permits/fee-schedule - General – Active Registration / Permit: $350 (issued between Oct 1 and Mar 31, includes Labour Mobility)
Source
“General – Active Registration / Permit | $350 | Issued between Oct 1 and Mar 31\*”
acclxt.com/registration-and-permits/fee-schedule
Source
“Your general active registration and practice permit will take effect once the full payment of registration fees has been received.”
acclxt.com/registration-and-permits/first-time-registration - General – Active Registration / Permit: $650 (issued between Apr 1 and Sept 30, includes Labour Mobility)
Listed fees for this route
3 fees depend on your situation and are not in the total.
4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.
- General – Active Registration / Permit Renewal: $650 (annual renewal)
Source
“General – Active Registration / Permit Renewal | $650 | Annual renewal”
acclxt.com/registration-and-permits/fee-schedule
Licensed in another province
0 of 6 done
- 1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total
- 5 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $650 (annual renewal)
-
Confirm you hold active registration in good standing with a recognized CLXT regulatory body in another Canadian province and are deemed fit to practice.
Source
“To be eligible to apply under Labour Mobility, applicants must hold active registration in good standing with a recognized regulatory body for Combined Laboratory and X-Ray Technologists (CLXTs) in another Canadian province and must be deemed fit to practice.”
acclxt.com/registration-and-permits/labour-mobility-registration -
Collect the required documents, including proof of registration, proof of CLXT credentials, employment information, registration examination confirmation, identification and citizenship proof, professional liability insurance, and evidence of good character.
Source
“To be considered for registration under Labour Mobility, you must submit the following in your application: Personal Information Including contact, demographic details and language proficiency.”
acclxt.com/registration-and-permits/labour-mobility-registration -
Have your current regulatory agency complete and submit a Verification of Registration form confirming your registration, competency, and good standing.
Source
“You are required to provide verification of registration, competency, and good standing. This must be submitted through a completed Verification of Registration form. The form must be completed by your current regulatory agency and submitted with your application.”
acclxt.com/registration-and-permits/labour-mobility-registration -
Successfully complete the ACCLXT Jurisprudence Examination as part of the registration application process.
Source
“Applicants are required to successfully complete the ACCLXT Jurisprudence Examination as part of the registration application process.”
acclxt.com/registration-and-permits/labour-mobility-registration -
- Labour Mobility Registration / Permit Application: $100 (on submission of application)
Source
“Labour Mobility Registration / Permit Application | $100 | On submission of application”
acclxt.com/registration-and-permits/fee-schedule
Source
“Applying to the College is an online process. Click Here to begin the application. You will need to sign up if you do not already have a MyACCLXT account.”
acclxt.com/registration-and-permits/labour-mobility-registration - Labour Mobility Registration / Permit Application: $100 (on submission of application)
-
The College acknowledges receipt of the application within 10 business days and issues a decision within 20 business days of receiving a complete application.
Source
“The College provides written acknowledgement within 10 business days of receiving an application for Labour Mobility, and decisions are issued within 20 business days of receiving a complete application.”
acclxt.com/registration-and-permits/labour-mobility-registration
Listed fees for this route
1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total.
5 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.
- General – Active Registration / Permit Renewal: $650 (annual renewal)
Source
“General – Active Registration / Permit Renewal | $650 | Annual renewal”
acclxt.com/registration-and-permits/fee-schedule
Other listed fees
The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.
- Jurisprudence Exam: $50 (per 3 attempts)
- Practice Assessment: $175 (application referred for practice assessment review)
Source
“Practice Assessment | $175 | Application referred for practice assessment review”
acclxt.com/registration-and-permits/fee-schedule - Substantial Equivalency Assessment: $350 (application referred for substantial equivalency review)
Source
“Substantial Equivalency Assessment | $350 | Application referred for substantial equivalency review”
acclxt.com/registration-and-permits/fee-schedule - Temporary Registration / Permit Application: $100 (on submission of application)
Source
“Temporary Registration / Permit Application | $100 | On submission of application”
acclxt.com/registration-and-permits/fee-schedule - Temporary Registration / Permit: $100 (issued between Apr 1 and Mar 31)
Source
“Temporary Registration / Permit | $100 | Issued between Apr 1 and Mar 31”
acclxt.com/registration-and-permits/fee-schedule - Courtesy Registration / Permit Application: $100 (on submission of application)
Source
“Courtesy Registration / Permit Application | $100 | On submission of application”
acclxt.com/registration-and-permits/fee-schedule - Courtesy Registration / Permit: $175 (permit issued for 90 days)
Source
“Courtesy Registration / Permit | $175 | Permit issued for 90 days”
acclxt.com/registration-and-permits/fee-schedule - Advanced Practice Authorization: $50 (on submission of application, for current Registrants)
Source
“Advanced Practice Authorization | $50 | On submission of application, for current Registrants”
acclxt.com/registration-and-permits/fee-schedule - Reinstatement: $350 (meets reinstatement terms)
Source
“Reinstatement | $350 | Meets reinstatement terms”
acclxt.com/registration-and-permits/fee-schedule - Registration and Practice Permit Review: $500 (deposit to initiate a registration decision review)
Source
“Registration and Practice Permit Review | $500 | Deposit to initiate a registration decision review”
acclxt.com/registration-and-permits/fee-schedule - Post Renewal: $150 (Applications completed after renewal phase one)
Source
“| Post Renewal | $150 | Applications completed after renewal phase one |”
acclxt.com/registration-and-permits/fee-schedule
Requirements
Education
Applicants must have completed a Council-approved diploma program in combined laboratory and x-ray sciences of at least two years.
Source
“Under the CLXT Profession Regulation, to be eligible for registration on the General Register, applicants must have completed a Council-approved diploma program in combined laboratory and x-ray sciences (minimum two years) and passed a Council-approved registration exam within two years of application.”
acclxt.com/registration-and-permits/first-time-registration
Police check
Applicants may need to provide a criminal record check as part of demonstrating good character and professional reputation.
Source
“This may include: - Criminal record check - Character references - Self-declarations - Evidence of fitness to practice”
acclxt.com/registration-and-permits/labour-mobility-registration
Insurance
Applicants must hold a current Professional Liability Insurance policy that meets the requirements of the College.
Source
“To practice as a CLXT in the province of Alberta, you must hold a current Professional Liability Insurance (PLI) policy that meets the requirements of the College.”
acclxt.com/registration-and-permits/registration-requirements
Good character
Applicants must provide documentation confirming there is no past or present behavior that may pose a risk to the public.
Source
“Documentation confirming that there is no past or present behavior that may pose a risk to the public.”
acclxt.com/registration-and-permits/labour-mobility-registration
Residency
Applicants must be a Canadian citizen or a person lawfully permitted to work in Canada.
Source
“You must be a Canadian citizen, or a person lawfully permitted to work in Canada.”
acclxt.com/registration-and-permits/registration-requirements
Other
Applicants must successfully complete, or meet the eligibility to write, the CLXT Registration Examination.
Source
“You must successfully complete or meet the eligibility to write the CLXT Registration Examination.”
acclxt.com/registration-and-permits/registration-requirementsApplicants must be sufficiently proficient in English to engage safely and competently in the practice of the profession.
Source
“You must be sufficiently proficient in the English language to be able to engage safely and competently in the practice of the profession.”
acclxt.com/registration-and-permits/registration-requirements
Already licensed in another province?
Direct transfer
A CLXT already registered in another Canadian province can register in Alberta through labour mobility based on registration-to-registration recognition, without retaking the entry-to-practice exam or a competence assessment, though they must pass the jurisprudence exam and may be referred for assessment if requirements are not met. Source
“Registration-to-registration recognition is the fundamental principle of labour mobility in Canada. Regulatory authorities recognize that due diligence is applied by other jurisdictions in Canada in licensing their members to practice their occupations.”
acclxt.com/registration-and-permits/labour-mobility-registration
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta College of Combined Laboratory and X-Ray Technologists
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta College of Combined Laboratory and X-Ray Technologists
Exams
-
CLXT Registration Examination
Source
“Successfully passing the CLXT Registration Examination is one requirement for Active registration with the Alberta College of Combined Laboratory and X-Ray Technologists.”
acclxt.com/registration-and-permits/registration-examination -
ACCLXT Jurisprudence Examination
Source
“Applicants are required to successfully complete the ACCLXT Jurisprudence Examination as part of the registration application process.”
acclxt.com/registration-and-permits/registration-requirements
Language tests
No minimum test score stated by the regulator Check with Alberta College of Combined Laboratory and X-Ray Technologists
Exemptions: Applicants can show English proficiency by proving they graduated from an approved CLXT program taught in English or by passing formal English language testing. Source
“You can show English language proficiency by providing: - *proof you graduated from an approved CLXT program of study that was provided in the English language; or,* - *proof you passed formal English language testing.*”
acclxt.com/registration-and-permits/registration-requirements
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta College of Combined Laboratory and X-Ray Technologists
Supervised practice
Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta College of Combined Laboratory and X-Ray Technologists
Demand and pay
No Job Bank wage or outlook data for this occupation yet.
Combined laboratories and X-ray technologists in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Not confirmed yet
- Saskatchewan Not confirmed yet
- Manitoba Not confirmed yet
- Ontario Not confirmed yet
- Quebec Not confirmed yet
- New Brunswick Not confirmed yet
- Nova Scotia Licence required
- Prince Edward Island Not confirmed yet
- Newfoundland and Labrador Not confirmed yet
- Yukon Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories Not confirmed yet
- Nunavut Not confirmed yet
Compare combined laboratory and X-ray technologist licensing across Canada
Sources checked
- Combined Laboratory and X-Ray Technologist: Certifications in Alberta - alis alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/combined-laborato... · fetched October 10, 2026
- First-Time Registration acclxt.com/registration-and-permits/first-time-registration · fetched October 10, 2026
- Fee Schedule acclxt.com/registration-and-permits/fee-schedule · fetched October 10, 2026
- Labour Mobility – Registration acclxt.com/registration-and-permits/labour-mobility-registration · fetched October 10, 2026
- Registration Requirements acclxt.com/registration-and-permits/registration-requirements · fetched October 10, 2026
- Registration Examination acclxt.com/registration-and-permits/registration-examination · fetched October 10, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as a combined laboratory and X-ray technologist in Alberta?
Yes. Registration with the Alberta College of Combined Laboratory and X-Ray Technologists is required to practise in Alberta.
Which exams are required?
CLXT Registration Examination, ACCLXT Jurisprudence Examination.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.