How to Become an Emergency Medical Personnel in Alberta
Do you need a licence?
Licence required
You must be registered with the Alberta College of Paramedics to work as an emergency medical personnel in Alberta or to use a protected title.
- Protected titles
- Emergency Medical Responder, Primary Care Paramedic, Advanced Care Paramedic
Show the source
“Under Alberta’s Health Professions Act [pdf] and the Paramedics Profession Regulation [pdf], only registered members of the Alberta College of Paramedics may call themselves an Emergency Medical Responder, Primary Care Paramedic, or Advanced Care Paramedic.”
From alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/emergency-medical..., checked October 10, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Licence required See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 4 steps (1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total)
- Licensed in another province: 3 steps
- Trained outside Canada: 4 steps (1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total)
- Annual fees
-
- Registration fee (Oct 1 - Dec 31, 2025/2026): $445 (permit issued October 1 - December 31)
Source
“| October 1 - December 31 | 100% | $445 |”
abparamedics.com/applicants/registration-fees-and-requirements - Registration fee (Jan 1 - Mar 31, 2025/2026): $333.75 (permit issued January 1 - March 31)
Source
“| January 1 - March 31 | 75% | $333.75 |”
abparamedics.com/applicants/registration-fees-and-requirements - Registration fee (Apr 1 - Jun 30, 2025/2026): $222.50 (permit issued April 1 - June 30)
Source
“| April 1 - June 30 | 50% | $222.50 |”
abparamedics.com/applicants/registration-fees-and-requirements - Registration fee (Jul 1 - Sep 30, 2025/2026): $111.25 (permit issued July 1 - September 30)
Source
“| July 1 - September 30 | 25% | $111.25 |”
abparamedics.com/applicants/registration-fees-and-requirements - Registration fee (Oct 1 - Dec 31, 2026/2027): $440 (permit issued October 1 - December 31)
Source
“| October 1 - December 31 | 100% | $440 |”
abparamedics.com/applicants/registration-fees-and-requirements - Registration fee (Jan 1 - Mar 31, 2026/2027): $330 (permit issued January 1 - March 31)
Source
“| January 1 - March 31 | 75% | $330 |”
abparamedics.com/applicants/registration-fees-and-requirements - Registration fee (Apr 1 - Jun 30, 2026/2027): $220 (permit issued April 1 - June 30)
Source
“| April 1 - June 30 | 50% | $220 |”
abparamedics.com/applicants/registration-fees-and-requirements - Registration fee (Jul 1 - Sep 30, 2026/2027): $110 (permit issued July 1 - September 30)
Source
“| July 1 - September 30 | 25% | $110 |”
abparamedics.com/applicants/registration-fees-and-requirements
- Registration fee (Oct 1 - Dec 31, 2025/2026): $445 (permit issued October 1 - December 31)
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 4 done
- 1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total
- 3 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $445 (permit issued October 1 - December 31), $333.75 (permit issued January 1 - March 31), $222.50 (permit issued April 1 - June 30), $111.25 (permit issued July 1 - September 30), $440 (permit issued October 1 - December 31), $330 (permit issued January 1 - March 31), $220 (permit issued April 1 - June 30), $110 (permit issued July 1 - September 30)
- Listed time: 1 month (only 1 of 4 steps state a time)
-
Before registering, download the registration tips and checklist for your applicant type.
Source
“1.Download the registration tips and checklist for your applicant type. (To identify your applicant type, review the Applicant Types)”
abparamedics.com/applicants/registering -
Log into the member portal, creating an account if you do not have a profile.
Source
“Log into the member portal (If you don’t have a profile, create an account.)”
abparamedics.com/applicants/registering -
Through your member account, complete and submit your application for a permit, including the $100 application fee payable to the College.
- Application fee: $100 (all applicants)
Source
“All applicants pay a non-refundable $100 application fee.”
abparamedics.com/applicants/registration-fees-and-requirements
Time: 30 daysTime source
“Applicants have 30 days to complete all steps.”
abparamedics.com/registration-exams/applicant-typesSource
“Through your member account/profile, complete and submit your Application (Apply for Permit – Including the $100 application fee – payable to the College).”
abparamedics.com/applicants/registering - Application fee: $100 (all applicants)
-
Complete all registration requirements, including the registration exam, within one year of your graduation date.
Source
“Applicants should consider that to apply to the general register, all registration requirements including being successful at the registration exam, must be completed within one year of their graduation date*.”
abparamedics.com/registration-exams/applicant-types
Listed fees for this route
1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total.
3 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.
- Registration fee (Oct 1 - Dec 31, 2025/2026): $445 (permit issued October 1 - December 31)
Source
“| October 1 - December 31 | 100% | $445 |”
abparamedics.com/applicants/registration-fees-and-requirements - Registration fee (Jan 1 - Mar 31, 2025/2026): $333.75 (permit issued January 1 - March 31)
Source
“| January 1 - March 31 | 75% | $333.75 |”
abparamedics.com/applicants/registration-fees-and-requirements - Registration fee (Apr 1 - Jun 30, 2025/2026): $222.50 (permit issued April 1 - June 30)
Source
“| April 1 - June 30 | 50% | $222.50 |”
abparamedics.com/applicants/registration-fees-and-requirements - Registration fee (Jul 1 - Sep 30, 2025/2026): $111.25 (permit issued July 1 - September 30)
Source
“| July 1 - September 30 | 25% | $111.25 |”
abparamedics.com/applicants/registration-fees-and-requirements - Registration fee (Oct 1 - Dec 31, 2026/2027): $440 (permit issued October 1 - December 31)
Source
“| October 1 - December 31 | 100% | $440 |”
abparamedics.com/applicants/registration-fees-and-requirements - Registration fee (Jan 1 - Mar 31, 2026/2027): $330 (permit issued January 1 - March 31)
Source
“| January 1 - March 31 | 75% | $330 |”
abparamedics.com/applicants/registration-fees-and-requirements - Registration fee (Apr 1 - Jun 30, 2026/2027): $220 (permit issued April 1 - June 30)
Source
“| April 1 - June 30 | 50% | $220 |”
abparamedics.com/applicants/registration-fees-and-requirements - Registration fee (Jul 1 - Sep 30, 2026/2027): $110 (permit issued July 1 - September 30)
Source
“| July 1 - September 30 | 25% | $110 |”
abparamedics.com/applicants/registration-fees-and-requirements
Licensed in another province
0 of 3 done
- 3 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $445 (permit issued October 1 - December 31), $333.75 (permit issued January 1 - March 31), $222.50 (permit issued April 1 - June 30), $111.25 (permit issued July 1 - September 30), $440 (permit issued October 1 - December 31), $330 (permit issued January 1 - March 31), $220 (permit issued April 1 - June 30), $110 (permit issued July 1 - September 30)
-
Submit your registration application as the first part of the out-of-province registration process.
Source
“The registration process for out-of-province applicants includes registration submission, completion of requirements, validation of education, employment, and references.”
abparamedics.com/registration-exams/applicant-types -
Complete the registration requirements the College requires.
Source
“You meet all the Alberta College of Paramedics registration requirements”
abparamedics.com/registration-exams/applicant-types -
The College validates your education, employment, and references.
Source
“The registration process for out-of-province applicants includes registration submission, completion of requirements, validation of education, employment, and references.”
abparamedics.com/registration-exams/applicant-types
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Alberta College of Paramedics
3 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.
- Registration fee (Oct 1 - Dec 31, 2025/2026): $445 (permit issued October 1 - December 31)
Source
“| October 1 - December 31 | 100% | $445 |”
abparamedics.com/applicants/registration-fees-and-requirements - Registration fee (Jan 1 - Mar 31, 2025/2026): $333.75 (permit issued January 1 - March 31)
Source
“| January 1 - March 31 | 75% | $333.75 |”
abparamedics.com/applicants/registration-fees-and-requirements - Registration fee (Apr 1 - Jun 30, 2025/2026): $222.50 (permit issued April 1 - June 30)
Source
“| April 1 - June 30 | 50% | $222.50 |”
abparamedics.com/applicants/registration-fees-and-requirements - Registration fee (Jul 1 - Sep 30, 2025/2026): $111.25 (permit issued July 1 - September 30)
Source
“| July 1 - September 30 | 25% | $111.25 |”
abparamedics.com/applicants/registration-fees-and-requirements - Registration fee (Oct 1 - Dec 31, 2026/2027): $440 (permit issued October 1 - December 31)
Source
“| October 1 - December 31 | 100% | $440 |”
abparamedics.com/applicants/registration-fees-and-requirements - Registration fee (Jan 1 - Mar 31, 2026/2027): $330 (permit issued January 1 - March 31)
Source
“| January 1 - March 31 | 75% | $330 |”
abparamedics.com/applicants/registration-fees-and-requirements - Registration fee (Apr 1 - Jun 30, 2026/2027): $220 (permit issued April 1 - June 30)
Source
“| April 1 - June 30 | 50% | $220 |”
abparamedics.com/applicants/registration-fees-and-requirements - Registration fee (Jul 1 - Sep 30, 2026/2027): $110 (permit issued July 1 - September 30)
Source
“| July 1 - September 30 | 25% | $110 |”
abparamedics.com/applicants/registration-fees-and-requirements
Trained outside Canada
0 of 4 done
- 1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total
- 3 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $445 (permit issued October 1 - December 31), $333.75 (permit issued January 1 - March 31), $222.50 (permit issued April 1 - June 30), $111.25 (permit issued July 1 - September 30), $440 (permit issued October 1 - December 31), $330 (permit issued January 1 - March 31), $220 (permit issued April 1 - June 30), $110 (permit issued July 1 - September 30)
-
Complete the COPR Assessment of International Applicants Process before beginning registration with the College.
Source
“Please note the COPR assessment must be completed before beginning the registration process with the College.”
abparamedics.com/registration-exams/applicant-types -
Once the COPR assessment is complete, submit the registration application including all requested material.
Source
“1. Submission of the Registration Application. You must include all material requested in the application.”
abparamedics.com/registration-exams/applicant-types -
Complete payment of the required fees, including the non-refundable application fee.
- Application fee: $100 (all applicants)
Source
“All applicants pay a non-refundable $100 application fee.”
abparamedics.com/applicants/registration-fees-and-requirements
Source
“2. Complete payment of required fee(s). The payment of a non-refundable application fee is required.”
abparamedics.com/registration-exams/applicant-types - Application fee: $100 (all applicants)
-
Once your application is approved by the College, pay for your practice permit.
Source
“3. Once your application is approved by the College, complete payment of your practice permit.”
abparamedics.com/registration-exams/applicant-types
Listed fees for this route
1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total.
3 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.
- Registration fee (Oct 1 - Dec 31, 2025/2026): $445 (permit issued October 1 - December 31)
Source
“| October 1 - December 31 | 100% | $445 |”
abparamedics.com/applicants/registration-fees-and-requirements - Registration fee (Jan 1 - Mar 31, 2025/2026): $333.75 (permit issued January 1 - March 31)
Source
“| January 1 - March 31 | 75% | $333.75 |”
abparamedics.com/applicants/registration-fees-and-requirements - Registration fee (Apr 1 - Jun 30, 2025/2026): $222.50 (permit issued April 1 - June 30)
Source
“| April 1 - June 30 | 50% | $222.50 |”
abparamedics.com/applicants/registration-fees-and-requirements - Registration fee (Jul 1 - Sep 30, 2025/2026): $111.25 (permit issued July 1 - September 30)
Source
“| July 1 - September 30 | 25% | $111.25 |”
abparamedics.com/applicants/registration-fees-and-requirements - Registration fee (Oct 1 - Dec 31, 2026/2027): $440 (permit issued October 1 - December 31)
Source
“| October 1 - December 31 | 100% | $440 |”
abparamedics.com/applicants/registration-fees-and-requirements - Registration fee (Jan 1 - Mar 31, 2026/2027): $330 (permit issued January 1 - March 31)
Source
“| January 1 - March 31 | 75% | $330 |”
abparamedics.com/applicants/registration-fees-and-requirements - Registration fee (Apr 1 - Jun 30, 2026/2027): $220 (permit issued April 1 - June 30)
Source
“| April 1 - June 30 | 50% | $220 |”
abparamedics.com/applicants/registration-fees-and-requirements - Registration fee (Jul 1 - Sep 30, 2026/2027): $110 (permit issued July 1 - September 30)
Source
“| July 1 - September 30 | 25% | $110 |”
abparamedics.com/applicants/registration-fees-and-requirements
Other listed fees
The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.
- Return to Practice fee: $200 (practitioners seeking to Return to Practice who previously held a practice permit)
Source
“Any practitioner who previously held a practice permit with the College, and is seeking to Return to Practice, must pay an additional non-refundable $200 Return to Practice fee”
abparamedics.com/applicants/registration-fees-and-requirements - Criminal record check: $35 (paid directly to the verification service when completed)
Source
“The cost to complete this is $35, paid directly to the verification service at the time it is completed.”
abparamedics.com/applicants/registration-fees-and-requirements - Ethics and Jurisprudence Exam: $25
Source
“There is a $25 cost to take this exam.”
abparamedics.com/applicants/registration-fees-and-requirements - Ethics and Jurisprudence Exam (reduced fee): $50 (reduced from $125)
Source
“the Alberta College of Paramedics is pleased to announce that the cost is being reduced effectively immediately from $125 to $50.”
abparamedics.com/ethics-and-jurisprudence-exam-fee-reduced - Professional liability insurance (Navacord): $69 (fees are dependant upon the carrier)
Source
“| Professional Liability Insurance | Navacord (formerly Lloyd Sadd) - $69 (fees are dependant upon the carrier) |”
abparamedics.com/applicants/registration-fees-and-requirements
Requirements
Education
Applicants must have successfully completed an approved program of studies.
Source
“Registration requires successful completion of an approved: - Program of studies - Examination”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/emergency-medical...
Police check
All applicants must submit to a criminal record check completed through the College's approved online verification service.
Source
“All applicants must submit to a criminal record check – to be completed through the College’s approved online verification service, not at a police detachment.”
abparamedics.com/applicants/registration-fees-and-requirements
Insurance
All regulated members must carry professional liability insurance as a condition of registration and ongoing active practice.
Source
“All regulated members of the College are required to carry professional liability insurance as a condition of registration and as a condition of ongoing active practice.”
abparamedics.com/applicants/registration-fees-and-requirements
Other
All applicants must complete the College's approved sexual assault and misconduct prevention training.
Source
“All practitioners who register to practice in Alberta must complete the College’s approved prevention training on Sexual Assault of and Misconduct Toward Patients.”
abparamedics.com/applicants/registration-fees-and-requirementsPractitioners must be fluent and proficient in English, and the College may require them to demonstrate this.
Source
“professional practice in Alberta requires practitioners to be fluent and proficient in the English language. The College may require you to demonstrate your fluency and proficiency in English.”
abparamedics.com/applicants/registering
Already licensed in another province?
Extra steps
Applicants already registered in another Canadian province may apply through Labour Mobility, but EMRs may be required to obtain additional training to meet Alberta's education standards, and Ontario-educated PCP/ACP applicants must have completed the COPR national exam or provide validation of Base Hospital employment. Source
“Emergency Medical Responders (EMRs), applying for registration in Alberta, may be required to obtain additional training to meet the province’s EMR education standards.”
abparamedics.com/registration-exams/applicant-types
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta College of Paramedics
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta College of Paramedics
Exams
-
Ethics and Jurisprudence Exam
Source
“Ethics and Jurisprudence Examination (all applicants)”
abparamedics.com/applicants/registration-fees-and-requirements
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta College of Paramedics
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta College of Paramedics
Supervised practice
Not required
The provisional register is an optional register for applicants who have not yet passed the registration examination but wish to work under supervision until they have done so. Source
“The provisional register is an optional register for applicants who have not yet passed the registration examination but wish to work under supervision until they have done so.”
abparamedics.com/applicants/registering
Demand and pay
No Job Bank wage or outlook data for this occupation yet.
Emergency medical personnel in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Not confirmed yet
- Saskatchewan Not confirmed yet
- Manitoba Not confirmed yet
- Ontario Not confirmed yet
- Quebec Not confirmed yet
- New Brunswick Not confirmed yet
- Nova Scotia Not confirmed yet
- Prince Edward Island Not confirmed yet
- Newfoundland and Labrador Not confirmed yet
- Yukon Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories Not confirmed yet
- Nunavut Not confirmed yet
Sources checked
- Emergency Medical Personnel: Certifications in Alberta - alis alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/emergency-medical... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Applicant Types – Alberta College of Paramedics abparamedics.com/registration-exams/applicant-types · fetched October 10, 2026
- Registering – Alberta College of Paramedics abparamedics.com/applicants/registering · fetched October 10, 2026
- Registration Fees and Requirements – Alberta College of Paramedics abparamedics.com/applicants/registration-fees-and-requirements · fetched October 10, 2026
- Ethics and Jurisprudence Exam Fee Reduced – Alberta College of Paramedics abparamedics.com/ethics-and-jurisprudence-exam-fee-reduced · fetched October 10, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as an emergency medical personnel in Alberta?
Yes. Registration with the Alberta College of Paramedics is required to practise in Alberta, and to use the title Emergency Medical Responder, Primary Care Paramedic or Advanced Care Paramedic.
Which exams are required?
Ethics and Jurisprudence Exam.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.