How to Become a Hairstylist in Alberta
Do you need certification?
Certification required
Hairstylist is a compulsory trade in Alberta. You need a certificate, or registration as an apprentice, to work in the trade.
- Protected titles
- Not listed in the sources checked
Show the source
“Under Alberta’s Skilled Trades and Apprenticeship Education Act [pdf], you must have a certificate that is recognized by Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training or be a registered apprentice to cut and style a paying customer’s hair in Alberta.”
From alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/barber-and-hairst..., checked October 11, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Certification required See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 4 steps
- Licensed in another province: 2 steps, listed one-time fees $75
- Trained outside Canada: 2 steps, listed one-time fees $75
- Annual fees
- Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 4 done
- 4 steps without a listed fee
-
You apply to become a registered apprentice in the hairstylist apprenticeship education program.
Source
“Becoming a certified hairstylist in Alberta differs from other skilled trades, with multiple pathways to certification. Apprenticeship training combines paid, on-the-job experience with 10 weeks of classroom instruction per period, delivered through M.C. College (Edmonton) or NIWE Academy (Calgary).”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/0424 -
Before enrolling in classroom instruction you must meet the entrance requirements, which include specific high school courses or alternatives such as an entrance exam.
Source
“Before you enroll in classes as a registered apprentice, you'll need to meet the entrance requirements.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/eligibilit... -
You work on the job and complete classroom instruction periods, with a theory exam required to complete each period.
Source
“- Theory exam required to complete each period - Red Seal exam option in final period”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/0424 -
You pass the final period exam, and may optionally write the Red Seal exam at your school afterwards.
Source
“Apprentices in Red Seal Trades can write the Red Seal exam at their school after they pass their final period exam.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/apprentice-services/prepare-for-an-exam/typ...
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Licensed in another province
0 of 2 done
- Listed one-time fees: $75
- 1 step without a listed fee
-
You submit a copy of a recognized trade certificate from outside Alberta.
Source
“1. Submit a copy of a recognized trade certificate from outside Alberta.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/0424 -
You pass a practical exam that costs $75.00.
- Practical exam: $75
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $75
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Application | $75 | 100% |
| One-time total | $75 | 100% |
1 step without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Trained outside Canada
0 of 2 done
- Listed one-time fees: $75
- 1 step without a listed fee
-
You submit a copy of a recognized trade certificate from outside Alberta.
Source
“1. Submit a copy of a recognized trade certificate from outside Alberta.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/0424 -
You pass a practical exam that costs $75.00.
- Practical exam: $75
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $75
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Application | $75 | 100% |
| One-time total | $75 | 100% |
1 step without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Requirements
Education
To register as an apprentice you must meet the registration eligibility requirements, and before enrolling in classroom instruction you must meet entrance requirements that include specific high school courses.
Source
“Entrance requirements include specific high school courses that you must have passed.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/eligibilit...
Experience
Applicants to the Trades Qualifier Work Experience Program must complete 36 months and 4350 hours of verifiable hairstylist work experience.
Source
“1. Complete 36 months and 4350 hours of verifiable Hairstylist work experience.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/0424
Already licensed in another province?
Extra steps
Barbers and hairstylists from other provinces and territories can work in Alberta if they hold a recognized certificate, and through the Recognized Credentials Program they must submit their certificate and pass both a theory exam and a practical exam. Source
“Barbers and hairstylists from other provinces and territories can work in Alberta if they hold a certificate or license recognized by the Alberta.”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/barber-and-hairst...
Submit recognized trade certificate
Source
“1. Submit a copy of a recognized trade certificate from outside Alberta.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/0424Pass practical exam
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
Exams
-
Practical exam
-
Red Seal exam
Source
“- Theory exam required to complete each period - Red Seal exam option in final period”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/0424 -
Entrance exam
Source
“Take an entrance exam to show you’re ready.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/eligibilit...
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
Supervised practice
Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alberta | $15.00 | $19.23 | $26.00 | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Canada | $15.00 | $19.88 | $30.00 | — |
Hairstylists in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Voluntary certification
- Saskatchewan Voluntary certification
- Manitoba Certification required
- Ontario Certification required
- Quebec Voluntary certification
- New Brunswick Certification required
- Nova Scotia Certification required
- Prince Edward Island Voluntary certification
- Newfoundland and Labrador Voluntary certification
- Yukon Voluntary certification
- Northwest Territories Voluntary certification
- Nunavut Voluntary certification
Sources checked
- Barber and Hairstylist: Certifications in Alberta - alis alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/barber-and-hairst... · fetched October 8, 2026
- Tradesecrets - Hairstylist tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/0424 · fetched October 10, 2026
- Tradesecrets - Meet Requirements tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/eligibilit... · fetched October 9, 2026
- Tradesecrets - Types of Exams tradesecrets.alberta.ca/apprentice-services/prepare-for-an-exam/typ... · fetched October 9, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as a hairstylist in Alberta?
Yes. Certification, or registration as an apprentice, is required to work in the trade in Alberta. Certification is managed by Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training.
Which exams are required?
Practical exam, Red Seal exam, Entrance exam.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.