How to Become a Hunting Guide in Alberta
Do you need a licence?
Licence required
You must be registered with the Alberta Professional Outfitters Society to work as a hunting guide in Alberta or to use a protected title.
- Protected titles
- guide (big game or bird game), outfitter-guide (big game or bird game)
Show the source
“you must hold a guide (big game or bird game) designation or an outfitter-guide (big game or bird game) permit from the Alberta Professional Outfitters Society (APOS) to organize and lead hunting trips for pay or gain”
From alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/hunting-guide-and..., checked October 10, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Licence required See the source
- Routes
- Not stated by the regulator Check with APOS
- Annual fees
- Not stated by the regulator Check with APOS
Your roadmap
The steps are not listed yet.
Check the current steps with Alberta Professional Outfitters Society.
Requirements
Insurance
Outfitter-guide permit applicants must provide evidence of a minimum general liability insurance of $5 million.
Source
“- Provide evidence of a minimum general liability insurance of $5 million”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/hunting-guide-and...Liability insurance is a requirement to obtain an Outfitter Permit, and applicants must demonstrate that all client deposits will be properly protected.
Source
“- Liability insurance is a requirement to obtain an Outfitter Permit. The Minister requires applicants to demonstrate that all client deposits will be properly protected.”
apos.ab.ca/Outfitters/BecomingAnOutfitter
Residency
Outfitter-guide permit applicants must be an Alberta resident, or a non-resident who is a Canadian citizen or has been admitted to permanent residence in Canada.
Source
“- Be an Alberta resident OR be a non-resident who is a Canadian citizen or has been admitted to permanent residence in Canada”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/hunting-guide-and...Individual outfitter applicants must be an adult resident of Alberta, or a non-resident who is a Canadian citizen or permanent resident.
Source
“- Be an adult resident of Alberta, or a non-resident who is a Canadian citizen or permanent resident.”
apos.ab.ca/Outfitters/BecomingAnOutfitter
Other
You must be 18 years of age or older to obtain a big game or bird game guide designation in Alberta.
Source
“To obtain a big game guide designation or bird game guide designation in Alberta, you must: - Be 18 years of age or older”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/hunting-guide-and...You must be legally entitled to work in Canada.
Source
“- Be legally entitled to work in Canada”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/hunting-guide-and...You must have a Wildlife Identification Number (WIN) from Alberta ReLM.
Source
“- Have a Wildlife Identification Number (WIN) from Alberta ReLM”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/hunting-guide-and...You must work for a currently licensed outfitter of the same class as your guide designation.
Source
“- Work for a currently licensed outfitter of the same class (big game or bird game) as your guide designation”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/hunting-guide-and...You must pay all applicable fees.
Source
“- Pay all applicable fees”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/hunting-guide-and...To obtain an outfitter-guide permit you must hold a guide designation, or be a business corporation or society where at least one current officer holds a guide designation.
Source
“- Hold a guide designation OR be a business corporation or society where at least 1 current officer holds a guide designation”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/hunting-guide-and...Outfitter-guide permit applicants must provide evidence of a minimum deposit indemnity bond of $10,000 for contracted clients.
Source
“- Provide evidence of a minimum deposit indemnity bond of $10,000 for contracted clients”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/hunting-guide-and...Individual outfitter applicants must hold a valid Big Game Guide's Designation or a Bird Game Guide's Designation.
Source
“- Hold a valid Big Game Guide’s Designation (for big game) or a Bird Game Guide’s Designation (for bird game).”
apos.ab.ca/Outfitters/BecomingAnOutfitterProof of an allocation lease or transfer is required to become an outfitter.
Source
“- Proof of an allocation lease or transfer is required to become an outfitter.”
apos.ab.ca/Outfitters/BecomingAnOutfitterFor a Class S permit, applicants must have been an outfitter before March 31, 1988, be the spouse, partner, or child of a deceased or incapacitated outfitter from that time, or be named as the transferee of a Class 1 sheep allocation.
Source
“- Have been an outfitter before March 31, 1988, - Be the spouse, partner, or child of a deceased or incapacitated outfitter from that time, or - Be named as the transferee of a Class 1 sheep allocation.”
apos.ab.ca/Outfitters/BecomingAnOutfitter
Already licensed in another province?
Not stated
The pages state only that guides and outfitters licensed elsewhere in Canada may be eligible for licensing in Alberta if their scope of practice and competencies are similar, without saying whether extra steps are required. Source
“Guides and outfitters who are licensed by and in good standing with a regulatory organization elsewhere in Canada may be eligible for licensing in Alberta if their scope of practice and competencies are similar.”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/hunting-guide-and...
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with APOS
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with APOS
Exams
Not stated by the regulator Check with APOS
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with APOS
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with APOS
Supervised practice
Not stated by the regulator Check with APOS
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alberta | $17.00 | $21.00 | $29.50 | Undetermined |
| Canada | $17.00 | $20.89 | $30.00 | — |
Hunting guides in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Not confirmed yet
- Saskatchewan Not confirmed yet
- Manitoba Licence required
- Ontario Not confirmed yet
- Quebec Not confirmed yet
- New Brunswick Not confirmed yet
- Nova Scotia Not confirmed yet
- Prince Edward Island Not confirmed yet
- Newfoundland and Labrador Not confirmed yet
- Yukon Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories Not confirmed yet
- Nunavut Not confirmed yet
Sources checked
- Hunting Guide and Outfitter-Guide: Certifications in Alberta - alis alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/hunting-guide-and... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Becomming An Outfitter apos.ab.ca/Outfitters/BecomingAnOutfitter · fetched October 10, 2026
- Hunt in Alberta apos.ab.ca/Hunt/Tips · fetched October 10, 2026
Frequently asked questions
1
Do you need a licence to work as a hunting guide in Alberta?
Yes. Registration with the Alberta Professional Outfitters Society is required to practise in Alberta, and to use the title guide (big game or bird game) or outfitter-guide (big game or bird game).
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.