How to Become an Industrial Electrician in Alberta
Do you need certification?
Certification required
Industrial electrician is a compulsory trade in Alberta. You need a certificate, or registration as an apprentice, to work in the trade.
- Protected titles
- Not listed in the sources checked
Show the source
“To perform restricted activities, you must be: - a registered apprentice or - a certified journeyperson or - hold a recognized trade certificate.”
From tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/003, checked October 10, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Certification required See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 5 steps
- Licensed in another province: 2 steps
- Trained outside Canada: no separate route
- Annual fees
- Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship and Industry Training
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 5 done
- 5 steps without a listed fee
-
You apply to become a registered apprentice in the trade, and you can begin working on the job before meeting the entrance requirements for classroom instruction.
Source
“Begin working on the job before you meet entrance requirements for classroom instruction”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/eligibilit... -
Before enrolling in your first period of classroom instruction you must meet the entrance requirements, which can be satisfied by required high school courses, a GED or CAEC, an entrance exam, a recognized training program, or a recognized trade certificate.
Source
“You can register as an apprentice before you meet the entrance requirements. - You must meet them before you enroll in your first period classroom instruction.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/eligibilit... -
For each of the four periods you complete the required on-the-job work experience hours and the required weeks of classroom instruction.
Source
“Period 1 and 2: - 1560 hours work experience per period - 8 weeks classroom instruction per period - Period 3 and 4: - 1500 hours work experience per period - 10 weeks classroom instruction per period”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/003 -
You must pass a theory exam to complete each period of the program.
Source
“Theory exam required to complete each period”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/003 -
After completing your apprenticeship you may take the Red Seal exam for Industrial Electrician to earn the optional Red Seal endorsement.
Source
“You may take the Red Seal Exam for Construction Electrician and/or Industrial Electrician upon the completion of your apprenticeship in this trade.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/003
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Apprenticeship and Industry Training
5 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Licensed in another province
0 of 2 done
- 2 steps without a listed fee
-
You select the trade you wish to pursue and submit your application online.
Source
“Select the trade you wish to pursue and submit your application online.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/003 -
You submit a copy of a trade certificate from outside Alberta that Alberta recognizes.
Source
“1. Submit a copy of a recognized trade certificate from outside Alberta.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/003
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Apprenticeship and Industry Training
2 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Trained outside Canada
No separate route for this group. Source
“If you hold a recognized trade certificate from outside of Alberta, you are authorized to work in the full scope of the trade in Alberta.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/003
Other listed fees
The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.
- Entrance exam fee: $150
Source
“There is a $150 fee for writing an entrance exam.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/apprentice-services/prepare-for-an-exam/ent...
Requirements
Education
To enroll in classroom instruction you must have passed English 20-2, Math 20-3, and Science 10, or a GED/CAEC, or pass an entrance exam.
Source
“- Entrance requirements: - English 20-2, Math 20-3, and Science 10 - or GED/CAEC - or Entrance Exam”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/003
Experience
To qualify through the Trades Qualifier Work Experience Program you must complete 72 months and 9180 hours of verifiable Electrician work experience.
Source
“1. Complete 72 months and 9180 hours of verifiable Electrician work experience.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/003
Already licensed in another province?
Extra steps
If you hold a recognized trade certificate from outside Alberta you are authorized to work in the full scope of the trade, but to receive an Alberta Journeyperson Certificate through the Recognized Credentials Program you must submit your certificate and pass a theory exam. Source
“1. Submit a copy of a recognized trade certificate from outside Alberta. 2. Pass a theory exam.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/003
Submit a recognized trade certificate
Source
“1. Submit a copy of a recognized trade certificate from outside Alberta.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/003
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship and Industry Training
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship and Industry Training
Exams
-
Theory exam
Source
“Theory exam required to complete each period”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/003 -
Red Seal exam
-
Entrance exam
Source
“There is a $150 fee for writing an entrance exam.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/apprentice-services/prepare-for-an-exam/ent... -
Supplemental Exam
Source
“If you pass your classroom instruction coursework but fail the period exam, you may be able to rewrite it for free. This is called a Supplemental Exam.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/apprentice-services/prepare-for-an-exam/typ... -
Challenge exam
Source
“If you haven’t passed classroom instruction, you might be able to challenge the period exam to move in your apprenticeship. This is known as a challenge exam.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/apprentice-services/prepare-for-an-exam/typ...
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship and Industry Training
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship and Industry Training
Supervised practice
Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship and Industry Training
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alberta | $25.00 | $44.00 | $68.00 | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Canada | $28.00 | $42.00 | $54.00 | — |
Industrial electricians in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Certification required
- Saskatchewan Not confirmed yet
- Manitoba Certification required
- Ontario Voluntary certification
- Quebec Certification required
- New Brunswick Voluntary certification
- Nova Scotia Voluntary certification
- Prince Edward Island Voluntary certification
- Newfoundland and Labrador Voluntary certification
- Yukon Voluntary certification
- Northwest Territories Voluntary certification
- Nunavut Not confirmed yet
Sources checked
- Tradesecrets - Electrician tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/003 · fetched October 10, 2026
- Tradesecrets - Meet Requirements tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/eligibilit... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Tradesecrets - Entrance Exams tradesecrets.alberta.ca/apprentice-services/prepare-for-an-exam/ent... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Tradesecrets - Types of Exams tradesecrets.alberta.ca/apprentice-services/prepare-for-an-exam/typ... · fetched October 10, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as an industrial electrician in Alberta?
Yes. Certification, or registration as an apprentice, is required to work in the trade in Alberta. Certification is managed by Apprenticeship and Industry Training.
Which exams are required?
Theory exam, Red Seal exam, Entrance exam, Supplemental Exam, Challenge exam.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.