How to Become an Insurance Adjuster in Alberta
Do you need a licence?
Licence required
You must be registered with the Alberta Insurance Council to work as an insurance adjuster in Alberta or to use a protected title.
- Protected titles
- Not listed in the sources checked
Show the source
“Under Alberta’s Insurance Act [pdf] and Insurance Agents and Adjusters Regulation [pdf], you must be licensed by the Alberta Insurance Council (AIC) to work as an independent insurance adjuster in Alberta.”
From alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/insurance-adjuster, checked October 10, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Licence required See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 3 steps, listed one-time fees $50
- Licensed in another province: 1 step
- Annual fees
-
- Adjuster license renewal: $95 (renewal)
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 3 done
- Listed one-time fees: $50
- 2 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $95 (renewal)
-
New applicants register for a CIPR number, which they need to log into the AIC Portal and apply.
-
Applicants for Adjuster Level 1 must pass the Adjuster Level 1 exam before applying.
- Adjusters Level 1 exam: $50
Source
“Adjuster Level 1 applicants must pass the Adjuster Level 1 exam.”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/insurance-adjuster -
After passing the exam, the applicant logs into the AIC Portal and submits a paid and approved application, which AIC must receive within 12 months of passing the exam.
Source
“Licensed as an Adjuster Level 1 or provide proof of passing the Alberta Adjuster Level 1 exam; AIC must receive the paid and approved application within 12 months of passing the exam.”
abcouncil.ab.ca/applying-for-a-license/adjuster-licenses
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $50
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Exams | $50 | 100% |
| One-time total | $50 | 100% |
2 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.
- Adjuster license renewal: $95 (renewal)
Licensed in another province
0 of 1 done
- 1 step without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $95 (renewal)
-
Applicants licensed in another jurisdiction for an equivalent license do not take the Alberta exam but must still submit an application under their AIC account and meet Alberta licensing requirements.
Source
“However, you are still required to submit applications under your AIC account and meet the Alberta licensing requirements, as we do not automatically transfer or “activate” licenses from other jurisdictions.”
abcouncil.ab.ca/applying-for-a-license
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with AIC
1 step without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.
- Adjuster license renewal: $95 (renewal)
Other listed fees
The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.
- Change (transfer) or reinstatement: $25
Source
“Change (transfer) or reinstatement – $25”
abcouncil.ab.ca/applying-for-a-license/adjuster-licenses
Requirements
Police check
Applicants must provide a current criminal record check conducted within 3 months of AIC receiving the approved application.
Source
“Must provide a current criminal check that was conducted within 3 months from AIC receiving the approved application.”
abcouncil.ab.ca/applying-for-a-license/adjuster-licenses
Insurance
Applicants must carry errors and omissions insurance.
Source
“Carry errors and omissions insurance”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/insurance-adjuster
Other
Applicants must be recommended by the licensed Designated Representative of their firm.
Source
“Must be recommended by the licensed Designated Representative of their firm.”
abcouncil.ab.ca/applying-for-a-license/adjuster-licensesAdjuster Level 1 licensees must work under the ongoing direct supervision of an Adjuster Level 3 licensee, who approves and countersigns their claims reports.
Source
“Under ongoing direct supervision of the holder of an Adjuster Level 3 license and that all reports in relation to the adjustment of claims by the holder of the Level 1 license be approved and countersigned by the holder of an Adjuster Level 3 license”
abcouncil.ab.ca/applying-for-a-license/adjuster-licenses
Already licensed in another province?
Direct transfer
Adjusters currently licensed in another Canadian jurisdiction for an equivalent license do not need to take the Alberta exam, but must still submit an application under their AIC account and meet Alberta licensing requirements. Source
“If you’re currently licensed in your home jurisdiction for an equivalent license as you’re applying for in Alberta, you will not need to take the required exam (as you’ve already passed exams considered equivalent to Alberta’s).”
abcouncil.ab.ca/applying-for-a-license
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with AIC
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with AIC
Exams
-
Adjuster Level 1 exam
Source
“Adjuster Level 1 applicants must pass the Adjuster Level 1 exam.”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/insurance-adjuster
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with AIC
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with AIC
Supervised practice
Not stated by the regulator Check with AIC
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alberta | $24.04 | $34.71 | $48.08 | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Canada | $22.56 | $35.00 | $52.20 | — |
Insurance adjusters in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Not confirmed yet
- Saskatchewan Not confirmed yet
- Manitoba Licence required
- Ontario Not confirmed yet
- Quebec Not confirmed yet
- New Brunswick Not confirmed yet
- Nova Scotia Not confirmed yet
- Prince Edward Island Not confirmed yet
- Newfoundland and Labrador Not confirmed yet
- Yukon Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories Not confirmed yet
- Nunavut Not confirmed yet
Sources checked
- Insurance Adjuster: Certifications in Alberta - alis alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/insurance-adjuster · fetched October 10, 2026
- Adjuster licenses - Alberta Insurance Council abcouncil.ab.ca/applying-for-a-license/adjuster-licenses · fetched October 10, 2026
- Applying for a license - Alberta Insurance Council abcouncil.ab.ca/applying-for-a-license · fetched October 10, 2026
- Exam fees - Alberta Insurance Council abcouncil.ab.ca/applying-for-a-license/exam-fees · fetched October 10, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as an insurance adjuster in Alberta?
Yes. Registration with the Alberta Insurance Council is required to practise in Alberta.
Which exams are required?
Adjuster Level 1 exam.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.