At a glance

Licence status
Licence required See the source
Annual fees
Not stated by the regulator Check with ASC

Your roadmap

Trained in Canada

  • 3 steps without a listed fee
  1. The applicant decides which category of dealing representative registration to apply for, such as exempt market products or scholarship plans.

    Source
    “In Alberta, dealing representatives can only deal in the types of securities included in the category they are registered for. Individuals may register for more than one category at a time.”
    alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/investment-funds-...
  2. The applicant must be employed by and have their registration sponsored by a registered firm.

    Source
    “An individual’s registration must be sponsored by a registered firm.”
    asc.ca/en/Registrant-and-Market-Regulation/Registrant-Toolkit/Getti...
  3. The sponsoring firm's authorized representative completes the initial registration application for the individual through the National Registration Database.

    Source
    “Initial registration for individuals is done through the NRD. The sponsoring firm must be enrolled with the NRD before the individual registration process can occur. ... The initial application for registration of an individual must be completed by the firm’s authorized firm representative. Individuals can only register through a sponsoring firm.”
    asc.ca/en/registrant-and-market-regulation/registrant-toolkit/getti...

Listed fees for this route

No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with ASC

3 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Licensed in another province

  • 2 steps without a listed fee
  1. The applicant must already be registered by and in good standing with a securities regulatory body in another Canadian jurisdiction.

    Source
    “Dealing representatives who are registered by and in good standing with a securities regulatory body elsewhere in Canada may be eligible for registration in Alberta.”
    alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/investment-funds-...
  2. The applicant may then be eligible to register in Alberta.

    Source
    “Dealing representatives who are registered by and in good standing with a securities regulatory body elsewhere in Canada may be eligible for registration in Alberta.”
    alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/investment-funds-...

Listed fees for this route

No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with ASC

2 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Requirements

Experience

  • If registering using the CFA designation for exempt market products, you need 1 year of relevant securities experience within the last 3 years before applying for registration.

    Source
    “The Chartered Financial Analyst (CFA) designation and 1 year of relevant securities experience within the last 3 years before applying for registration”
    alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/investment-funds-...

Other

Already licensed in another province?

Not stated

The page says dealing representatives registered and in good standing elsewhere in Canada may be eligible for registration in Alberta, but does not state whether they can register without extra assessments or exams.

Source
“Dealing representatives who are registered by and in good standing with a securities regulatory body elsewhere in Canada may be eligible for registration in Alberta.”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/investment-funds-...

Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with ASC

Check a move between two provinces

Credential assessment

Not stated by the regulator Check with ASC

Exams

Language tests

Not stated by the regulator Check with ASC

Compare scores across provinces and professions

Canadian experience

Not stated by the regulator Check with ASC

Supervised practice

Not stated by the regulator Check with ASC

Demand and pay

No Job Bank wage or outlook data for this occupation yet.

Investment funds and securities - dealing representative in other provinces and territories

  • British Columbia Not confirmed yet
  • Saskatchewan Not confirmed yet
  • Manitoba Not confirmed yet
  • Ontario Not confirmed yet
  • Quebec Not confirmed yet
  • New Brunswick Not confirmed yet
  • Nova Scotia Not confirmed yet
  • Prince Edward Island Not confirmed yet
  • Newfoundland and Labrador Not confirmed yet
  • Yukon Not confirmed yet
  • Northwest Territories Not confirmed yet
  • Nunavut Not confirmed yet

Compare investment fund and security - dealing representative licensing across Canada

Sources checked

  1. Investment Funds and Securities - Dealing Representative: Certifications in Alberta - alis alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/investment-funds-... · fetched October 10, 2026
  2. Getting registered | ASC asc.ca/en/Registrant-and-Market-Regulation/Registrant-Toolkit/Getti... · fetched October 10, 2026
  3. Getting registered | ASC asc.ca/en/registrant-and-market-regulation/registrant-toolkit/getti... · fetched October 10, 2026

Frequently asked questions

2

Do you need a licence to work as an investment fund and security - dealing representative in Alberta?

Yes. Registration with the Alberta Securities Commission is required to practise in Alberta.

Which exams are required?

Canadian Securities Course (CSC), Exempt Market Proficiency Course (EXMP), Dealing Representative Proficiency Course, CIRO proficiency exams.

Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too

Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.

Schedule a Call

Free consultation. No commitment.