At a glance

Licence status
Voluntary certification See the source
Routes
Annual fees
Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

Your roadmap

Trained in Canada

  • 3 steps without a listed fee
  1. You can register as an apprentice before meeting the entrance requirements, but must meet them before enrolling in first period classroom instruction.

    Source
    “You can register as an apprentice before you meet the entrance requirements.”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/eligibilit...
  2. Before enrolling in classes you must meet entrance requirements, which include specific high school courses or alternatives such as an entrance exam.

    Source
    “Before you enroll in classes as a registered apprentice, you'll need to meet the entrance requirements.”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/eligibilit...
  3. A theory exam is required to complete each period of the apprenticeship program.

    Source
    “- Theory exam required to complete each period - Red Seal exam option in final period”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/015

Listed fees for this route

No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

3 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Licensed in another province

  • Listed one-time fees: $115
  • 1 step without a listed fee
  1. You submit a copy of a recognized trade certificate from outside Alberta.

    Source
    “1. Submit a copy of a recognized trade certificate from outside Alberta.”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/015
  2. You pass a practical exam that costs $115.00.

    Source
    “3. Pass a practical exam ($115.00).”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/015

Listed fees for this route

One-time total listed: $115

One-time fees listed for Licensed in another province, by type
Fee typeAmountShare
Other $115 100%
One-time total $115 100%

1 step without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Trained outside Canada

No separate route for this group.

Source
“If you have experience in the trade but do not hold an Alberta Journeyperson Certificate, you may be eligible for the Trades Qualifier Program.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/015

Other listed fees

The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.

Requirements

Experience

  • Applicants to the Trades Qualifier Work Experience Program must complete 72 months and 9360 hours of verifiable Machinist work experience.

    Source
    “1. Complete 72 months and 9360 hours of verifiable Machinist work experience.”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/015

Other

  • Applicants holding a related trade certificate may be eligible for credit toward these requirements.

    Source
    “*Applicants holding a related trade certificate may be eligible for credit toward these requirements (see Related Trade Certificates for the Apprenticeship Education Program above)*”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/015

Already licensed in another province?

Not stated

The page says machinists trained in other provinces can work in Alberta if they hold a certificate or licence recognized by Alberta or have journeyperson-level skills, but does not state whether they can register directly without reassessment.

Source
“Machinists trained in other provinces and territories can work in Alberta if they hold a certificate or license recognized by Alberta or have the skills and knowledge expected of a journeyperson certified in Alberta.”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/machinist

Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

Check a move between two provinces

Credential assessment

Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

Exams

Language tests

Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

Compare scores across provinces and professions

Canadian experience

Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

Supervised practice

Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

Demand and pay

Job Bank wages and outlook in Alberta and Canada
WhereLowMedianHighOutlook
Alberta $25.00 $36.50 $45.00 Limited (2 of 5)
Canada $21.00 $30.00 $41.50 —

Wages by region and job outlook in Alberta

Wages in every province and territory

Machinists in other provinces and territories

Compare machinist licensing across Canada

Sources checked

  1. Tradesecrets - Machinist tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/015 · fetched October 9, 2026
  2. Tradesecrets - Meet Requirements tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/eligibilit... · fetched October 9, 2026
  3. Tradesecrets - Entrance Exams tradesecrets.alberta.ca/apprentice-services/prepare-for-an-exam/ent... · fetched October 9, 2026
  4. Machinist: Certifications in Alberta - alis alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/machinist · fetched October 8, 2026

Frequently asked questions

2

Do you need a licence to work as a machinist in Alberta?

No. Certification is available, but it is not required to work in the trade in Alberta. Certification is managed by Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training.

Which exams are required?

Theory exam, Red Seal exam, Practical exam, Entrance exam.

Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too

Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.

Schedule a Call

Free consultation. No commitment.