At a glance

Licence status
Voluntary certification See the source
Routes
Annual fees
Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

Your roadmap

Trained in Canada

  • 5 steps without a listed fee
  1. Before applying, make sure you meet the eligibility requirements to register as an apprentice.

    Source
    “Before you apply to become a registered apprentice, make sure you are eligible.”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/eligibilit...
  2. Find an employer who is willing to hire and train you as an apprentice.

    Source
    “Apprentices must find suitable employers who are willing to hire and train apprentices.”
    alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/metal-fabricator-...
  3. You can register as an apprentice before meeting the entrance requirements, but must meet them before enrolling in classroom instruction.

    Source
    “You can register as an apprentice before you meet the entrance requirements.”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/eligibilit...
  4. Before enrolling in your first period of classroom instruction, meet the entrance requirements, such as passing specific high school courses or an entrance exam.

    Source
    “Before you enroll in classes as a registered apprentice, you'll need to meet the entrance requirements.”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/eligibilit...
  5. Complete the three-year apprenticeship, which includes on-the-job training hours and weeks of classroom instruction each year.

    Source
    “The term of apprenticeship in Alberta is 3 years (three 12-month periods) that include a minimum of 1,560 hours of on-the-job training and 8 weeks of classroom instruction in each year.”
    alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/metal-fabricator-...

Listed fees for this route

No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

5 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Licensed in another province

  • Listed one-time fees: $350
  • 1 step without a listed fee
  1. Submit a copy of a recognized trade certificate from outside Alberta.

    Source
    “Submit a copy of a recognized trade certificate from outside Alberta.”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/026
  2. Pass the practical exam, which costs $350.00.

    Source
    “Pass a practical exam ($350.00).”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/026

Listed fees for this route

One-time total listed: $350

One-time fees listed for Licensed in another province, by type
Fee typeAmountShare
Exams $350 100%
One-time total $350 100%

1 step without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Trained outside Canada

  • Listed one-time fees: $350
  • 1 step without a listed fee
  1. Submit a copy of a recognized trade certificate from outside Alberta.

    Source
    “Submit a copy of a recognized trade certificate from outside Alberta.”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/026
  2. Pass the practical exam, which costs $350.00.

    Source
    “Pass a practical exam ($350.00).”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/026

Listed fees for this route

One-time total listed: $350

One-time fees listed for Trained outside Canada, by type
Fee typeAmountShare
Exams $350 100%
One-time total $350 100%

1 step without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Other listed fees

The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.

Requirements

Education

  • Before enrolling in classroom instruction, apprentices must meet entrance requirements, which include having passed specific high school courses or an approved alternative such as an entrance exam, GED or CAEC certificate, a recognized training program, or a recognized trade certificate.

    Source
    “Entrance requirements include specific high school courses that you must have passed.”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/eligibilit...

Experience

  • Apprentices must complete a minimum of 1,560 hours of on-the-job training in each of the three 12-month periods of the apprenticeship.

    Source
    “The term of apprenticeship in Alberta is 3 years (three 12-month periods) that include a minimum of 1,560 hours of on-the-job training and 8 weeks of classroom instruction in each year.”
    alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/metal-fabricator-...
  • Applicants to the Trades Qualifier Work Experience Program must complete 54 months and 7,020 hours of verifiable Metal Fabricator (Fitter) work experience.

    Source
    “1. Complete 54 months and 7020 hours of verifiable Metal Fabricator (Fitter) work experience.”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/026

Already licensed in another province?

Extra steps

Applicants from another Canadian province or territory must submit a recognized trade certificate from outside Alberta and then pass both a theory exam and a practical exam to become certified.

Source
“1. Submit a copy of a recognized trade certificate from outside Alberta. 2. Pass a theory exam. 3. Pass a practical exam ($350.00).”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/026

  1. Submit recognized certificate

    Source
    “Submit a copy of a recognized trade certificate from outside Alberta.”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/026
  2. Pass the practical exam

    Source
    “Pass a practical exam ($350.00).”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/026

Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

Check a move between two provinces

Credential assessment

Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

Exams

Language tests

Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

Compare scores across provinces and professions

Canadian experience

Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

Supervised practice

Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

Demand and pay

Job Bank wages and outlook in Alberta and Canada
WhereLowMedianHighOutlook
Alberta $22.00 $33.00 $44.00 Limited (2 of 5)
Canada $21.00 $29.00 $43.30 —

Wages by region and job outlook in Alberta

Wages in every province and territory

Metal fabricators (fitter) in other provinces and territories

Compare metal fabricator (fitter) licensing across Canada

Sources checked

  1. Metal Fabricator (Fitter): Certifications in Alberta - alis alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/metal-fabricator-... · fetched October 8, 2026
  2. Tradesecrets - Meet Requirements tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/eligibilit... · fetched October 9, 2026
  3. Tradesecrets - Metal Fabricator (Fitter) tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/026 · fetched October 10, 2026
  4. Tradesecrets - Trades with Practical Exams and Fees tradesecrets.alberta.ca/become-certified/trades-qualifier-programs/... · fetched October 9, 2026

Frequently asked questions

2

Do you need a licence to work as a metal fabricator (fitter) in Alberta?

No. Certification is available, but it is not required to work in the trade in Alberta. Certification is managed by Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training.

Which exams are required?

practical exam, entrance exam.

Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too

Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.

Schedule a Call

Free consultation. No commitment.