How to Become an Outdoor Power Equipment Technician - Power Equipment in Alberta
Do you need certification?
Certification is voluntary
Outdoor power equipment technician - power equipment is a voluntary trade in Alberta. You can work in the trade without a certificate.
- Protected titles
- Not listed in the sources checked
Show the source
“working at a journeyperson level in the opinion of your employer (journeyperson certification optional).”
From tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/0515, checked October 11, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Voluntary certification See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 5 steps
- Licensed in another province: 1 step
- Trained outside Canada: 2 steps
- Annual fees
- Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 5 done
- 5 steps without a listed fee
-
Apprentices must find a suitable employer who is willing to hire and train apprentices.
Source
“Apprentices must find suitable employers who are willing to hire and train apprentices.”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/outdoor-power-equ... -
You apply to become a registered apprentice, making sure you meet the registration eligibility requirements.
Source
“Before you apply to become a registered apprentice, make sure you are eligible.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/eligibilit... -
Before enrolling in classroom instruction you must meet the entrance requirements, which include specific high school courses, or show you are ready another way such as by taking an entrance exam.
Source
“Entrance requirements include specific high school courses that you must have passed.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/eligibilit... -
Complete the 3-year apprenticeship program, each year including a minimum of 1,000 hours of on-the-job training and 6 to 8 weeks of classroom instruction.
Source
“The term of apprenticeship for each branch of this trade is 3 years (12-month periods). Each year includes a minimum of 1,000 hours of on-the-job training and 6 to 8 weeks of classroom instruction.”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/outdoor-power-equ... -
On graduating from the apprenticeship program you earn a certificate credential and can obtain the Journeyperson Certificate.
Source
“Certification - Journeyperson Certificate”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/0515
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
5 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Licensed in another province
0 of 1 done
- 1 step without a listed fee
-
Submit a copy of a recognized trade certificate from outside Alberta.
Source
“Submit a copy of a recognized trade certificate from outside Alberta.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/0515
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
1 step without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Trained outside Canada
0 of 2 done
- 2 steps without a listed fee
-
Complete 54 months and 4500 hours of verifiable Outdoor Power Equipment Technician - Power Equipment work experience.
Source
“Complete 54 months and 4500 hours of verifiable Outdoor Power Equipment Technician - Power Equipment work experience.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/0515 -
Provide an Employer Declaration Letter (EDL).
Source
“Provide an Employer Declaration Letter (EDL).”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/0515
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
2 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Other listed fees
The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.
- PLA period exam fee: $150 (for each period exam applied for, periods 1,2,3,4)
Source
“Outdoor Power Equipment Technician - Power Equipmen t | 1,2,3,4 | $150.00 each | n/a”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/prior-lear... - PLA entrance exam fee: $150 (for applicants who do not meet the educational requirements)
Source
“Take this if you don't meet the educational requirements, to show you're ready to attend apprenticeship classes. - There is a $150 fee for this application.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/prior-lear...
Requirements
Education
Before enrolling in classroom instruction, apprentices must meet entrance requirements that include specific high school courses.
Source
“Entrance requirements include specific high school courses that you must have passed.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/eligibilit...
Experience
Applicants to the Work Experience Program must complete 54 months and 4500 hours of verifiable work experience in the trade.
Source
“Complete 54 months and 4500 hours of verifiable Outdoor Power Equipment Technician - Power Equipment work experience.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/0515
Already licensed in another province?
Not stated
The pages say technicians trained in other provinces can work in Alberta if they hold a recognized certificate or have journeyperson-level skills, but do not state whether they can register without retaking an exam. Source
“Outdoor power equipment technicians trained in other provinces and territories can work in Alberta if they hold a certificate or license recognized by Alberta or have the skills and knowledge expected of a journeyperson certified in Alberta.”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/outdoor-power-equ...
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
Exams
-
PLA - Entrance Exam
Source
“PLA entrance exam: If you pass, you can start apprenticeship classes without the required high school courses when you register as an apprentice.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/prior-lear...
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
Supervised practice
Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training
Demand and pay
No Job Bank wage or outlook data for this occupation yet.
Outdoor power equipment technicians - power equipment in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Not confirmed yet
- Saskatchewan Not confirmed yet
- Manitoba Not confirmed yet
- Ontario Not confirmed yet
- Quebec Not confirmed yet
- New Brunswick Not confirmed yet
- Nova Scotia Not confirmed yet
- Prince Edward Island Not confirmed yet
- Newfoundland and Labrador Not confirmed yet
- Yukon Voluntary certification
- Northwest Territories Voluntary certification
- Nunavut Not confirmed yet
Compare outdoor power equipment technician - power equipment licensing across Canada
Sources checked
- Tradesecrets - Outdoor Power Equipment Technician - Power Equipment tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/0515 · fetched October 10, 2026
- Outdoor Power Equipment Technician: Certifications in Alberta - alis alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/outdoor-power-equ... · fetched October 8, 2026
- Tradesecrets - Meet Requirements tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/eligibilit... · fetched October 9, 2026
- Tradesecrets - Prior Learning Assessments tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/prior-lear... · fetched October 9, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as an outdoor power equipment technician - power equipment in Alberta?
No. Certification is available, but it is not required to work in the trade in Alberta. Certification is managed by Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training.
Which exams are required?
PLA - Entrance Exam.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.