At a glance

Licence status
Voluntary certification See the source
Routes
Annual fees
Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

Your roadmap

Trained in Canada

  • 3 steps without a listed fee
  1. Complete at least 12 months and 1,000 hours of work experience.

    Source
    “A minimum of 12 months AND 1,000 hours of work experience.”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/2131
  2. Source
    “Successful completion and verification of Canadian Door Institution Level 1 course or equivalent (certificate issued after Jan 1/15).”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/2131
  3. Pass a successful theory exam.

    Source
    “A successful theory exam.”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/2131

Listed fees for this route

No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

3 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Licensed in another province

No separate route for this group.

Source
“Alberta is no longer accepting applications for certification in this trade.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/2131

Requirements

Experience

Already licensed in another province?

Not stated

The pages do not state how someone already licensed in another Canadian province or territory registers in Alberta.

Source
“Alberta is no longer accepting applications for certification in this trade.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/2131

Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

Check a move between two provinces

Credential assessment

Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

Exams

Language tests

Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

Compare scores across provinces and professions

Canadian experience

Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

Supervised practice

Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

Demand and pay

No Job Bank wage or outlook data for this occupation yet.

Overhead door technicians - level one in other provinces and territories

  • British Columbia Not confirmed yet
  • Saskatchewan Not confirmed yet
  • Manitoba Not confirmed yet
  • Ontario Not confirmed yet
  • Quebec Not confirmed yet
  • New Brunswick Not confirmed yet
  • Nova Scotia Not confirmed yet
  • Prince Edward Island Not confirmed yet
  • Newfoundland and Labrador Not confirmed yet
  • Yukon Not confirmed yet
  • Northwest Territories Not confirmed yet
  • Nunavut Not confirmed yet

Compare overhead door technician - level one licensing across Canada

Sources checked

  1. Tradesecrets - Overhead Door Technician - Level One tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/2131 · fetched October 10, 2026

Frequently asked questions

2

Do you need a licence to work as an overhead door technician - level one in Alberta?

No. Certification is available, but it is not required to work in the trade in Alberta. Certification is managed by Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training.

Which exams are required?

theory exam.

Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too

Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.

Schedule a Call

Free consultation. No commitment.