At a glance

Licence status
Voluntary certification See the source
Annual fees
Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

Your roadmap

Trained in Canada

  • 2 steps without a listed fee
  1. Before enrolling in classroom instruction you must meet the entrance requirements, such as specific high school courses, a GED or CAEC, or an entrance exam.

    Source
    “Entrance requirements: - English 10-2 and Math 10-3 - or GED/CAEC - or Entrance Exam”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/004
  2. You complete three periods, each with 1300 hours of work experience and 8 weeks of classroom instruction, with a theory exam required in each period.

    Source
    “- 3 periods (levels) - All periods: - 1300 hours work experience per period - 8 weeks classroom instruction per period - Theory exam required”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/004

Listed fees for this route

No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

2 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Licensed in another province

  • 1 step without a listed fee
  1. You submit a copy of a recognized trade certificate from outside Alberta.

    Source
    “1. Submit a copy of a recognized trade certificate from outside Alberta.”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/004

Listed fees for this route

No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

1 step without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Trained outside Canada

  • 1 step without a listed fee
  1. You submit a copy of a recognized trade certificate from outside Alberta.

    Source
    “1. Submit a copy of a recognized trade certificate from outside Alberta.”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/004

Listed fees for this route

No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

1 step without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Other listed fees

The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.

Requirements

Education

  • To enroll in classroom instruction you must have passed English 10-2 and Math 10-3, or a GED/CAEC, or pass an entrance exam.

    Source
    “Entrance requirements: - English 10-2 and Math 10-3 - or GED/CAEC - or Entrance Exam”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/004

Already licensed in another province?

Extra steps

Tradespeople from other provinces can qualify through the Recognized Credentials Program by submitting a recognized trade certificate from outside Alberta and passing a theory exam.

Source
“Recognized Credentials Program 1. Submit a copy of a recognized trade certificate from outside Alberta. 2. Pass a theory exam.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/004

  1. Submit recognized trade certificate

    Source
    “1. Submit a copy of a recognized trade certificate from outside Alberta.”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/004

Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

Check a move between two provinces

Credential assessment

Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

Exams

Language tests

Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

Compare scores across provinces and professions

Canadian experience

Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

Supervised practice

Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

Demand and pay

Job Bank wages and outlook in Alberta and Canada
WhereLowMedianHighOutlook
Alberta $20.00 $26.00 $34.82 Limited (2 of 5)
Canada $20.00 $28.00 $40.99 —

Wages by region and job outlook in Alberta

Wages in every province and territory

Painters and decorators in other provinces and territories

Compare painter and decorator licensing across Canada

Sources checked

  1. Tradesecrets - Painter and Decorator tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/004 · fetched October 10, 2026
  2. Tradesecrets - Entrance Exams tradesecrets.alberta.ca/apprentice-services/prepare-for-an-exam/ent... · fetched October 9, 2026
  3. Tradesecrets - Types of Exams tradesecrets.alberta.ca/apprentice-services/prepare-for-an-exam/typ... · fetched October 9, 2026

Frequently asked questions

2

Do you need a licence to work as a painter and decorator in Alberta?

No. Certification is available, but it is not required to work in the trade in Alberta. Certification is managed by Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training.

Which exams are required?

Entrance Exam, Theory exam, Red Seal exam.

Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too

Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.

Schedule a Call

Free consultation. No commitment.