How to Become a Paramedic in Alberta
Do you need a licence?
Licence required
You must be registered with the Alberta College of Paramedics to work as a paramedic in Alberta or to use a protected title.
- Protected titles
- Not listed in the sources checked
Show the source
“To practice any regulated healthcare profession in Alberta, practitioners must be registered with their regulatory college.”
From abparamedics.com/applicants, checked October 10, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Licence required See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 7 steps, listed one-time fees $25 (2 fees depend on your situation and are not in the total)
- Licensed in another province: 3 steps (1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total)
- Trained outside Canada: 4 steps (1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total)
- Annual fees
-
- Registration fee (2025/2026, permit issued October 1 - December 31): $445
Source
“| October 1 - December 31 | 100% | $445 |”
abparamedics.com/applicants/registration-fees-and-requirements - Registration fee (2025/2026, permit issued January 1 - March 31): $333.75
Source
“| January 1 - March 31 | 75% | $333.75 |”
abparamedics.com/applicants/registration-fees-and-requirements - Registration fee (2025/2026, permit issued April 1 - June 30): $222.50
Source
“| April 1 - June 30 | 50% | $222.50 |”
abparamedics.com/applicants/registration-fees-and-requirements - Registration fee (2025/2026, permit issued July 1 - September 30): $111.25
Source
“| July 1 - September 30 | 25% | $111.25 |”
abparamedics.com/applicants/registration-fees-and-requirements - Registration fee (2026/2027, permit issued October 1 - December 31): $440
Source
“| October 1 - December 31 | 100% | $440 |”
abparamedics.com/applicants/registration-fees-and-requirements - Registration fee (2026/2027, permit issued January 1 - March 31): $330
Source
“| January 1 - March 31 | 75% | $330 |”
abparamedics.com/applicants/registration-fees-and-requirements - Registration fee (2026/2027, permit issued April 1 - June 30): $220
Source
“| April 1 - June 30 | 50% | $220 |”
abparamedics.com/applicants/registration-fees-and-requirements - Registration fee (2026/2027, permit issued July 1 - September 30): $110
Source
“| July 1 - September 30 | 25% | $110 |”
abparamedics.com/applicants/registration-fees-and-requirements - Renewal fee: $510
Source
“This will change the renewal fee to $510 from $525 as it has been for four years now.”
abparamedics.com/ethics-and-jurisprudence-exam-fee-reduced - Renewal fee with credit applied: $495
Source
“This means, for regulated members renewing their practice permit this year, the fee will be $495.”
abparamedics.com/ethics-and-jurisprudence-exam-fee-reduced
- Registration fee (2025/2026, permit issued October 1 - December 31): $445
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 7 done
- Listed one-time fees: $25
- 2 fees depend on your situation and are not in the total
- 4 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $3,217.50
-
Log into the member portal, creating an account if you do not already have a profile.
Source
“Log into the member portal (If you don’t have a profile, create an account.)”
abparamedics.com/applicants/registering -
Through your member account, complete and submit your application for a permit, including the application fee payable to the College.
- Application fee: $100 (all applicants)
Source
“All applicants pay a non-refundable $100 application fee.”
abparamedics.com/applicants/registration-fees-and-requirements
Source
“Through your member account/profile, complete and submit your Application (Apply for Permit – Including the $100 application fee – payable to the College).”
abparamedics.com/applicants/registering - Application fee: $100 (all applicants)
-
Submit to a criminal record check completed through the College's approved online verification service.
- Criminal Record Check: $35 (paid directly to the verification service at the time it is completed)
Source
“The cost to complete this is $35, paid directly to the verification service at the time it is completed.”
abparamedics.com/applicants/registration-fees-and-requirements
Source
“All applicants must submit to a criminal record check – to be completed through the College’s approved online verification service, not at a police detachment.”
abparamedics.com/applicants/registration-fees-and-requirements - Criminal Record Check: $35 (paid directly to the verification service at the time it is completed)
-
Successfully complete the registration examination, which for applicants to the College is the COPR examination.
Source
“A registration exam is a requirement for most new EMR, PCP and ACP applicants for registration with the Alberta College of Paramedics.”
abparamedics.com/applicants/registration-fees-and-requirements -
Complete the Ethics and Jurisprudence exam, which tests new applicants on the regulatory framework that guides practice in Alberta.
- Ethics & Jurisprudence Exam: $25
Source
“There is a $25 cost to take this exam.”
abparamedics.com/applicants/registration-fees-and-requirements
Source
“The Ethics and Jurisprudence exam tests new applicants on different elements of the regulatory framework that guides practice in Alberta.”
abparamedics.com/applicants/registration-fees-and-requirements - Ethics & Jurisprudence Exam: $25
-
Complete the College's approved prevention training on sexual assault of and misconduct toward patients.
Source
“All practitioners who register to practice in Alberta must complete the College’s approved prevention training on Sexual Assault of and Misconduct Toward Patients.”
abparamedics.com/applicants/registration-fees-and-requirements -
Pay the member dues required to complete registration and have a practice permit issued.
Source
“Member dues are required to complete registration and issue a practice permit.”
abparamedics.com/applicants/registration-fees-and-requirements
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $25
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Other | $25 | 100% |
| One-time total | $25 | 100% |
2 fees depend on your situation and are not in the total.
4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees: $3,217.50 a year Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.
- Registration fee (2025/2026, permit issued October 1 - December 31): $445
Source
“| October 1 - December 31 | 100% | $445 |”
abparamedics.com/applicants/registration-fees-and-requirements - Registration fee (2025/2026, permit issued January 1 - March 31): $333.75
Source
“| January 1 - March 31 | 75% | $333.75 |”
abparamedics.com/applicants/registration-fees-and-requirements - Registration fee (2025/2026, permit issued April 1 - June 30): $222.50
Source
“| April 1 - June 30 | 50% | $222.50 |”
abparamedics.com/applicants/registration-fees-and-requirements - Registration fee (2025/2026, permit issued July 1 - September 30): $111.25
Source
“| July 1 - September 30 | 25% | $111.25 |”
abparamedics.com/applicants/registration-fees-and-requirements - Registration fee (2026/2027, permit issued October 1 - December 31): $440
Source
“| October 1 - December 31 | 100% | $440 |”
abparamedics.com/applicants/registration-fees-and-requirements - Registration fee (2026/2027, permit issued January 1 - March 31): $330
Source
“| January 1 - March 31 | 75% | $330 |”
abparamedics.com/applicants/registration-fees-and-requirements - Registration fee (2026/2027, permit issued April 1 - June 30): $220
Source
“| April 1 - June 30 | 50% | $220 |”
abparamedics.com/applicants/registration-fees-and-requirements - Registration fee (2026/2027, permit issued July 1 - September 30): $110
Source
“| July 1 - September 30 | 25% | $110 |”
abparamedics.com/applicants/registration-fees-and-requirements - Renewal fee: $510
Source
“This will change the renewal fee to $510 from $525 as it has been for four years now.”
abparamedics.com/ethics-and-jurisprudence-exam-fee-reduced - Renewal fee with credit applied: $495
Source
“This means, for regulated members renewing their practice permit this year, the fee will be $495.”
abparamedics.com/ethics-and-jurisprudence-exam-fee-reduced
Licensed in another province
0 of 3 done
- 1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total
- 2 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $3,217.50
-
Begin the registration process by submitting your registration application to the College.
- Application fee: $100 (all applicants)
Source
“All applicants pay a non-refundable $100 application fee.”
abparamedics.com/applicants/registration-fees-and-requirements
Source
“The registration process for out-of-province applicants includes registration submission, completion of requirements, validation of education, employment, and references.”
abparamedics.com/registration-exams/applicant-types - Application fee: $100 (all applicants)
-
Complete all the registration requirements the College requires of applicants.
Source
“The registration process for out-of-province applicants includes registration submission, completion of requirements, validation of education, employment, and references.”
abparamedics.com/registration-exams/applicant-types -
The College validates your education, employment, and references as part of the registration process.
Source
“The registration process for out-of-province applicants includes registration submission, completion of requirements, validation of education, employment, and references.”
abparamedics.com/registration-exams/applicant-types
Listed fees for this route
1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total.
2 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees: $3,217.50 a year Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.
- Registration fee (2025/2026, permit issued October 1 - December 31): $445
Source
“| October 1 - December 31 | 100% | $445 |”
abparamedics.com/applicants/registration-fees-and-requirements - Registration fee (2025/2026, permit issued January 1 - March 31): $333.75
Source
“| January 1 - March 31 | 75% | $333.75 |”
abparamedics.com/applicants/registration-fees-and-requirements - Registration fee (2025/2026, permit issued April 1 - June 30): $222.50
Source
“| April 1 - June 30 | 50% | $222.50 |”
abparamedics.com/applicants/registration-fees-and-requirements - Registration fee (2025/2026, permit issued July 1 - September 30): $111.25
Source
“| July 1 - September 30 | 25% | $111.25 |”
abparamedics.com/applicants/registration-fees-and-requirements - Registration fee (2026/2027, permit issued October 1 - December 31): $440
Source
“| October 1 - December 31 | 100% | $440 |”
abparamedics.com/applicants/registration-fees-and-requirements - Registration fee (2026/2027, permit issued January 1 - March 31): $330
Source
“| January 1 - March 31 | 75% | $330 |”
abparamedics.com/applicants/registration-fees-and-requirements - Registration fee (2026/2027, permit issued April 1 - June 30): $220
Source
“| April 1 - June 30 | 50% | $220 |”
abparamedics.com/applicants/registration-fees-and-requirements - Registration fee (2026/2027, permit issued July 1 - September 30): $110
Source
“| July 1 - September 30 | 25% | $110 |”
abparamedics.com/applicants/registration-fees-and-requirements - Renewal fee: $510
Source
“This will change the renewal fee to $510 from $525 as it has been for four years now.”
abparamedics.com/ethics-and-jurisprudence-exam-fee-reduced - Renewal fee with credit applied: $495
Source
“This means, for regulated members renewing their practice permit this year, the fee will be $495.”
abparamedics.com/ethics-and-jurisprudence-exam-fee-reduced
Trained outside Canada
0 of 4 done
- 1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total
- 3 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $3,217.50
-
Have your credentials assessed by COPR through its assessment process for international applicants before starting registration with the College.
Source
“Please note the COPR assessment must be completed before beginning the registration process with the College.”
abparamedics.com/registration-exams/applicant-types -
Once the COPR assessment is complete, apply for provisional registration with the College by submitting the registration application with all requested material.
Source
“Submission of the Registration Application. You must include all material requested in the application.”
abparamedics.com/registration-exams/applicant-types -
Complete payment of the required fees, including the non-refundable application fee.
- Application fee: $100 (all applicants)
Source
“All applicants pay a non-refundable $100 application fee.”
abparamedics.com/applicants/registration-fees-and-requirements
Source
“Complete payment of required fee(s). The payment of a non-refundable application fee is required.”
abparamedics.com/registration-exams/applicant-types - Application fee: $100 (all applicants)
-
After the College approves your application, pay for your practice permit.
Source
“Once your application is approved by the College, complete payment of your practice permit.”
abparamedics.com/registration-exams/applicant-types
Listed fees for this route
1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total.
3 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees: $3,217.50 a year Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.
- Registration fee (2025/2026, permit issued October 1 - December 31): $445
Source
“| October 1 - December 31 | 100% | $445 |”
abparamedics.com/applicants/registration-fees-and-requirements - Registration fee (2025/2026, permit issued January 1 - March 31): $333.75
Source
“| January 1 - March 31 | 75% | $333.75 |”
abparamedics.com/applicants/registration-fees-and-requirements - Registration fee (2025/2026, permit issued April 1 - June 30): $222.50
Source
“| April 1 - June 30 | 50% | $222.50 |”
abparamedics.com/applicants/registration-fees-and-requirements - Registration fee (2025/2026, permit issued July 1 - September 30): $111.25
Source
“| July 1 - September 30 | 25% | $111.25 |”
abparamedics.com/applicants/registration-fees-and-requirements - Registration fee (2026/2027, permit issued October 1 - December 31): $440
Source
“| October 1 - December 31 | 100% | $440 |”
abparamedics.com/applicants/registration-fees-and-requirements - Registration fee (2026/2027, permit issued January 1 - March 31): $330
Source
“| January 1 - March 31 | 75% | $330 |”
abparamedics.com/applicants/registration-fees-and-requirements - Registration fee (2026/2027, permit issued April 1 - June 30): $220
Source
“| April 1 - June 30 | 50% | $220 |”
abparamedics.com/applicants/registration-fees-and-requirements - Registration fee (2026/2027, permit issued July 1 - September 30): $110
Source
“| July 1 - September 30 | 25% | $110 |”
abparamedics.com/applicants/registration-fees-and-requirements - Renewal fee: $510
Source
“This will change the renewal fee to $510 from $525 as it has been for four years now.”
abparamedics.com/ethics-and-jurisprudence-exam-fee-reduced - Renewal fee with credit applied: $495
Source
“This means, for regulated members renewing their practice permit this year, the fee will be $495.”
abparamedics.com/ethics-and-jurisprudence-exam-fee-reduced
Other listed fees
The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.
- Return to Practice Fee: $200 (practitioners who previously held a practice permit with the College and are seeking to Return to Practice)
Source
“Any practitioner who previously held a practice permit with the College, and is seeking to Return to Practice, must pay an additional non-refundable $200 Return to Practice fee to cover the additional administrative costs to reinstate a practice permit.”
abparamedics.com/applicants/registration-fees-and-requirements - Professional Liability Insurance (Navacord): $69 (Navacord (formerly Lloyd Sadd) rate; fees are dependant upon the carrier)
Source
“| Professional Liability Insurance | Navacord (formerly Lloyd Sadd) - $69 (fees are dependant upon the carrier) |”
abparamedics.com/applicants/registration-fees-and-requirements - Ethics and Jurisprudence Exam fee (reduced): $50 (reduced effectively immediately from $125 to $50)
Source
“the Alberta College of Paramedics is pleased to announce that the cost is being reduced effectively immediately from $125 to $50.”
abparamedics.com/ethics-and-jurisprudence-exam-fee-reduced - Ethics and Jurisprudence Exam fee (former): $125
Source
“the Alberta College of Paramedics is pleased to announce that the cost is being reduced effectively immediately from $125 to $50.”
abparamedics.com/ethics-and-jurisprudence-exam-fee-reduced
Requirements
Education
Applicants must apply for registration within one year of completing their education program.
Source
“You have one year from the completion of your education program to apply for registration.”
abparamedics.com/applicants/registration-fees-and-requirements
Police check
All applicants must submit to a criminal record check completed through the College's approved online verification service.
Source
“All applicants must submit to a criminal record check – to be completed through the College’s approved online verification service, not at a police detachment.”
abparamedics.com/applicants/registration-fees-and-requirements
Insurance
All regulated members of the College must carry professional liability insurance as a condition of registration and of ongoing active practice.
Source
“All regulated members of the College are required to carry professional liability insurance as a condition of registration and as a condition of ongoing active practice.”
abparamedics.com/applicants/registration-fees-and-requirements
Other
All practitioners registering to practice in Alberta must complete the College's approved sexual assault and misconduct prevention training.
Source
“All practitioners who register to practice in Alberta must complete the College’s approved prevention training on Sexual Assault of and Misconduct Toward Patients.”
abparamedics.com/applicants/registration-fees-and-requirementsPractitioners must be fluent and proficient in English, and the College may require them to demonstrate this.
Source
“professional practice in Alberta requires practitioners to be fluent and proficient in the English language. The College may require you to demonstrate your fluency and proficiency in English.”
abparamedics.com/applicants/registering
Already licensed in another province?
Extra steps
Applicants already registered in another Canadian province apply through Labour Mobility, and the registration process includes registration submission, completion of requirements, and validation of education, employment, and references. Source
“The registration process for out-of-province applicants includes registration submission, completion of requirements, validation of education, employment, and references.”
abparamedics.com/registration-exams/applicant-types
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta College of Paramedics
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta College of Paramedics
Exams
-
Ethics and Jurisprudence Exam
Source
“the College is now requiring all new applicants to successfully complete the Ethics and Jurisprudence Exam (within three tries) to gain registration.”
abparamedics.com/ethics-and-jurisprudence-exam-fee-reduced
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta College of Paramedics
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta College of Paramedics
Supervised practice
Not required
The provisional register is an optional register for applicants who have not yet passed the registration examination but wish to work under supervision until they have done so. Source
“The provisional register is an optional register for applicants who have not yet passed the registration examination but wish to work under supervision until they have done so.”
abparamedics.com/applicants/registering
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alberta | $27.00 | $35.70 | $50.00 | Good (4 of 5) |
| Canada | $25.56 | $38.00 | $49.00 | — |
Paramedics in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Licence required
- Saskatchewan Licence required
- Manitoba Licence required
- Ontario Licence required
- Quebec Licence required
- New Brunswick Licence required
- Nova Scotia Licence required
- Prince Edward Island Licence required
- Newfoundland and Labrador Licence required
- Yukon Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories Not confirmed yet
- Nunavut Not confirmed yet
Sources checked
- Applicants – Alberta College of Paramedics abparamedics.com/applicants · fetched October 10, 2026
- Applicant Types – Alberta College of Paramedics abparamedics.com/registration-exams/applicant-types · fetched October 10, 2026
- Registering – Alberta College of Paramedics abparamedics.com/applicants/registering · fetched October 10, 2026
- Registration Fees and Requirements – Alberta College of Paramedics abparamedics.com/applicants/registration-fees-and-requirements · fetched October 10, 2026
- Ethics and Jurisprudence Exam Fee Reduced – Alberta College of Paramedics abparamedics.com/ethics-and-jurisprudence-exam-fee-reduced · fetched October 10, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as a paramedic in Alberta?
Yes. Registration with the Alberta College of Paramedics is required to practise in Alberta.
Which exams are required?
Ethics and Jurisprudence Exam.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.