How to Become a Physician Assistant in Alberta
Do you need a licence?
Licence required
You must be registered with the College of Physicians and Surgeons of Alberta to work as a physician assistant in Alberta or to use a protected title.
- Protected titles
- physician assistant
Show the source
“registration with the College of Physicians and Surgeons of Alberta (CPSA) is mandatory to practice as a physician assistant.”
From alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/physician-assistant, checked October 10, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Licence required See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 3 steps
- Annual fees
-
- Practice Permit annual renewal fee: $550
Source
“Practice Permit annual renewal fee $550”
cpsa.ca/physicians/registration/apply-to-practise/physician-assistant
- Practice Permit annual renewal fee: $550
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 3 done
- 3 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $550
-
Create an account on CPSA's Online Application Tracking System, which is the platform all physician assistant applications must go through.
Source
“Create an account on CPSA’s Online Application Tracking System (OATS) All PA applications must be submitted through this platform (includes steps 2 & 3).”
cpsa.ca/physicians/registration/apply-to-practise/physician-assistant -
Submit a qualifications review so CPSA can confirm you meet the eligibility requirements and issue an Eligibility Letter.
Source
“Submit a qualifications review CPSA will confirm if you meet eligibility requirements and send an Eligibility Letter.”
cpsa.ca/physicians/registration/apply-to-practise/physician-assistant -
Complete the full application, which includes documentation, fees, orientation, and a CPSA practice permit.
Source
“Complete the full application Includes documentation, fees, orientation, and a CPSA practice permit.”
cpsa.ca/physicians/registration/apply-to-practise/physician-assistant
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with CPSA
3 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.
- Practice Permit annual renewal fee: $550
Source
“Practice Permit annual renewal fee $550”
cpsa.ca/physicians/registration/apply-to-practise/physician-assistant
Other listed fees
The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.
- Registration fee: $400
Requirements
Education
You need two years of physician assistant training that leads to a degree in physician assistant studies.
Source
“Two (2) years of physician assistant training that leads to a degree in physician assistant studies.”
cpsa.ca/physicians/registration/apply-to-practise/physician-assistant
Experience
You need at least one year of recent practice as a physician assistant or physician assistant training within the last three years.
Source
“At least 1 year of recent practice as a physician assistant or physician assistant training (within the last 3 years).”
cpsa.ca/physicians/registration/apply-to-practise/physician-assistant
Insurance
Registered physician assistants must hold liability insurance.
Source
“PAs practise under physician supervision and, like our physician members, pay annual fees, hold liability insurance and follow CPSA’s Standards of Practice.”
cpsa.ca/physicians/registration/apply-to-practise/physician-assistant
Other
You must be certified as a physician assistant by the Canadian Association of Physician Assistants or the National Commission on Certification of Physician Assistants in the United States.
Source
“Certification as a physician assistant by the Canadian Association of Physician Assistants (CAPA) or the National Commission on Certification of Physician Assistants in the United States of America (NCCPA).”
cpsa.ca/physicians/registration/apply-to-practise/physician-assistantYou must provide acceptable proof of English language proficiency.
Source
“Must provide acceptable proof of English language proficiency.”
cpsa.ca/physicians/registration/apply-to-practise/physician-assistantYou must apply for registration within three years of completing the training and certification requirements.
Source
“You must apply for registration within 3 years of completing both requirements.”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/physician-assistant
Already licensed in another province?
Not stated
The page says physician assistants registered and in good standing with a regulatory body elsewhere in Canada may be eligible for registration in Alberta, but does not state whether they can register without extra assessments or exams. Source
“Physician assistants who are registered by and in good standing with a regulatory body elsewhere in Canada may be eligible for registration in Alberta.”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/physician-assistant
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with CPSA
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with CPSA
Exams
Not stated by the regulator Check with CPSA
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with CPSA
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with CPSA
Supervised practice
Not stated by the regulator Check with CPSA
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alberta | $24.97 | $38.28 | $53.71 | Good (4 of 5) |
| Canada | $24.09 | $46.81 | $60.26 | — |
Physician assistants in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Not confirmed yet
- Saskatchewan Not confirmed yet
- Manitoba Licence required
- Ontario Not confirmed yet
- Quebec Not confirmed yet
- New Brunswick Licence required
- Nova Scotia Licence required
- Prince Edward Island Not confirmed yet
- Newfoundland and Labrador Not confirmed yet
- Yukon Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories Not confirmed yet
- Nunavut Not confirmed yet
Sources checked
- Physician Assistant: Certifications in Alberta - alis alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/physician-assistant · fetched October 10, 2026
- Apply for Physician Assistant Registration - College of Physicians & Surgeons of Alberta | CPSA cpsa.ca/physicians/registration/apply-to-practise/physician-assistant · fetched October 10, 2026
Frequently asked questions
1
Do you need a licence to work as a physician assistant in Alberta?
Yes. Registration with the College of Physicians and Surgeons of Alberta is required to practise in Alberta, and to use the title physician assistant.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.