How to Become a Registered Psychiatric Nurse in Alberta
Do you need a licence?
Licence required
You must be registered with the College of Registered Psychiatric Nurses of Alberta to work as a registered psychiatric nurse in Alberta or to use a protected title.
- Protected titles
- Not listed in the sources checked
Show the source
“Under Alberta’s Health Professions Act [pdf], Health Professions Restricted Activity Regulation [pdf], and Registered Psychiatric Nurses Profession Regulation [pdf], registration with the College of Registered Psychiatric Nurses of Alberta (CRPNA) is mandatory.”
From alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/nurse-psychiatric, checked October 10, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Licence required See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 3 steps, listed one-time fees $25 (1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total)
- Licensed in another province: 1 step
- Trained outside Canada: 8 steps, listed one-time fees $325 (2 fees depend on your situation and are not in the total)
- Annual fees
-
- Registration Permit - Practicing or Provisional (May 1 - April 30): $575
- Registration Permit - Practicing or Provisional (November 1 - Apr 30, pro-rated): $287.50 (November 1 - Apr 30 (pro-rated))
Source
“Registration Permit - Practicing or Provisional (November 1 - Apr 30 (pro-rated)) 287.50”
crpna.ab.ca/fees - Annual Renewal - Practicing: $575 (Active registrant with the RPN designation authorized to practice)
Source
“Practicing - Active registrant with the RPN designation authorized to practice 575.00”
crpna.ab.ca/fees - Annual Renewal - Non Practicing: $75 (Registrant who has left the practice temporarily expecting to return)
Source
“Non Practicing - Registrant who has left the practice temporarily expecting to return 75.00”
crpna.ab.ca/fees - Annual Renewal - Retired: $25 (Registrant who is retiring from the profession)
- Late Fee: $150 (applied May 1)
- Suspension Fee: $300
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 3 done
- Listed one-time fees: $25
- 1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total
- 2 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $875
-
You can apply for a provisional permit before finishing your approved psychiatric nursing program, which lets you practise while waiting to write the RPNC exam.
Source
“Applications for a Provisional Permit can be made prior to program completion. A Provisional Permit is time-limited, and allows new graduates who have completed an approved psychiatric nursing program to practice while they are waiting to write the Registered Psychiatric Nurses of Canada (RPNC) Examination.”
crpna.ab.ca/applicants/new-grads -
You must get professional liability protection through the Canadian Nurses Protective Society.
Source
“An applicant must obtain professional liability protection (PLP) through the Canadian Nurses Protective Society (CNPS).”
crpna.ab.ca/applicants/new-grads -
You must be eligible to sit the next RPNC exam or have already passed it, and once you pass, you are automatically placed on the RPN Register.
- Application For Eligiblity to Write RPNC Exam: $25
- Registered Psychiatric Nurses of Canada Examination (RPNCE): $695 (Paid to Meazure Learning)
Source
“Registered Psychiatric Nurses of Canada Examination (RPNCE) - Paid to Meazure Learning 695.00 + Taxes”
crpna.ab.ca/fees
Source
“An applicant must be eligible to sit the next Registered Psychiatric Nurses of Canada Examination (RPNC Exam) or have successfully completed RPNC Exam prior to application for registration.”
crpna.ab.ca/applicants/new-grads
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $25
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Application | $25 | 100% |
| One-time total | $25 | 100% |
1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total.
2 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees: $875 a year Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total. 5 fees depend on your situation and are not in the total.
- Registration Permit - Practicing or Provisional (May 1 - April 30): $575
- Registration Permit - Practicing or Provisional (November 1 - Apr 30, pro-rated): $287.50 (November 1 - Apr 30 (pro-rated))
Source
“Registration Permit - Practicing or Provisional (November 1 - Apr 30 (pro-rated)) 287.50”
crpna.ab.ca/fees - Annual Renewal - Practicing: $575 (Active registrant with the RPN designation authorized to practice)
Source
“Practicing - Active registrant with the RPN designation authorized to practice 575.00”
crpna.ab.ca/fees - Annual Renewal - Non Practicing: $75 (Registrant who has left the practice temporarily expecting to return)
Source
“Non Practicing - Registrant who has left the practice temporarily expecting to return 75.00”
crpna.ab.ca/fees - Annual Renewal - Retired: $25 (Registrant who is retiring from the profession)
- Late Fee: $150 (applied May 1)
- Suspension Fee: $300
Licensed in another province
0 of 1 done
- 1 step without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $875
-
If you are already registered as a psychiatric nurse in another Canadian jurisdiction, you apply to CRPNA and your application is processed under the equivalent jurisdiction pathway.
Source
“This pathway is for applicants who are already registered as a psychiatric nurse in another Canadian jurisdiction. Applications will be processed under the equivalent jurisdiction pathway.”
crpna.ab.ca/applicants
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with College of Registered Psychiatric Nurses of Alberta
1 step without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees: $875 a year Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total. 5 fees depend on your situation and are not in the total.
- Registration Permit - Practicing or Provisional (May 1 - April 30): $575
- Registration Permit - Practicing or Provisional (November 1 - Apr 30, pro-rated): $287.50 (November 1 - Apr 30 (pro-rated))
Source
“Registration Permit - Practicing or Provisional (November 1 - Apr 30 (pro-rated)) 287.50”
crpna.ab.ca/fees - Annual Renewal - Practicing: $575 (Active registrant with the RPN designation authorized to practice)
Source
“Practicing - Active registrant with the RPN designation authorized to practice 575.00”
crpna.ab.ca/fees - Annual Renewal - Non Practicing: $75 (Registrant who has left the practice temporarily expecting to return)
Source
“Non Practicing - Registrant who has left the practice temporarily expecting to return 75.00”
crpna.ab.ca/fees - Annual Renewal - Retired: $25 (Registrant who is retiring from the profession)
- Late Fee: $150 (applied May 1)
- Suspension Fee: $300
Trained outside Canada
0 of 8 done
- Listed one-time fees: $325
- 2 fees depend on your situation and are not in the total
- 4 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $875
-
You create an online account with the NNAS application portal and agree to the terms and conditions.
Source
“An application requires you to create an online account with the NNAS application portal. There are five steps to an NNAS application:”
nnas.ca/application-process-timeline -
You fill in your personal, work and education information in the NNAS portal and pay the application fee.
- Main Application (RPN Pathway): $845 (for one profession and one regulator)
Source
“Once your account is set up, you’ll be asked to provide information in our portal. This includes information like your name and address, work history, education and more.”
nnas.ca/application-process-timeline -
After your payment is verified, you download forms and submit the required documents, most of which must be sent to NNAS by third parties.
Source
“After your payment has been verified, you will gain access to the document submission screens. Here, you will be able to download forms and submit certain documents to NNAS.”
nnas.ca/application-process-timeline -
You monitor your application status and receive the NNAS Advisory Report, which is issued within 12 weeks once all documents are received.
Source
“Once all documents are received, your Advisory Report will be issued in 12 weeks provided no further clarification is needed.”
nnas.ca/application-process-timeline -
You must complete a credential assessment through a CRPNA approved pathway and receive a Credential Assessment Letter confirming substantial equivalence.
- NNAS Report Review: $300
Source
“Internationally Educated Psychiatric Nurses wanting to practice in Alberta must first complete a credential assessment via one of the two CRPNA approved pathways. Once a candidate has received a Credential Assessment Letter confirming substantial equivalence, they may apply to register for the RPNC Exam”
crpna.ab.ca/applicants/iepn-credential-pathway-choice/iepn-credenti... -
With your Credential Assessment Letter, you apply for eligibility to write the RPNC Exam.
- Application For Eligiblity to Write RPNC Exam: $25
Source
“I HAVE a CRPNA username and password, a Credential Assessment Letter, and I am eligible to submit my application for Eligibility to Write the RPNC Exam.”
crpna.ab.ca/applicants/iepn-credential-pathway-choice/iepn-credenti... -
If you meet the registration requirements, you apply to CRPNA for a time-limited provisional permit to practise while awaiting the exam result.
Source
“if they meet the registration requirements, they may apply to CRPNA for a provisional permit. A provisional permit is a time-limited permit to practice while awaiting successful completion of the RPNC Exam”
crpna.ab.ca/applicants/iepn-credential-pathway-choice/iepn-credenti... -
You must successfully complete the RPNC Exam, after which you are automatically placed on the Registered Psychiatric Nurse (RPN) Register.
- Registered Psychiatric Nurses of Canada Examination (RPNCE): $695 (Paid to Meazure Learning)
Source
“Registered Psychiatric Nurses of Canada Examination (RPNCE) - Paid to Meazure Learning 695.00 + Taxes”
crpna.ab.ca/fees
Source
“An applicant must successfully complete the Registered Psychiatric Nurses of Canada Examination (RPNC Exam) or be registered to sit the next examination.”
crpna.ab.ca/applicants/iepn-credential-pathway-choice/iepn-credenti... - Registered Psychiatric Nurses of Canada Examination (RPNCE): $695 (Paid to Meazure Learning)
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $325
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Application | $25 | 8% |
| Assessment | $300 | 92% |
| One-time total | $325 | 100% |
2 fees depend on your situation and are not in the total.
4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees: $875 a year Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total. 5 fees depend on your situation and are not in the total.
- Registration Permit - Practicing or Provisional (May 1 - April 30): $575
- Registration Permit - Practicing or Provisional (November 1 - Apr 30, pro-rated): $287.50 (November 1 - Apr 30 (pro-rated))
Source
“Registration Permit - Practicing or Provisional (November 1 - Apr 30 (pro-rated)) 287.50”
crpna.ab.ca/fees - Annual Renewal - Practicing: $575 (Active registrant with the RPN designation authorized to practice)
Source
“Practicing - Active registrant with the RPN designation authorized to practice 575.00”
crpna.ab.ca/fees - Annual Renewal - Non Practicing: $75 (Registrant who has left the practice temporarily expecting to return)
Source
“Non Practicing - Registrant who has left the practice temporarily expecting to return 75.00”
crpna.ab.ca/fees - Annual Renewal - Retired: $25 (Registrant who is retiring from the profession)
- Late Fee: $150 (applied May 1)
- Suspension Fee: $300
Other listed fees
The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.
- Administrative Processing: $100
- Inspire Report Review: $300
- IEPN Expedited Credential Assessment: $525
- Reassessment of Education Credentials: $150
- Administration Fee to Re-open File: $100
- Additional regulator, same profession (RPN Pathway): $70
- Additional regulator, different profession (RPN Pathway): $285
- Reactivation of expired application (RPN Pathway): $180
Source
“Reactivation of expired application | $240 CAD<br>($175 USD)* | $180 USD<br>($25 CAD)*”
nnas.ca/fees - NNAS document translation (per page): $110 (per page)
Source
“NNAS document translation (per page) | $115 CAD<br>($80 USD)* | $85 USD<br>($110 CAD)*”
nnas.ca/fees - Appeals (RPN Pathway): $650
Requirements
Education
You must have successfully completed an approved program of studies within the last 4 years.
Source
“An approved program of studies within the last 4 years”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/nurse-psychiatricIf you have been out of practice, you may need to complete an approved psychiatric nursing refresher education program within the past 3 years.
Source
“An approved psychiatric nursing refresher education program within the past 3 years”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/nurse-psychiatric
Experience
You must have at least 1,400 hours of acceptable work experience in the past 5 years.
Source
“At least 1,400 hours of acceptable work experience in the past 5 years”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/nurse-psychiatric
Police check
You must provide proof that you requested a criminal record check from the correct authorities or proof of employment in psychiatric nursing in a prior country.
Source
“proof that they requested a criminal record check from the correct authorities and a letter explaining all the efforts they have taken to get one; or proof of employment in psychiatric nursing in a prior country”
crpna.ab.ca/applicants/canadian-rpn
Insurance
All registered psychiatric nurses must hold professional liability protection through the Canadian Nurses Protective Society.
Source
“The CRPNA Council has approved an amendment to Bylaw 7.4, making professional liability protection through the Canadian Nurses Protective Society (CNPS) mandatory for all CRPNA registrants.”
crpna.ab.ca/applicants/iepn-credential-pathway-choice/iepn-credenti...
Other
You must be a Canadian citizen or lawfully permitted to work in Canada.
Source
“Applicant must be a Canadian citizen or they must be lawfully permitted to work in Canada.”
crpna.ab.ca/applicants/iepn-credential-pathway-choice/iepn-credenti...All applicants must participate in the Continuing Competence Program and show completion of the Protecting Patients from Sexual Abuse and Sexual Misconduct modules.
Source
“All applicants must participate in the Continuing Competence Program (CCP).”
crpna.ab.ca/applicants/canadian-rpnYou must establish that you meet the English proficiency criteria established by the council.
Source
“applicants for registration in the registered psychiatric nurse membership class must establish that they meet the English proficiency criteria established by the council.”
crpna.ab.ca/applicants/english-language-test-requirements
Already licensed in another province?
Not stated
The pages state that applicants already registered in another Canadian jurisdiction are processed under the equivalent jurisdiction pathway, but do not explicitly say whether they can register without retaking the entry-to-practice exam or a competence assessment. Source
“This pathway is for applicants who are already registered as a psychiatric nurse in another Canadian jurisdiction. Applications will be processed under the equivalent jurisdiction pathway.”
crpna.ab.ca/applicants
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with College of Registered Psychiatric Nurses of Alberta
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with College of Registered Psychiatric Nurses of Alberta
Exams
-
Registered Psychiatric Nurses of Canada Examination (RPNC Exam)
Source
“An applicant must successfully complete the Registered Psychiatric Nurses of Canada Examination (RPNC Exam) or be registered to sit the next examination.”
crpna.ab.ca/applicants/iepn-credential-pathway-choice/iepn-credenti...
Language tests
No minimum test score stated by the regulator Check with College of Registered Psychiatric Nurses of Alberta
Exemptions: The language proficiency requirement can be met through education, practice experience, registration in another Canadian jurisdiction, or language testing. Source
“The language proficiency requirement is not exemptible although it can be met in one of four ways:”
crpna.ab.ca/applicants/english-language-test-requirements
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with College of Registered Psychiatric Nurses of Alberta
Supervised practice
Not stated by the regulator Check with College of Registered Psychiatric Nurses of Alberta
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alberta | $30.00 | $47.50 | $54.49 | Good (4 of 5) |
| Canada | $30.00 | $43.27 | $54.37 | — |
Registered psychiatric nurses in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Licence required
- Saskatchewan Licence required
- Manitoba Licence required
- Ontario Not confirmed yet
- Quebec Not confirmed yet
- New Brunswick Not confirmed yet
- Nova Scotia Not confirmed yet
- Prince Edward Island Not confirmed yet
- Newfoundland and Labrador Not confirmed yet
- Yukon Licence required
- Northwest Territories Not confirmed yet
- Nunavut Not confirmed yet
Compare registered psychiatric nurse licensing across Canada
Sources checked
- Nurse - Psychiatric: Certifications in Alberta - alis alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/nurse-psychiatric · fetched October 10, 2026
- Applicants - CRPNA crpna.ab.ca/applicants · fetched October 10, 2026
- New Grads - CRPNA crpna.ab.ca/applicants/new-grads · fetched October 10, 2026
- Fees - CRPNA crpna.ab.ca/fees · fetched October 10, 2026
- Application Process & Timeline - National Nursing Assessment Service nnas.ca/application-process-timeline · fetched October 9, 2026
- Fees - National Nursing Assessment Service nnas.ca/fees · fetched October 10, 2026
- IEPN Registration - CRPNA crpna.ab.ca/applicants/iepn-credential-pathway-choice/iepn-credenti... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Canadian RPN - CRPNA crpna.ab.ca/applicants/canadian-rpn · fetched October 10, 2026
- English Language Test Requirements - CRPNA crpna.ab.ca/applicants/english-language-test-requirements · fetched October 10, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as a registered psychiatric nurse in Alberta?
Yes. Registration with the College of Registered Psychiatric Nurses of Alberta is required to practise in Alberta.
Which exams are required?
Registered Psychiatric Nurses of Canada Examination (RPNC Exam).
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.