At a glance

Licence status
Voluntary certification See the source
Routes
Annual fees
Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

Your roadmap

Licensed in another province

  • 1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total
  • 5 steps without a listed fee
  • Listed time: 18.9 to 19.4 months (only 2 of 6 steps state a time)
  1. Begin your application online, which requires an Alberta.ca Account and an Alberta Student Number.

    Source
    “Begin your application by clicking Apply Now here. - You will need a basic Alberta.ca Account and an Alberta Student Number to begin your application.”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/become-certified/trades-qualifier-programs/...
  2. Upload a clear copy of your trade certificate, having any documents in another language translated into English by a recognized translator.

    Source
    “Upload and attach a clear copy of your trade certificate to your application. - Documents written in a language other than English must be translated into English by a member of a recognized translator association.”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/become-certified/trades-qualifier-programs/...
  3. Pay the non-refundable application fee of $150 CAD.

    Source
    “Pay the non-refundable $150 (CAD) application fee.”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/become-certified/trades-qualifier-programs/...
  4. The regulator reviews your application and verifies your trade certificate with the issuing jurisdiction, which takes about 4 to 6 weeks.

    Time: 4 to 6 weeks
    Time source
    “Processing time is approximately 4 to 6 weeks.”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/become-certified/trades-qualifier-programs/...
    Source
    “We review your application and verify your trade certificate with the issuing jurisdiction. - The status of your application indicates ‘assessment.’ - Processing time is approximately 4 to 6 weeks.”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/become-certified/trades-qualifier-programs/...
  5. Attend the exam you are notified of through your MyTradesecrets profile after your application is approved.

    Source
    “You will be notified of the date, time, and location of your exam(s) through your MyTradesecrets profile after your application is approved (Step 3).”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/become-certified/trades-qualifier-programs/...
  6. If you complete all program requirements within 18 months, your journeyperson certificate and wallet card are mailed to you.

    Time: 18 months
    Time source
    “If you complete all Trades Qualifier – Recognized Credential program requirements within 18 months, your journeyperson certificate and wallet card is mailed to you.”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/become-certified/trades-qualifier-programs/...
    Source
    “If you complete all Trades Qualifier – Recognized Credential program requirements within 18 months, your journeyperson certificate and wallet card is mailed to you.”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/become-certified/trades-qualifier-programs/...

Listed fees for this route

1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total.

5 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Trained outside Canada

  • 1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total
  • 5 steps without a listed fee
  • Listed time: 18.9 to 19.4 months (only 2 of 6 steps state a time)
  1. Begin your application online, which requires an Alberta.ca Account and an Alberta Student Number.

    Source
    “Begin your application by clicking Apply Now here. - You will need a basic Alberta.ca Account and an Alberta Student Number to begin your application.”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/become-certified/trades-qualifier-programs/...
  2. Upload a clear copy of your trade certificate, having any documents in another language translated into English by a recognized translator.

    Source
    “Upload and attach a clear copy of your trade certificate to your application. - Documents written in a language other than English must be translated into English by a member of a recognized translator association.”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/become-certified/trades-qualifier-programs/...
  3. Pay the non-refundable application fee of $150 CAD.

    Source
    “Pay the non-refundable $150 (CAD) application fee.”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/become-certified/trades-qualifier-programs/...
  4. The regulator reviews your application and verifies your trade certificate with the issuing jurisdiction, which may take longer if your credential is from outside Canada.

    Time: 4 to 6 weeks
    Time source
    “Processing time is approximately 4 to 6 weeks.”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/become-certified/trades-qualifier-programs/...
    Source
    “We review your application and verify your trade certificate with the issuing jurisdiction. - The status of your application indicates ‘assessment.’ - Processing time is approximately 4 to 6 weeks. - If your recognized credential is from outside Canada, it may take longer.”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/become-certified/trades-qualifier-programs/...
  5. Attend the exam you are notified of through your MyTradesecrets profile after your application is approved.

    Source
    “You will be notified of the date, time, and location of your exam(s) through your MyTradesecrets profile after your application is approved (Step 3).”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/become-certified/trades-qualifier-programs/...
  6. If you complete all program requirements within 18 months, your journeyperson certificate and wallet card are mailed to you.

    Time: 18 months
    Time source
    “If you complete all Trades Qualifier – Recognized Credential program requirements within 18 months, your journeyperson certificate and wallet card is mailed to you.”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/become-certified/trades-qualifier-programs/...
    Source
    “If you complete all Trades Qualifier – Recognized Credential program requirements within 18 months, your journeyperson certificate and wallet card is mailed to you.”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/become-certified/trades-qualifier-programs/...

Listed fees for this route

1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total.

5 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Requirements

Education

  • You need either a recognized credential similar to the Steel Detailer trade indicating the level from another jurisdiction, or a Registrar letter from the National Institute of Steel Detailing indicating the level.

    Source
    “A recognized credential similar to the Steel Detailer trade, indicating the level, issued from another jurisdiction, OR”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/204
  • Alternatively, you can qualify with a Registrar letter from the National Institute of Steel Detailing indicating the level.

    Source
    “Registrar letter from the National Institute of Steel Detailing (NSID), indicating the level.”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/204

Already licensed in another province?

Extra steps

Steel detailers certified elsewhere in Canada may be eligible for Alberta certification through a recognized credential, but all trades require a theory exam as part of the Trades Qualifier process.

Source
“Steel detailers with legislated certification in good standing elsewhere in Canada may be eligible for certification in Alberta.”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/steel-detailer

Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

Check a move between two provinces

Credential assessment

Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

Exams

Language tests

Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

Compare scores across provinces and professions

Canadian experience

Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

Supervised practice

Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

Demand and pay

No Job Bank wage or outlook data for this occupation yet.

Steel detailers in other provinces and territories

  • British Columbia Not confirmed yet
  • Saskatchewan Not confirmed yet
  • Manitoba Not confirmed yet
  • Ontario Not confirmed yet
  • Quebec Not confirmed yet
  • New Brunswick Not confirmed yet
  • Nova Scotia Not confirmed yet
  • Prince Edward Island Not confirmed yet
  • Newfoundland and Labrador Not confirmed yet
  • Yukon Not confirmed yet
  • Northwest Territories Not confirmed yet
  • Nunavut Not confirmed yet

Compare steel detailer licensing across Canada

Sources checked

  1. Steel Detailer: Certifications in Alberta - alis alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/steel-detailer · fetched October 8, 2026
  2. Tradesecrets - Steel Detailer - Levels 1,2,3 tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/204 · fetched October 10, 2026
  3. Tradesecrets - Trades Qualifier- Recognized Credential Program Details tradesecrets.alberta.ca/become-certified/trades-qualifier-programs/... · fetched October 9, 2026

Frequently asked questions

2

Do you need a licence to work as a steel detailer in Alberta?

No. Certification is available, but it is not required to work in the trade in Alberta. Certification is managed by Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training.

Which exams are required?

theory exam, practical exam.

Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too

Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.

Schedule a Call

Free consultation. No commitment.