At a glance

Licence status
Certification required See the source
Routes
Annual fees
Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

Your roadmap

Trained in Canada

  • 3 steps without a listed fee
  1. If you are new to the trade, you register as an apprentice to begin learning and working toward your Journeyperson Certificate.

    Source
    “If you are new to the trade, register as an apprentice to begin learning and working toward your Journeyperson Certificate.”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/about-designated-trades
  2. You complete the 2-period apprenticeship education program, writing a theory exam to complete each period.

    Source
    “2-Period Apprenticeship Program”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/03410
  3. After completing your apprenticeship you may take the Red Seal Exam, which is an option in the final period.

    Source
    “You may take the Red Seal Exam upon the completion of your apprenticeship in this trade.”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/03410

Listed fees for this route

No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

3 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Licensed in another province

  • Listed one-time fees: $310
  • 1 step without a listed fee
  1. You submit a copy of a recognized trade certificate from outside Alberta.

    Source
    “Submit a copy of a recognized trade certificate from outside Alberta.”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/03410
  2. You pass a practical exam costing $310.00, and candidates must provide their own certified crane for the assessment.

    Source
    “Pass a practical exam ($310.00). - Candidates must provide their own certified crane for the assessment. Assessors will travel to the Alberta site indicated by the client.”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/03410

Listed fees for this route

One-time total listed: $310

One-time fees listed for Licensed in another province, by type
Fee typeAmountShare
Exams $310 100%
One-time total $310 100%

1 step without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Trained outside Canada

No separate route for this group.

Source
“If you hold a recognized trade certificate from outside of Alberta, you are authorized to work in the full scope of the trade in Alberta.”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/03410

Other listed fees

The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.

Requirements

Education

Experience

  • Applicants to the Work Experience Program must complete 36 months and 4230 hours of verifiable Crane and Hoisting Equipment Operator - Tower Crane work experience.

    Source
    “Complete 36 months and 4230 hours of verifiable Crane and Hoisting Equipment Operator - Tower Crane work experience.”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/03410

Other

Already licensed in another province?

Extra steps

Someone with a recognized trade certificate from outside Alberta must submit the certificate and pass both a theory exam and a practical exam to qualify for an Alberta Journeyperson Certificate.

Source
“1. Submit a copy of a recognized trade certificate from outside Alberta. 2. Pass a theory exam. 3. Pass a practical exam ($310.00).”
tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/03410

  1. Submit recognized trade certificate

    Source
    “Submit a copy of a recognized trade certificate from outside Alberta.”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/03410
  2. Pass a practical exam

    Source
    “Pass a practical exam ($310.00).”
    tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/03410

Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

Check a move between two provinces

Credential assessment

Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

Exams

Language tests

Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

Compare scores across provinces and professions

Canadian experience

Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

Supervised practice

Not stated by the regulator Check with Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training

Demand and pay

Job Bank wages and outlook in Alberta and Canada
WhereLowMedianHighOutlook
Alberta $29.70 $45.00 $51.68 Limited (2 of 5)
Canada $26.50 $42.77 $52.19 —

Wages by region and job outlook in Alberta

Wages in every province and territory

Tower crane operators in other provinces and territories

Compare tower crane operator licensing across Canada

Sources checked

  1. Tradesecrets - Crane and Hoisting Equipment Operator - Tower Crane tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/profiles/03410 · fetched October 10, 2026
  2. Tradesecrets - About Designated Trades tradesecrets.alberta.ca/trades-in-alberta/about-designated-trades · fetched October 9, 2026
  3. Tradesecrets - Meet Requirements tradesecrets.alberta.ca/get-started/become-an-apprentice/eligibilit... · fetched October 9, 2026
  4. Tradesecrets - Trades with Practical Exams and Fees tradesecrets.alberta.ca/become-certified/trades-qualifier-programs/... · fetched October 9, 2026

Frequently asked questions

2

Do you need a licence to work as a tower crane operator in Alberta?

Yes. Certification, or registration as an apprentice, is required to work in the trade in Alberta. Certification is managed by Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training.

Which exams are required?

Theory exam, Practical exam, Red Seal exam, Entrance exam.

Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too

Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.

Schedule a Call

Free consultation. No commitment.