How to Become an Applied Biologist in British Columbia
Do you need a licence?
Licence required
You must be registered with the College of Applied Biology to work as an applied biologist in British Columbia or to use a protected title.
- Protected titles
- Not listed in the sources checked
Show the source
“They must work under the supervision of an RPBio or RBTech when performing the reserved practice of applied biology.”
From cab-bc.org/applicant-self-assessment-tool-general-information/appli..., checked October 10, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Licence required See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 4 steps
- Licensed in another province: 4 steps
- Trained outside Canada: 4 steps
- Annual fees
- Not stated by the regulator Check with College of Applied Biology
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 4 done
- 4 steps without a listed fee
-
Applicants must first submit their application to the College before requesting transcripts.
Source
“Applicants must request transcripts *after* they have submitted the application to the College.”
cab-bc.org/registration/apply-to-register -
Applicants order official transcripts from all institutions with courses listed in their application, and the institution must send them directly to the College.
Source
“The institution that granted the credential must send the official transcript directly to the College. This can be done *either* electronically (by email or through service providers, such as MyCreds or Parchment) *or* by mail.”
cab-bc.org/registration/apply-to-register -
Applicants must complete the College's online mandatory training courses before receiving registration.
Source
“All applicants for registration regardless of application stream (e.g., labour mobility) must pay the application fee, complete the College’s online mandatory training courses and pay annual registration dues prior to receiving registration with the College.”
cab-bc.org/registration/apply-to-register -
Applicants pay annual registration dues before receiving registration with the College.
Source
“All applicants for registration regardless of application stream (e.g., labour mobility) must pay the application fee, complete the College’s online mandatory training courses and pay annual registration dues prior to receiving registration with the College.”
cab-bc.org/registration/apply-to-register
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with College of Applied Biology
4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Licensed in another province
0 of 4 done
- 4 steps without a listed fee
-
The applicant goes to the College's online portal to start their application.
Source
“1. Go to https://portal.cab-bc.org/applicants/start to start your application/”
cab-bc.org/registration/apply-to-register -
The applicant selects the Labour Mobility application stream and completes the required steps.
Source
“2. Select the Labour Mobility application stream and complete the required steps; and”
cab-bc.org/registration/apply-to-register -
The applicant pays the application fee.
-
The applicant completes the College's online mandatory training courses and pays annual registration dues before receiving registration.
Source
“All applicants for registration regardless of application stream (e.g., labour mobility) must pay the application fee, complete the College’s online mandatory training courses and pay annual registration dues prior to receiving registration with the College.”
cab-bc.org/registration/apply-to-register
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with College of Applied Biology
4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Trained outside Canada
0 of 4 done
- 4 steps without a listed fee
-
Applicants educated outside Canada and the United States must obtain a course-by-course education credential assessment report in English from an accepted credentialing service.
Source
“- A *course-by-course* education/training credential assessment report in English from a credentialing service.”
cab-bc.org/registration/apply-to-register -
The credentialing service must receive official transcripts directly from the issuing educational institution and must send its assessment report directly to the College.
Source
“- The credentialing service must receive official transcripts directly from the issuing educational institution.”
cab-bc.org/registration/apply-to-register -
Applicants submit their application to the College before requesting transcripts, as with domestic applicants.
Source
“Applicants must request transcripts *after* they have submitted the application to the College.”
cab-bc.org/registration/apply-to-register -
The applicant pays the application fee, completes the College's online mandatory training courses and pays annual registration dues before receiving registration.
Source
“All applicants for registration regardless of application stream (e.g., labour mobility) must pay the application fee, complete the College’s online mandatory training courses and pay annual registration dues prior to receiving registration with the College.”
cab-bc.org/registration/apply-to-register
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with College of Applied Biology
4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Requirements
Education
RBTech applicants must have completed courses in communications, math or statistics, and field or laboratory techniques.
Source
“RBTech applicants must have completed the following courses: Communications: Have you completed a communications course? Examples include English composition, technical writing, scientific writing. Yes No Math or Statistics: Have you completed a math or statistics course?”
cab-bc.org/applicant-self-assessment-tool-general-information/appli...For applicants educated outside Canada and the United States, the College requires a course-by-course education/training credential assessment report in English from a credentialing service.
Source
“For applicants educated outside of Canada and the United States, the College requires: - A *course-by-course* education/training credential assessment report in English from a credentialing service.”
cab-bc.org/registration/apply-to-register
Experience
Experience must have been obtained in the 10 years prior to application and may be either volunteer or work experience.
Source
“- Must have been obtained in the 10 years prior to application - May be either volunteer or work experience”
cab-bc.org/the-college-has-updated-its-experience-requirements-for-...Applicants in categories requiring a degree or diploma may include up to one year of pre-graduation experience toward the experience requirements.
Source
“Starting December 16, 2024, applicants in registration categories that require a degree or diploma may include up to one year’s worth of experience that occurs prior to graduation towards meeting the experience requirements.”
cab-bc.org/the-college-has-updated-its-experience-requirements-for-...
Already licensed in another province?
Direct transfer
Registered biology professionals from another Canadian jurisdiction, specifically ASPB Professional Biologists, can apply for registration in the reciprocal registrant category by paying the application fee, completing mandatory training courses and paying annual dues, with no entry-to-practice exam or competence assessment mentioned. Source
“any worker fully certified for an occupation by one Authority shall be recognized as qualified to practice that occupation by the other Authority.”
cab-bc.org/registration/apply-to-register
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with College of Applied Biology
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with College of Applied Biology
Exams
Not stated by the regulator Check with College of Applied Biology
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with College of Applied Biology
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with College of Applied Biology
Supervised practice
Not stated by the regulator Check with College of Applied Biology
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| British Columbia | $28.85 | $42.00 | $60.00 | Limited (2 of 5) |
| Canada | $25.71 | $40.00 | $66.67 | — |
Applied biologists in other provinces and territories
- Alberta Not confirmed yet
- Saskatchewan Not confirmed yet
- Manitoba Not confirmed yet
- Ontario Not confirmed yet
- Quebec Not confirmed yet
- New Brunswick Not confirmed yet
- Nova Scotia Not confirmed yet
- Prince Edward Island Not confirmed yet
- Newfoundland and Labrador Not confirmed yet
- Yukon Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories Not confirmed yet
- Nunavut Not confirmed yet
Sources checked
- Registered Biology Technologist in Training Requirements | College of Applied Biologists cab-bc.org/applicant-self-assessment-tool-general-information/appli... · fetched October 9, 2026
- Apply to Register | College of Applied Biologists cab-bc.org/registration/apply-to-register · fetched October 10, 2026
- Registered Biology Technologist Requirements | College of Applied Biologists cab-bc.org/applicant-self-assessment-tool-general-information/appli... · fetched October 9, 2026
- The College has updated its experience requirements for all applicants | College of Applied Biologists cab-bc.org/the-college-has-updated-its-experience-requirements-for-... · fetched October 9, 2026
Frequently asked questions
1
Do you need a licence to work as an applied biologist in British Columbia?
Yes. Registration with the College of Applied Biology is required to practise in British Columbia.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.