At a glance

Licence status
Title protected See the source
Routes
Annual fees
  • Renewal of annual registration fee (practising and temporary registrants): $615.41 (for practising and temporary registrants)
    Source
    “Renewal of annual registration fee (practising and temporary registrants) | $ 586.10 | $ 29.31 | $ 615.41”
    asttbc.org/applicants/fees
  • Renewal of annual registration fee (each additional designation for multi-designation registrants): $131.25 (for each additional designation for multi-designation registrants)
    Source
    “Renewal of annual registration fee (each additional designation for multi-designation registrants) | $ 125.00 | $ 6.25 | $ 131.25”
    asttbc.org/applicants/fees

Your roadmap

Trained in Canada

  • Listed one-time fees: $315
  • 2 fees depend on your situation and are not in the total
  • 4 steps without a listed fee
  • Annual fees: $615.41 (for practising and temporary registrants), $131.25 (for each additional designation for multi-designation registrants)
  1. The applicant creates an online account, completes the online application and uploads all required documentation.

    Source
    “Step 1 – Create an online account and complete the online application This includes uploading all required documentation”
    asttbc.org/applicants/applied-science-technologists-certified-techn...
  2. The applicant submits the application and pays the applicable fees, which must be paid before the application is processed.

    • Application for registration: $291.05 (for all classes except ROWP and RFPT and all categories but trainee and student)
      Source
      “Application for registration (all classes except ROWP and RFPT and all categories but trainee and student) | $ 277.19 | $ 13.86 | $ 291.05”
      asttbc.org/applicants/fees
    Source
    “Step 2 – Submit application and pay applicable fees. Applications will not be processed until the non-refundable application fee is paid.”
    asttbc.org/applicants/applied-science-technologists-certified-techn...
  3. An assigned registration coordinator reviews the application to make sure it is complete.

    Source
    “Step 3 – Document Collection An ASTTBC Registration Coordinator will be assigned to the application, and they will review the application to ensure that the application is complete.”
    asttbc.org/applicants/applied-science-technologists-certified-techn...
  4. Two qualified volunteers review the application and recommend approval or denial to the credentials committee.

    Source
    “Step 4 – File review The application will be sent to two qualified individuals, who will review the application and provide a recommendation to the credentials committee to either approve or deny the application based on whether the application meets the minimum requirements for registration set out in the bylaws.”
    asttbc.org/applicants/applied-science-technologists-certified-techn...
  5. The credentials committee reviews the application and recommendations and decides whether to conditionally approve or deny it.

    Source
    “Step 5 – Decision The Credentials Committee will review the application and recommendations and render a decision with respect to the application.”
    asttbc.org/applicants/applied-science-technologists-certified-techn...
  6. A conditionally approved applicant must successfully pass the PP&E exam and any applicable certification exams.

    Source
    “Step 6 – Exams When an applicant is conditionally approved, the applicant will then be required to successfully complete the PP&E exam, and any applicable certification exams.”
    asttbc.org/applicants/applied-science-technologists-certified-techn...
  7. After passing all required exams and paying the annual fees, the applicant becomes a registrant on the public register.

    • Registration fee: $615.41 (pro-rated in the 1st year for all applicants registered with ASTTBC)
      Source
      “Registration fee is *pro-rated in the 1st year for all applicants registered with ASTTBC | $ 586.10 | $ 29.31 | $ 615.41”
      asttbc.org/applicants/fees
    Source
    “Step 7 – Complete Registration After an applicant has successfully completed all required exams, and pays their annual fees, the applicant will become a registrant and is placed on the ASTTBC public register.”
    asttbc.org/applicants/applied-science-technologists-certified-techn...

Listed fees for this route

One-time total listed: $315

One-time fees listed for Trained in Canada, by type
Fee typeAmountShare
Exams $315 100%
One-time total $315 100%

2 fees depend on your situation and are not in the total.

4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Annual fees Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.

  • Renewal of annual registration fee (practising and temporary registrants): $615.41 (for practising and temporary registrants)
    Source
    “Renewal of annual registration fee (practising and temporary registrants) | $ 586.10 | $ 29.31 | $ 615.41”
    asttbc.org/applicants/fees
  • Renewal of annual registration fee (each additional designation for multi-designation registrants): $131.25 (for each additional designation for multi-designation registrants)
    Source
    “Renewal of annual registration fee (each additional designation for multi-designation registrants) | $ 125.00 | $ 6.25 | $ 131.25”
    asttbc.org/applicants/fees

Licensed in another province

  • Listed one-time fees: $105
  • Annual fees: $615.41 (for practising and temporary registrants), $131.25 (for each additional designation for multi-designation registrants)
  1. A technologist or technician registered in another Canadian province applies for transfer of their certification under the Canada Free Trade Agreement.

    • Technology Professionals Canada Transfer Fee: $105
      Source
      “Technology Professionals Canada Transfer Fee | $100.00 | $5.00 | $105.00”
      asttbc.org/applicants/fees
    Source
    “An individual registered as a Technologist or Technician in another Canadian province may apply for transfer of their certification under the terms of the Canada Free Trade Agreement. To transfer your registration, please:”
    asttbc.org/applicants/applied-science-technologists-certified-techn...

Listed fees for this route

One-time total listed: $105

One-time fees listed for Licensed in another province, by type
Fee typeAmountShare
Other $105 100%
One-time total $105 100%

Annual fees Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.

  • Renewal of annual registration fee (practising and temporary registrants): $615.41 (for practising and temporary registrants)
    Source
    “Renewal of annual registration fee (practising and temporary registrants) | $ 586.10 | $ 29.31 | $ 615.41”
    asttbc.org/applicants/fees
  • Renewal of annual registration fee (each additional designation for multi-designation registrants): $131.25 (for each additional designation for multi-designation registrants)
    Source
    “Renewal of annual registration fee (each additional designation for multi-designation registrants) | $ 125.00 | $ 6.25 | $ 131.25”
    asttbc.org/applicants/fees

Trained outside Canada

  • Listed one-time fees: $315
  • 2 fees depend on your situation and are not in the total
  • 5 steps without a listed fee
  • Annual fees: $615.41 (for practising and temporary registrants), $131.25 (for each additional designation for multi-designation registrants)
  1. Applicants educated outside Canada have official transcripts sent to a third-party credentialling assessor and an original comprehensive assessment sent directly to ASTTBC.

    Source
    “Applicants who have completed education outside of Canada, should request the official transcripts from their academic institute to be sent directly to their third-party credentialling assessor (WES or ICES), and request an original comprehensive assessment to be sent directly to ASTTBC.”
    asttbc.org/applicants/applied-science-technologists-certified-techn...
  2. The applicant creates an online account, completes the online application and uploads all required documentation.

    Source
    “Step 1 – Create an online account and complete the online application This includes uploading all required documentation”
    asttbc.org/applicants/applied-science-technologists-certified-techn...
  3. The applicant submits the application and pays the applicable fees, which must be paid before the application is processed.

    • Application for registration: $291.05 (for all classes except ROWP and RFPT and all categories but trainee and student)
      Source
      “Application for registration (all classes except ROWP and RFPT and all categories but trainee and student) | $ 277.19 | $ 13.86 | $ 291.05”
      asttbc.org/applicants/fees
    Source
    “Step 2 – Submit application and pay applicable fees. Applications will not be processed until the non-refundable application fee is paid.”
    asttbc.org/applicants/applied-science-technologists-certified-techn...
  4. An assigned registration coordinator reviews the application to make sure it is complete.

    Source
    “Step 3 – Document Collection An ASTTBC Registration Coordinator will be assigned to the application, and they will review the application to ensure that the application is complete.”
    asttbc.org/applicants/applied-science-technologists-certified-techn...
  5. Two qualified volunteers review the application and recommend approval or denial to the credentials committee.

    Source
    “Step 4 – File review The application will be sent to two qualified individuals, who will review the application and provide a recommendation to the credentials committee to either approve or deny the application based on whether the application meets the minimum requirements for registration set out in the bylaws.”
    asttbc.org/applicants/applied-science-technologists-certified-techn...
  6. The credentials committee reviews the application and recommendations and decides whether to conditionally approve or deny it.

    Source
    “Step 5 – Decision The Credentials Committee will review the application and recommendations and render a decision with respect to the application.”
    asttbc.org/applicants/applied-science-technologists-certified-techn...
  7. A conditionally approved applicant must successfully pass the PP&E exam and any applicable certification exams.

    Source
    “Step 6 – Exams When an applicant is conditionally approved, the applicant will then be required to successfully complete the PP&E exam, and any applicable certification exams.”
    asttbc.org/applicants/applied-science-technologists-certified-techn...
  8. After passing all required exams and paying the annual fees, the applicant becomes a registrant on the public register.

    • Registration fee: $615.41 (pro-rated in the 1st year for all applicants registered with ASTTBC)
      Source
      “Registration fee is *pro-rated in the 1st year for all applicants registered with ASTTBC | $ 586.10 | $ 29.31 | $ 615.41”
      asttbc.org/applicants/fees
    Source
    “Step 7 – Complete Registration After an applicant has successfully completed all required exams, and pays their annual fees, the applicant will become a registrant and is placed on the ASTTBC public register.”
    asttbc.org/applicants/applied-science-technologists-certified-techn...

Listed fees for this route

One-time total listed: $315

One-time fees listed for Trained outside Canada, by type
Fee typeAmountShare
Exams $315 100%
One-time total $315 100%

2 fees depend on your situation and are not in the total.

5 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Annual fees Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.

  • Renewal of annual registration fee (practising and temporary registrants): $615.41 (for practising and temporary registrants)
    Source
    “Renewal of annual registration fee (practising and temporary registrants) | $ 586.10 | $ 29.31 | $ 615.41”
    asttbc.org/applicants/fees
  • Renewal of annual registration fee (each additional designation for multi-designation registrants): $131.25 (for each additional designation for multi-designation registrants)
    Source
    “Renewal of annual registration fee (each additional designation for multi-designation registrants) | $ 125.00 | $ 6.25 | $ 131.25”
    asttbc.org/applicants/fees

Other listed fees

The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.

  • Application for reclassification: $203.70
    Source
    “Application for reclassification | $ 194.00 | $ 9.70 | $ 203.70”
    asttbc.org/applicants/fees
  • Annual registration renewal late fee (after November 30 but before January 31): $100 (after November 30 but before January 31)
    Source
    “Annual registration renewal late fee (after November 30 but before January 31) | $100.00 | $0.00 | $ 100.00”
    asttbc.org/applicants/fees
  • Annual registration renewal late fee (after January 31 but before April 1): $200 (after January 31 but before April 1)
    Source
    “Annual registration renewal late fee (after January 31 but before April 1) | $200.00 | $0.00 | $ 200.00”
    asttbc.org/applicants/fees
  • AScT/CTech Black Upright Seal 40 mm (1-5/8"): $262.50
    Source
    “AScT/CTech Black Upright Seal 40 mm (1-5/8") | $250.00 | $12.50 | $262.50”
    asttbc.org/applicants/fees
  • AScT/CTech 2O Rubber Stamp 44 mm x 44 mm (1-3/4" x 1-3/4"): $105
    Source
    “AScT/CTech 2O Rubber Stamp 44 mm x 44 mm (1-3/4" x 1-3/4") | $100.00 | $5.00 | $105.00”
    asttbc.org/applicants/fees
  • AScT/CTech EOS-R40 Pre-Inked Stamp 40 mm (1-5/8"): $131.25
    Source
    “AScT/CTech EOS-R40 Pre-Inked Stamp 40 mm (1-5/8") | $125.00 | $6.25 | $131.25”
    asttbc.org/applicants/fees
  • AScT/CTech/RFPT/ROWP Digital stamp image: $63
    Source
    “AScT/CTech/RFPT/ROWP Digital stamp image | $60.00 | $3.00 | $63.00”
    asttbc.org/applicants/fees
  • Letter of Standing Fee: $52.50
    Source
    “Letter of Standing Fee | $50.00 | $2.50 | $52.50”
    asttbc.org/applicants/fees
  • Application to add an endorsement: $203.70
    Source
    “Application to add an endorsement | $ 194.00 | $9.70 | $ 203.70”
    asttbc.org/applicants/fees
  • Maximum CPD Fine under Part VI of the Bylaws: $500
    Source
    “Maximum CPD Fine under Part VI of the Bylaws | $500.00 | n/a | $500.00”
    asttbc.org/applicants/fees

Requirements

Education

  • For AScT, an applicant needs a two-year accredited diploma in applied science or engineering technology, or an equivalent, plus a certification exam.

    Source
    “for AScT, a two-year accredited diploma in applied science or engineering technology, or equivalent and certification exam;”
    asttbc.org/applicants/applied-science-technologists-certified-techn...

Experience

  • The applicant must complete 24 months (3,600 hours) of progressive, relevant work experience, of which at least 12 months (1,800 hours) must be at the technologist profile of practice or higher.

    Source
    “Work experience: Completion of 24 months (3,600 hours) progressive, relevant work experience of which a minimum of 12 months (1,800 hours) must be at the technologist and/or technician profile of practice or higher.”
    asttbc.org/applicants/applied-science-technologists-certified-techn...

Good character

Other

Already licensed in another province?

Not stated

The page says an individual registered in another Canadian province may apply for transfer of certification under the Canada Free Trade Agreement, but does not state whether extra assessments or exams are required.

Source
“An individual registered as a Technologist or Technician in another Canadian province may apply for transfer of their certification under the terms of the Canada Free Trade Agreement.”
asttbc.org/applicants/applied-science-technologists-certified-techn...

Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Applied Science Technologists and Technicians of BC

Check a move between two provinces

Credential assessment

  • WES

    third-party credentialling assessment of transcripts for applicants educated outside Canada

    Source
    “Applicants who have completed education outside of Canada, should request the official transcripts from their academic institute to be sent directly to their third-party credentialling assessor (WES or ICES), and request an original comprehensive assessment to be sent directly to ASTTBC.”
    asttbc.org/applicants/applied-science-technologists-certified-techn...
  • ICES

    third-party credentialling assessment of transcripts for applicants educated outside Canada

    Source
    “Applicants who have completed education outside of Canada, should request the official transcripts from their academic institute to be sent directly to their third-party credentialling assessor (WES or ICES), and request an original comprehensive assessment to be sent directly to ASTTBC.”
    asttbc.org/applicants/applied-science-technologists-certified-techn...

Exams

  • Professional practice and ethics (PP&E) exam

    Source
    “Professional practice and ethics (PP&E) exam Who: required for all ASTTBC registrations, except student applications”
    asttbc.org/applicants/exams
  • Fundamentals of technology exam

    Source
    “*If there is no discipline-specific certification exam available for your discipline, you will be assigned the fundamentals of technology exam.”
    asttbc.org/applicants/exams

Language tests

No minimum test score stated by the regulator Check with Applied Science Technologists and Technicians of BC

Exemptions: An applicant may demonstrate English proficiency with official transcripts showing completion of a secondary school diploma or post-secondary credential from an institution where English is the primary language of instruction.

Source
“An applicant may demonstrate their proficiency in the English language with their official transcripts which indicate completion of a secondary school diploma, or post-secondary certificate, diploma or degree from an educational institute where English is the primary language of instruction.”
asttbc.org/applicants/applied-science-technologists-certified-techn...

Compare scores across provinces and professions

Canadian experience

Not stated by the regulator Check with Applied Science Technologists and Technicians of BC

Supervised practice

Not stated by the regulator Check with Applied Science Technologists and Technicians of BC

Demand and pay

No Job Bank wage or outlook data for this occupation yet.

Applied science technologists in other provinces and territories

  • Alberta Not confirmed yet
  • Saskatchewan Not confirmed yet
  • Manitoba Not confirmed yet
  • Ontario Not confirmed yet
  • Quebec Not confirmed yet
  • New Brunswick Not confirmed yet
  • Nova Scotia Not confirmed yet
  • Prince Edward Island Not confirmed yet
  • Newfoundland and Labrador Not confirmed yet
  • Yukon Not confirmed yet
  • Northwest Territories Not confirmed yet
  • Nunavut Not confirmed yet

Compare applied science technologist licensing across Canada

Sources checked

  1. Land Surveyors Act free.bcpublications.ca/civix/document/id/complete/statreg/96248_01 · fetched October 10, 2026
  2. Applied Science Technologists & Certified Technicians - Applied Science Technologists & Technicians of British Columbia asttbc.org/applicants/applied-science-technologists-certified-techn... · fetched October 10, 2026
  3. Fees - Applied Science Technologists & Technicians of British Columbia asttbc.org/applicants/fees · fetched October 10, 2026
  4. Exams - Applied Science Technologists & Technicians of British Columbia asttbc.org/applicants/exams · fetched October 10, 2026

Frequently asked questions

2

Do you need a licence to work as an applied science technologist in British Columbia?

No. Only the title is protected in British Columbia. Registration with Applied Science Technologists and Technicians of BC is needed to use the title Applied Science Technologist.

Which exams are required?

Professional practice and ethics (PP&E) exam, Fundamentals of technology exam.

Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too

Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.

Schedule a Call

Free consultation. No commitment.