How to Become a Concrete Finisher in British Columbia
Do you need certification?
Certification is voluntary
Concrete finisher is a voluntary trade in British Columbia. You can work in the trade without a certificate.
- Protected titles
- Not listed in the sources checked
Show the source
“See matrix of all Accredited, Recognized and Designated SkilledTradesBC Trade Programs . … Concrete Finisher”
From skilledtradesbc.ca/find-your-trade, checked October 10, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Voluntary certification See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 5 steps
- Licensed in another province: 1 step
- Trained outside Canada: 6 steps, listed one-time fees $120
- Annual fees
- Not stated by the regulator Check with SkilledTradesBC
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 5 done
- 5 steps without a listed fee
-
You must have an employer or sponsor who is willing to sponsor and register you as an apprentice.
Source
“have an employer/or sponsor who is willing to sponsor and register you as an apprentice”
skilledtradesbc.ca/get-certified/newcomers-international-tradespersons -
You must meet any required registration prerequisites for your trade.
Source
“meet any required registration prerequisites for your trade”
skilledtradesbc.ca/get-certified/newcomers-international-tradespersons -
You register with SkilledTradesBC to become an apprentice.
Source
“register with SkilledTradesBC”
skilledtradesbc.ca/get-certified/newcomers-international-tradespersons -
You complete 3240 hours of work-based training over the apprenticeship.
-
You complete 12 weeks of technical training over 2 years.
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with SkilledTradesBC
5 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Licensed in another province
0 of 1 done
- 1 step without a listed fee
-
You hold a Certificate of Qualification from a trade board in Canada.
Source
“If you hold a Certificate of Qualification from a trade board in Canada, SkilledTradesBC will recognize it.”
skilledtradesbc.ca/index%2Ephp/labour-mobility
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with SkilledTradesBC
1 step without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Trained outside Canada
0 of 6 done
- Listed one-time fees: $120
- 5 steps without a listed fee
- Listed time: 26.3 to 26.8 months (only 2 of 6 steps state a time)
-
You search for your trade and review the declaration form to find the hours of work experience, percentage of job task experience and any prerequisite credentials required.
Source
“Search for your trade using Find Your Trade. Review the Employer Declaration or Statutory Declaration form (near the bottom of your trade page), where you can find the hours of work experience, percentage of job task experience and any prerequisite credentials required.”
skilledtradesbc.ca/challenge-certification-exam -
Once you have confirmed your eligibility, you create a SkilledTradesBC Portal account by selecting the option to challenge a certification exam.
Source
“Once you’ve confirmed your eligibility, create a SkilledTradesBC Portal account by selecting the option to challenge a certification exam to start your application.”
skilledtradesbc.ca/challenge-certification-exam -
You complete and submit your application through the Portal, including an Employer or Statutory Declaration for each period of work experience, with all documents in English.
Source
“Complete and submit your application by following the prompts on the Portal. ... All documents submitted must be in English. For each period of work experience listed on your application, you must submit an Employer or Statutory Declaration”
skilledtradesbc.ca/challenge-certification-exam -
You pay the $120 application fee through the Portal and submit your application and declaration forms.
- Application fee: $120
Source
“Pay the $120 application fee through the Portal and submit your application and declaration form(s).”
skilledtradesbc.ca/challenge-certification-exam
Source
“Pay the $120 application fee through the Portal and submit your application and declaration form(s).”
skilledtradesbc.ca/challenge-certification-exam - Application fee: $120
-
SkilledTradesBC reviews your application package, verifies your work experience with your employers and references, and determines whether you can challenge the certification exam; the typical processing time is approximately 10 to 12 weeks, or longer if you have work experience outside of Canada.
Time: 10 to 12 weeksTime source
“The typical processing time is approximately 10 to 12 weeks, or longer if you have work experience outside of Canada.”
skilledtradesbc.ca/challenge-certification-examSource
“SkilledTradesBC will review your application package, verify your work experience with the employer(s)/references you provide and determine whether you have the necessary experience to challenge the certification exam. The typical processing time is approximately 10 to 12 weeks, or longer if you have work experience outside of Canada.”
skilledtradesbc.ca/challenge-certification-exam -
After approval, you schedule and pass your certification exam and any practical assessments within 24 months of your application approval.
Time: 24 monthsTime source
“You can schedule and pass your certification exam and practical assessments, if applicable, within 24 months of your application approval.”
skilledtradesbc.ca/challenge-certification-examSource
“You can schedule and pass your certification exam and practical assessments, if applicable, within 24 months of your application approval.”
skilledtradesbc.ca/challenge-certification-exam
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $120
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Application | $120 | 100% |
| One-time total | $120 | 100% |
5 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Other listed fees
The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.
- Out-of-province assessment fee: $120
Source
“$120 out-of-province assessment fee. You can pay online, by mail or with a cheque (payable to SkilledTradesBC) with your application.”
skilledtradesbc.ca/canadian-and-military-certificate-holders
Requirements
Experience
You must have the required hours and scope of hands-on work experience in the trade.
Source
“You have the required hours and scope of hands-on work experience in the trade.”
skilledtradesbc.ca/challenge-certification-exam
Other
Your references must be contactable by phone to verify your work experience, or the application will be denied.
Source
“Your references will be contacted by phone to verify your work experience. If references cannot be contacted, it will result in a denied application.”
skilledtradesbc.ca/challenge-certification-examAll documents submitted with your application must be in English.
To be employed as an apprentice, you must be legally authorized to work in Canada.
Source
“To be employed as an apprentice, you must be legally authorized to work in Canada.”
skilledtradesbc.ca/get-certified/newcomers-international-tradespersons
Already licensed in another province?
Direct transfer
If you hold a Certificate of Qualification from a trade board in Canada, SkilledTradesBC will recognize it and you will not have to re-certify or get a re-issued certificate. Source
“If you hold a Certificate of Qualification from a trade board in Canada, SkilledTradesBC will recognize it. You will not have to re-certify or get a re-issued certificate.”
skilledtradesbc.ca/index%2Ephp/labour-mobility
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with SkilledTradesBC
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with SkilledTradesBC
Exams
-
Certification exam
Source
“You can schedule and pass your certification exam and practical assessments, if applicable, within 24 months of your application approval.”
skilledtradesbc.ca/challenge-certification-exam -
Practical assessment
Source
“Some trades may also require a practical assessment in addition to the certification exam.”
skilledtradesbc.ca/challenge-certification-exam -
Level 1 Standardized Level Exam
-
Interprovincial Red Seal Exam
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with SkilledTradesBC
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with SkilledTradesBC
Supervised practice
Not stated by the regulator Check with SkilledTradesBC
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| British Columbia | $26.00 | $35.00 | $43.05 | Limited (2 of 5) |
| Canada | $24.50 | $34.00 | $43.47 | — |
Concrete finishers in other provinces and territories
- Alberta Voluntary certification
- Saskatchewan Not confirmed yet
- Manitoba Voluntary certification
- Ontario Voluntary certification
- Quebec Certification required
- New Brunswick Voluntary certification
- Nova Scotia Voluntary certification
- Prince Edward Island Voluntary certification
- Newfoundland and Labrador Voluntary certification
- Yukon Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories Not confirmed yet
- Nunavut Not confirmed yet
Sources checked
- Find Your Trade | SkilledTradesBC skilledtradesbc.ca/find-your-trade · fetched October 9, 2026
- Concrete Finisher | SkilledTradesBC skilledtradesbc.ca/concrete-finisher · fetched October 10, 2026
- Newcomers and International Tradespersons | SkilledTradesBC skilledtradesbc.ca/get-certified/newcomers-international-tradespersons · fetched October 10, 2026
- Labour Mobility | SkilledTradesBC skilledtradesbc.ca/index%2Ephp/labour-mobility · fetched October 10, 2026
- Challenge a Certification Exam | SkilledTradesBC skilledtradesbc.ca/index%2Ephp/challenge-certification-exam · fetched October 10, 2026
- Challenge a Certification Exam | SkilledTradesBC skilledtradesbc.ca/challenge-certification-exam · fetched October 9, 2026
- Canadian and Military Certificate Holders | SkilledTradesBC skilledtradesbc.ca/canadian-and-military-certificate-holders · fetched October 9, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as a concrete finisher in British Columbia?
No. Certification is available, but it is not required to work in the trade in British Columbia. Certification is managed by SkilledTradesBC.
Which exams are required?
Certification exam, Practical assessment, Level 1 Standardized Level Exam, Interprovincial Red Seal Exam.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.