How to Become a Massage Therapist in British Columbia
Do you need a licence?
Licence required
You must be registered with the College of Complementary Health Professionals of BC to work as a massage therapist in British Columbia or to use a protected title.
- Protected titles
- Not listed in the sources checked
Show the source
“The College of Complementary Health Professionals of BC (CCHPBC) regulates professional chiropractors, massage therapists, naturopathic physicians, and traditional Chinese medicine practitioners and acupuncturists in the province of British Columbia to ensure they have the competencies needed to practice and that they adhere to the standards required for safe and ethical care.”
From cchpbc.ca, checked October 10, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Licence required See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 0 steps
- Licensed in another province: 0 steps
- Trained outside Canada: 0 steps
- Annual fees
-
- Practising licence renewal: $890
Source
“Practising licence: $890 (2026-2027)”
cchpbc.ca/for-professionals/registered-massage-therapists/rmt-fees - Non-practising licence renewal: $375
Source
“Non-practising licence: $375”
cchpbc.ca/for-professionals/registered-massage-therapists/rmt-fees - Late renewal: $100 (late renewal)
- Annual Renewal Fee (stage two): $1,030 (for Massage Therapists renewing March 31, 2027)
Source
“Massage Therapists | March 31, 2027 | 12 Months | Stage two | $1,030”
cchpbc.ca/the-college-of-complementary-health-professionals-is-upda... - Massage Therapists: Annual Renewal Fee (Stage One): $890
Source
“| Annual Renewal Fee | $1,600 | $890 | $2645\* | $990 |”
cchpbc.ca/the-college-of-complementary-health-professionals-is-upda... - Massage Therapists: Annual Renewal Fee (Stage Two): $1,030
Source
“| Annual Renewal Fee | $1, 650 | $1,030 | $3,200\* | $1,130 |”
cchpbc.ca/the-college-of-complementary-health-professionals-is-upda... - Massage Therapists: Renewal Fee (March 31, 2026, 12 Months, Stage one): $890
Source
“| Massage Therapists | March 31, 2026 | 12 Months | Stage one | $890 |”
cchpbc.ca/the-college-of-complementary-health-professionals-is-upda...
- Practising licence renewal: $890
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
- Annual fees: $4,075
Steps not listed by the regulator Check with CCHPBC
Licensed in another province
- Annual fees: $4,075
Steps not listed by the regulator Check with CCHPBC
Trained outside Canada
- Annual fees: $4,075
Steps not listed by the regulator Check with CCHPBC
Other listed fees
The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.
- Practising licence application: $225
Source
“Practising licence application: $225”
cchpbc.ca/for-professionals/registered-massage-therapists/rmt-fees - Reinstatement to Full licence (after three years or less): $225 (after three years or less)
Source
“Reinstatement to Full licence (after three years or less): $225”
cchpbc.ca/for-professionals/registered-massage-therapists/rmt-fees - Reinstatement to Full licence (after more than three years): $300 (after more than three years)
Source
“Reinstatement to Full licence (after more than three years): $300”
cchpbc.ca/for-professionals/registered-massage-therapists/rmt-fees - Transfer from Non-Practising to Full licence: $225 (on or before March 1, 2027)
Source
“Transfer from Non-Practising to Fulllicence on or before March 1, 2027: $225”
cchpbc.ca/for-professionals/registered-massage-therapists/rmt-fees - Equivalency Determination Fee: $300
Source
“Equivalency Determination Fee: $300”
cchpbc.ca/for-professionals/registered-massage-therapists/rmt-fees - Certificate of Standing Fee: $50
Source
“Certificate of Standing Fee: $50”
cchpbc.ca/for-professionals/registered-massage-therapists/rmt-fees - Jurisprudence exam: $372
- Full licence examination: $1,970 (each attempt)
Source
“Full licence examination – each attempt: $1,970”
cchpbc.ca/for-professionals/registered-massage-therapists/rmt-fees - Partial licence examination, online CKT portion: $490 (each attempt)
Source
“Partial licence examination, online CKT portion – each attempt: $490”
cchpbc.ca/for-professionals/registered-massage-therapists/rmt-fees - Partial licence examination, performance-based assessment: $1,040 (each attempt)
Source
“Partial licence examination, performance-based assessment – each attempt: $1,040”
cchpbc.ca/for-professionals/registered-massage-therapists/rmt-fees - Licence examination cancellation: $310 (15 days or more in advance)
Source
“Licence examination cancellation – 15 days or more in advance: $310”
cchpbc.ca/for-professionals/registered-massage-therapists/rmt-fees - Prior learning assessment application and online self-assessment: $150
Source
“Application and online-self assessment: $150”
cchpbc.ca/for-professionals/registered-massage-therapists/rmt-fees - Clinical competence assessment (online theory portion): $550
Source
“Clinical competence assessment (online theory portion): $550”
cchpbc.ca/for-professionals/registered-massage-therapists/rmt-fees - Clinical competence assessment (practical portion): $1,050
Source
“Clinical competence assessment (practical portion): $1,050”
cchpbc.ca/for-professionals/registered-massage-therapists/rmt-fees - Clinical competence assessment (online theory practice test): $50
Source
“Clinical competence assessment (online theory practice test): $50”
cchpbc.ca/for-professionals/registered-massage-therapists/rmt-fees - Change fee for clinical competence assessment: $200
Source
“Change fee for clinical competence assessment: $200”
cchpbc.ca/for-professionals/registered-massage-therapists/rmt-fees - CCHPBC offered course: $75
Source
“CCHPBC offered course: $75”
cchpbc.ca/for-professionals/registered-massage-therapists/rmt-fees - Application fee (changes in licence status): $75
- Non-practising to practising licence: $375
Source
“Non-practising to practising licence: $375”
cchpbc.ca/for-professionals/registered-massage-therapists/rmt-fees - Health profession corporation permit application: $150
- Health profession corporation permit renewal: $75
- Late permit renewal: $125 (late permit renewal)
- Annual Renewal Fee (stage one, partial period): $222.50 (for Massage Therapists renewing December 31, 2025 for a 3-month period)
Source
“Massage Therapists | December 31, 2025 | 3 Months | Stage one | $222.50”
cchpbc.ca/the-college-of-complementary-health-professionals-is-upda...
Requirements
Experience
Massage therapists must complete a minimum of 500 practice hours over three years to ensure currency of practice.
Source
“The College is satisfied that 500 hours over three years is sufficient to ensure currency of practice, while still being achievable by massage therapists working part-time or taking a break from practice”
cchpbc.ca/the-college-of-complementary-health-professionals-is-upda...
Other
Massage therapists must obtain and maintain current certification in Standard First Aid (SFA) / CPR-C in accordance with the College Bylaws.
Source
“All Chiropractors, Massage Therapists, and Traditional Chinese Medicine Practitioners and Acupuncturists are required to obtain and maintain current certification in Standard First Aid (SFA) / CPR-C in accordance with the College Bylaws.”
cchpbc.ca/announcing-the-development-of-the-college-of-complementar...
Already licensed in another province?
Not stated
The pages name a route for massage therapists from Ontario, Newfoundland & Labrador, New Brunswick, and PEI but do not state whether they can register based on their current licence or must complete additional assessments. Source
“Massage Therapists From Ontario, Newfoundland & Labrador, New Brunswick, and PEI”
cchpbc.ca/for-professionals/registered-massage-therapists/rmt-fees
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with CCHPBC
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with CCHPBC
Exams
-
Jurisprudence exam
-
Full licence examination
Source
“Full licence examination – each attempt: $1,970”
cchpbc.ca/for-professionals/registered-massage-therapists/rmt-fees -
Partial licence examination, online CKT portion
Source
“Partial licence examination, online CKT portion – each attempt: $490”
cchpbc.ca/for-professionals/registered-massage-therapists/rmt-fees -
Partial licence examination, performance-based assessment
Source
“Partial licence examination, performance-based assessment – each attempt: $1,040”
cchpbc.ca/for-professionals/registered-massage-therapists/rmt-fees
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with CCHPBC
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with CCHPBC
Supervised practice
Not stated by the regulator Check with CCHPBC
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| British Columbia | $37,929 | $43,600 | $81,000 | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Canada | $32,867 | $32,867 | $62,400 | — |
Massage therapists in other provinces and territories
- Alberta Not confirmed yet
- Saskatchewan Not confirmed yet
- Manitoba Not confirmed yet
- Ontario Licence required
- Quebec Not confirmed yet
- New Brunswick Licence required
- Nova Scotia Not confirmed yet
- Prince Edward Island Not confirmed yet
- Newfoundland and Labrador Licence required
- Yukon Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories Not confirmed yet
- Nunavut Not confirmed yet
Sources checked
- Home - CCHPBC cchpbc.ca · fetched October 10, 2026
- Fees: Massage Therapy - CCHPBC cchpbc.ca/for-professionals/registered-massage-therapists/rmt-fees · fetched October 10, 2026
- Announcing the development of the College of Complementary Health Professionals of BC’s new, unified Quality Assurance Program - CCHPBC cchpbc.ca/announcing-the-development-of-the-college-of-complementar... · fetched October 10, 2026
- The College of Complementary Health Professionals is updating its fee structure in the 2025-2026 fiscal year - CCHPBC cchpbc.ca/the-college-of-complementary-health-professionals-is-upda... · fetched October 10, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as a massage therapist in British Columbia?
Yes. Registration with the College of Complementary Health Professionals of BC is required to practise in British Columbia.
Which exams are required?
Jurisprudence exam, Full licence examination, Partial licence examination, online CKT portion, Partial licence examination, performance-based assessment.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.