How to Become a Psychologist in British Columbia
Do you need a licence?
Licence required
You must be registered with the College of Health and Care Professionals of BC to work as a psychologist in British Columbia or to use a protected title.
- Protected titles
- psychologist
Show the source
“In BC, the title “psychologist” can only be used by professionals who are licensed by CHCPBC, unless specifically exempted by regulation.”
From chcpbc.org/applicants/psychology, checked October 11, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Licence required See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 0 steps
- Licensed in another province: 3 steps
- Trained outside Canada: 3 steps
- Annual fees
-
- Psychologists: 2026/2027 registration renewal fee (full practising registration): $1,630
Source
“| Psychologists | $1,630 | $1,380\*\* | +18% | March 31, 2026 |”
chcpbc.org/2025/10/23/questions-and-answers-about-the-chcpbc-fee-re...
- Psychologists: 2026/2027 registration renewal fee (full practising registration): $1,630
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
- Annual fees: $1,630
Steps not listed by the regulator Check with CHCPBC
Licensed in another province
0 of 3 done
- 3 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $1,630
-
Create an account in the licensee portal using your email address.
Source
“Step 1: Create an account in the licensee portal using your email address.”
chcpbc.org/applicants/psychology -
On your portal home page, under “Apply for a Permit” Select “Applicants (Full – Psychologist)”
Source
“Step 2: On your portal home page, under “Apply for a Permit” Select “Applicants (Full – Psychologist)””
chcpbc.org/applicants/psychology -
Complete your application and upload the required items.
Source
“Step 3: Complete your application and upload required items.”
chcpbc.org/applicants/psychology
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with CHCPBC
3 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.
- Psychologists: 2026/2027 registration renewal fee (full practising registration): $1,630
Source
“| Psychologists | $1,630 | $1,380\*\* | +18% | March 31, 2026 |”
chcpbc.org/2025/10/23/questions-and-answers-about-the-chcpbc-fee-re...
Trained outside Canada
0 of 3 done
- 3 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $1,630
-
Create an account in the licensee portal using your email address.
Source
“Step 1: Create an account in the licensee portal using your email address.”
chcpbc.org/applicants/psychology -
On your portal home page, under “Apply for a Permit” Select “Applicants (Full – Psychologist)”
Source
“Step 2: On your portal home page, under “Apply for a Permit” Select “Applicants (Full – Psychologist)””
chcpbc.org/applicants/psychology -
Complete your application and upload the required items.
Source
“Step 3: Complete your application and upload required items.”
chcpbc.org/applicants/psychology
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with CHCPBC
3 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.
- Psychologists: 2026/2027 registration renewal fee (full practising registration): $1,630
Source
“| Psychologists | $1,630 | $1,380\*\* | +18% | March 31, 2026 |”
chcpbc.org/2025/10/23/questions-and-answers-about-the-chcpbc-fee-re...
Other listed fees
The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.
- Initial application for registration: $380 (for registration of any profession regulated by CHCPBC)
Source
“One fee of $380 for initial application for registration of any profession regulated by CHCPBC.”
chcpbc.org/2025/10/23/questions-and-answers-about-the-chcpbc-fee-re... - Late renewal fee: $350 (charged to registrants who fail to renew on or before March 31 but renew their registration within 30 days of that deadline)
Source
“A late renewal fee of $350 will be charged to registrants who fail to renew on or before March 31 but renew their registration within 30 days of that deadline.”
chcpbc.org/2025/10/23/questions-and-answers-about-the-chcpbc-fee-re...
Requirements
Education
Applicants must provide an official transcript for the highest degree on which registration or licensure is based in the home jurisdiction.
Source
“Applicants must provide an official transcript for the highest degree on which registration/licensure is based in the home jurisdiction(s). Photocopied transcripts are acceptable for this application pathway.”
chcpbc.org/applicants/psychology
Good character
Applicants must be of good character and not subject to practice limitations, restrictions, or conditions in another Canadian jurisdiction.
Source
“Are of good character and not subject to practice limitations, restrictions, or conditions in another Canadian jurisdiction, and”
chcpbc.org/applicants/psychology
Other
Applicants must maintain registration or licensure in their home jurisdiction up to the point of being granted licensure with CHCPBC.
Source
“Will maintain registration/licensure in the home jurisdiction up to the point of being granted licensure with CHCPBC.”
chcpbc.org/applicants/psychologyAll applicants for licensure are required to provide evidence that demonstrates their proficiency in English.
Source
“All applicants for licensure are required to provide evidence that demonstrates their proficiency in English.”
chcpbc.org/applicants/psychologyApplicants must select one area of practice and complete a declaration of competence for initial licensure.
Source
“For the purposes of initial licensure, applicants must select one area of practice (PDF) and complete a declaration of competence.”
chcpbc.org/applicants/psychology
Already licensed in another province?
Direct transfer
Applicants currently licensed in another Canadian jurisdiction apply through a labour mobility pathway by creating a portal account, selecting the Full Psychologist application, and completing it with required uploads, with no additional exam or competence assessment stated. Source
“Applicants Currently Licensed in a Canadian jurisdiction (Labour Mobility)”
chcpbc.org/applicants/psychology
Create portal account
Source
“Step 1: Create an account in the licensee portal using your email address.”
chcpbc.org/applicants/psychologySelect psychologist application
Source
“Step 2: On your portal home page, under “Apply for a Permit” Select “Applicants (Full – Psychologist)””
chcpbc.org/applicants/psychologyComplete and upload application
Source
“Step 3: Complete your application and upload required items.”
chcpbc.org/applicants/psychology
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with CHCPBC
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with CHCPBC
Exams
-
EPPP
Source
“An individual who had applied for registration as a psychologist prior to April 1, 2026, and was practising under a supervision plan while waiting to complete entry-to-practice examinations (EPPP, Oral Examinations, Praxis, RPE) may be eligible to obtain a Provisional Licence in order to lawfully practice.”
chcpbc.org/2026/03/11/changes-to-psychology-supervision-plans-on-ap... -
Oral Examinations
Source
“An individual who had applied for registration as a psychologist prior to April 1, 2026, and was practising under a supervision plan while waiting to complete entry-to-practice examinations (EPPP, Oral Examinations, Praxis, RPE) may be eligible to obtain a Provisional Licence in order to lawfully practice.”
chcpbc.org/2026/03/11/changes-to-psychology-supervision-plans-on-ap... -
Praxis
Source
“An individual who had applied for registration as a psychologist prior to April 1, 2026, and was practising under a supervision plan while waiting to complete entry-to-practice examinations (EPPP, Oral Examinations, Praxis, RPE) may be eligible to obtain a Provisional Licence in order to lawfully practice.”
chcpbc.org/2026/03/11/changes-to-psychology-supervision-plans-on-ap... -
RPE
Source
“An individual who had applied for registration as a psychologist prior to April 1, 2026, and was practising under a supervision plan while waiting to complete entry-to-practice examinations (EPPP, Oral Examinations, Praxis, RPE) may be eligible to obtain a Provisional Licence in order to lawfully practice.”
chcpbc.org/2026/03/11/changes-to-psychology-supervision-plans-on-ap...
Language tests
No minimum test score stated by the regulator Check with CHCPBC
Exemptions: Most applicants will meet the English proficiency requirement if their highest-level psychology degree was completed at an English language university, in which case the transcript serves as evidence. Source
“Most applicants will meet this requirement if their highest-level psychology degree was completed at an English language university. In these cases, the transcript serves as evidence and no further documentation is required.”
chcpbc.org/applicants/psychology
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with CHCPBC
Supervised practice
Required
A Provisional Licence authorizes the licensee to provide psychological services under the supervision of a College-approved Full Licensee in good standing. Source
“If granted, this licence would authorize the licensee to provide psychological services under the supervision of a College-approved Full Licensee, in good standing.”
chcpbc.org/2026/03/11/changes-to-psychology-supervision-plans-on-ap...
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| British Columbia | $33.09 | $49.09 | $66.84 | Good (4 of 5) |
| Canada | $37.65 | $52.88 | $77.43 | — |
Psychologists in other provinces and territories
- Alberta Licence required
- Saskatchewan Licence required
- Manitoba Licence required
- Ontario Licence required
- Quebec Licence required
- New Brunswick Licence required
- Nova Scotia Licence required
- Prince Edward Island Licence required
- Newfoundland and Labrador Licence required
- Yukon Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories Licence required
- Nunavut Licence required
Sources checked
- Psychology | CHCPBC chcpbc.org/applicants/psychology · fetched October 10, 2026
- Questions and answers about the CHCPBC Fee Restructuring Project | CHCPBC chcpbc.org/2025/10/23/questions-and-answers-about-the-chcpbc-fee-re... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Changes to psychology supervision plans on April 1, 2026 | CHCPBC chcpbc.org/2026/03/11/changes-to-psychology-supervision-plans-on-ap... · fetched October 10, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as a psychologist in British Columbia?
Yes. Registration with the College of Health and Care Professionals of BC is required to practise in British Columbia, and to use the title psychologist.
Which exams are required?
EPPP, Oral Examinations, Praxis, RPE.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.