How to Become a Trademark Agent in Canada (federal)
Do you need a licence?
Licence required
You must be registered with the College of Patent Agents and Trademark Agents to work as a trademark agent in Canada or to use a protected title.
- Protected titles
- Trademark agent
Show the source
“even if the term for the training agreement has ended, Agents in Training cannot represent any person in the presentation or prosecution of an application for the registration of a patent or trademark, or in other business before CIPO without the requisite supervision.”
From cpata-cabamc.ca/en/about-us/regulatory-policies/maintaining-registr..., checked October 10, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Licence required See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 8 steps, listed one-time fees $626 (2 fees depend on your situation and are not in the total)
- Trained outside Canada: 8 steps, listed one-time fees $626 (2 fees depend on your situation and are not in the total)
- Annual fees
-
- Issuance or renewal of a class 1 licence: $1,877
Source
“Issuance or renewal of a class 1 licence | $1,877”
cpata-cabamc.ca/en/2027-2028-proposed-licence-fees-call-for-comments - Renewal of a class 1 licence for a licensee who is both a patent agent and a trademark agent: $2,815 (for a licensee who is both a patent agent and a trademark agent)
Source
“Renewal of a class 1 licence for a licensee who is both a patent agent and a trademark agent | $2,815”
cpata-cabamc.ca/en/2027-2028-proposed-licence-fees-call-for-comments - Issuance or renewal of a class 2 licence: $1,564
Source
“Issuance or renewal of a class 2 licence | $1,564”
cpata-cabamc.ca/en/2027-2028-proposed-licence-fees-call-for-comments - Renewal of a class 2 licence for a licensee who is both a patent agent and a trademark agent: $2,346 (for a licensee who is both a patent agent and a trademark agent)
Source
“Renewal of a class 2 licence for a licensee who is both a patent agent and a trademark agent | $2,346”
cpata-cabamc.ca/en/2027-2028-proposed-licence-fees-call-for-comments
- Issuance or renewal of a class 1 licence: $1,877
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 8 done
- Listed one-time fees: $626
- 2 fees depend on your situation and are not in the total
- 4 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $3,441
- Listed time: 24.9 to 25.4 months (only 2 of 8 steps state a time)
-
The applicant first checks that they are eligible to become a Class 3 Agent in Training.
Source
“Verify your eligibility to become a Class 3 Agent in Training”
cpata-cabamc.ca/en/become-an-agent/become-an-agent-in-training -
The applicant finds a training supervisor who is a registered Class 1 or Class 2 licensee and/or a CIPO representative, and who must be approved by the Registrar.
Source
“Find a training supervisor* who is a registered Class 1 licensee or Class 2 licensee, and/or a representative of CIPO (*training supervisors must be approved by the Registrar”
cpata-cabamc.ca/en/become-an-agent/become-an-agent-in-training -
The applicant creates a profile through the Licensee Portal.
Source
“Follow these steps to create a profile through the Licensee Portal.”
cpata-cabamc.ca/en/become-an-agent/become-an-agent-in-training -
The applicant submits the Class 3 Licence (Agent in Training) application through the Applicant Portal, and the supervisor emails the completed Training Supervisor Application Form to the College.
- Class 3 agent in training licence application fee: $261 (to apply for a class 3 agent in training licence in 2026)
Source
“The application fee to apply for a class 3 agent in training licence in 2026 is $261.00 plus taxes.”
cpata-cabamc.ca/en/become-an-agent/become-an-agent-in-training
Time: 4 to 6 weeksTime source
“Once the registration department receives a complete application, it takes approximately 4-6 weeks for a registration decision or a request for additional information to be made.”
cpata-cabamc.ca/en/become-an-agent/become-an-agent-in-trainingSource
“submit your Class 3 Licence (Agent in training) application through the Applicant Portal. Please note that the Training Supervisor Application Form must be completed and sent by email by the supervisor”
cpata-cabamc.ca/en/become-an-agent/become-an-agent-in-training - Class 3 agent in training licence application fee: $261 (to apply for a class 3 agent in training licence in 2026)
-
The applicant completes 24 months of training under the supervision of an approved supervisor.
Time: 24 monthsTime source
“Complete 24-months of training under the supervision of a registered Class 1 licensee or Class 2 licensee, and/or a representative of CIPO approved by the Registrar.”
cpata-cabamc.ca/en/become-an-agent/become-an-agent-in-trainingSource
“Complete 24-months of training under the supervision of a registered Class 1 licensee or Class 2 licensee, and/or a representative of CIPO approved by the Registrar.”
cpata-cabamc.ca/en/become-an-agent/become-an-agent-in-training -
After at least 12 months of approved training, the agent in training registers for and passes the Trademark Knowledge Examination.
- Trademark Knowledge Examination: $365
Source
“Trademark Knowledge Examination – $365 + applicable taxes”
cpata-cabamc.ca/en/become-an-agent/registration-and-accommodations-...
Source
“To write the knowledge examination, an individual must: be registered as a Class 3 agent-in-training; have completed 12 months of the 24-month training requirement by the date of the Knowledge Exam; submit the exam registration form with applicable fees”
cpata-cabamc.ca/en/become-an-agent/registration-and-accommodations-... - Trademark Knowledge Examination: $365
-
After completing the full 24 months of training and passing the Knowledge Examination, the agent in training registers for and passes the Trademark Agent Skills Examination.
- Trademark Agent Skills Examination: $730 (this includes Components A and B)
Source
“Trademark Agent Skills Examination – $730 + applicable taxes (this includes Components A and B)”
cpata-cabamc.ca/en/become-an-agent/registration-and-accommodations-...
Source
“To write the Skills Examination, an agent must meet the above criteria, must have completed the 24-month training requirement and demonstrated competency on the Knowledge Examination.”
cpata-cabamc.ca/en/become-an-agent/registration-and-accommodations-... - Trademark Agent Skills Examination: $730 (this includes Components A and B)
-
- Class 1 application fee: $261
Source
“The fee for the Class 1 application is $261 plus applicable taxes.”
cpata-cabamc.ca/en/your-practice/licensure
Source
“The application must be submitted to the Registrar within six months after the day on which the applicant is advised of their successful completion of the qualifying examinations.”
cpata-cabamc.ca/en/your-practice/licensure - Class 1 application fee: $261
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $626
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Application | $261 | 42% |
| Exams | $365 | 58% |
| One-time total | $626 | 100% |
2 fees depend on your situation and are not in the total.
4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees: $3,441 a year Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total. 2 fees depend on your situation and are not in the total.
- Issuance or renewal of a class 1 licence: $1,877
Source
“Issuance or renewal of a class 1 licence | $1,877”
cpata-cabamc.ca/en/2027-2028-proposed-licence-fees-call-for-comments - Renewal of a class 1 licence for a licensee who is both a patent agent and a trademark agent: $2,815 (for a licensee who is both a patent agent and a trademark agent)
Source
“Renewal of a class 1 licence for a licensee who is both a patent agent and a trademark agent | $2,815”
cpata-cabamc.ca/en/2027-2028-proposed-licence-fees-call-for-comments - Issuance or renewal of a class 2 licence: $1,564
Source
“Issuance or renewal of a class 2 licence | $1,564”
cpata-cabamc.ca/en/2027-2028-proposed-licence-fees-call-for-comments - Renewal of a class 2 licence for a licensee who is both a patent agent and a trademark agent: $2,346 (for a licensee who is both a patent agent and a trademark agent)
Source
“Renewal of a class 2 licence for a licensee who is both a patent agent and a trademark agent | $2,346”
cpata-cabamc.ca/en/2027-2028-proposed-licence-fees-call-for-comments
Trained outside Canada
0 of 8 done
- Listed one-time fees: $626
- 2 fees depend on your situation and are not in the total
- 4 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $3,441
- Listed time: 0.9 to 1.4 months (only 1 of 8 steps state a time)
-
The applicant first checks that they are eligible to become a Class 3 Agent in Training.
Source
“Verify your eligibility to become a Class 3 Agent in Training”
cpata-cabamc.ca/en/become-an-agent/become-an-agent-in-training -
The applicant finds a training supervisor who is a registered Class 1 or Class 2 licensee and/or a CIPO representative, and who must be approved by the Registrar.
Source
“Find a training supervisor* who is a registered Class 1 licensee or Class 2 licensee, and/or a representative of CIPO (*training supervisors must be approved by the Registrar”
cpata-cabamc.ca/en/become-an-agent/become-an-agent-in-training -
The applicant creates a profile through the Licensee Portal.
Source
“Follow these steps to create a profile through the Licensee Portal.”
cpata-cabamc.ca/en/become-an-agent/become-an-agent-in-training -
The applicant submits the Class 3 Licence (Agent in Training) application through the Applicant Portal, and the supervisor emails the completed Training Supervisor Application Form to the College.
- Class 3 agent in training licence application fee: $261 (to apply for a class 3 agent in training licence in 2026)
Source
“The application fee to apply for a class 3 agent in training licence in 2026 is $261.00 plus taxes.”
cpata-cabamc.ca/en/become-an-agent/become-an-agent-in-training
Time: 4 to 6 weeksTime source
“Once the registration department receives a complete application, it takes approximately 4-6 weeks for a registration decision or a request for additional information to be made.”
cpata-cabamc.ca/en/become-an-agent/become-an-agent-in-trainingSource
“submit your Class 3 Licence (Agent in training) application through the Applicant Portal. Please note that the Training Supervisor Application Form must be completed and sent by email by the supervisor”
cpata-cabamc.ca/en/become-an-agent/become-an-agent-in-training - Class 3 agent in training licence application fee: $261 (to apply for a class 3 agent in training licence in 2026)
-
The applicant completes the supervised training, which may be reduced for internationally trained applicants with a prior experience assessment.
Source
“Internationally trained applicants with a prior experience assessment may be permitted to complete a reduced training period.”
cpata-cabamc.ca/en/become-an-agent/become-an-agent-in-training -
After at least 12 months of approved training, the agent in training registers for and passes the Trademark Knowledge Examination.
- Trademark Knowledge Examination: $365
Source
“Trademark Knowledge Examination – $365 + applicable taxes”
cpata-cabamc.ca/en/become-an-agent/registration-and-accommodations-...
Source
“To write the knowledge examination, an individual must: be registered as a Class 3 agent-in-training; have completed 12 months of the 24-month training requirement by the date of the Knowledge Exam; submit the exam registration form with applicable fees”
cpata-cabamc.ca/en/become-an-agent/registration-and-accommodations-... - Trademark Knowledge Examination: $365
-
After completing the training requirement and passing the Knowledge Examination, the agent in training registers for and passes the Trademark Agent Skills Examination.
- Trademark Agent Skills Examination: $730 (this includes Components A and B)
Source
“Trademark Agent Skills Examination – $730 + applicable taxes (this includes Components A and B)”
cpata-cabamc.ca/en/become-an-agent/registration-and-accommodations-...
Source
“To write the Skills Examination, an agent must meet the above criteria, must have completed the 24-month training requirement and demonstrated competency on the Knowledge Examination.”
cpata-cabamc.ca/en/become-an-agent/registration-and-accommodations-... - Trademark Agent Skills Examination: $730 (this includes Components A and B)
-
- Class 1 application fee: $261
Source
“The fee for the Class 1 application is $261 plus applicable taxes.”
cpata-cabamc.ca/en/your-practice/licensure
Source
“The application must be submitted to the Registrar within six months after the day on which the applicant is advised of their successful completion of the qualifying examinations.”
cpata-cabamc.ca/en/your-practice/licensure - Class 1 application fee: $261
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $626
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Application | $261 | 42% |
| Exams | $365 | 58% |
| One-time total | $626 | 100% |
2 fees depend on your situation and are not in the total.
4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees: $3,441 a year Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total. 2 fees depend on your situation and are not in the total.
- Issuance or renewal of a class 1 licence: $1,877
Source
“Issuance or renewal of a class 1 licence | $1,877”
cpata-cabamc.ca/en/2027-2028-proposed-licence-fees-call-for-comments - Renewal of a class 1 licence for a licensee who is both a patent agent and a trademark agent: $2,815 (for a licensee who is both a patent agent and a trademark agent)
Source
“Renewal of a class 1 licence for a licensee who is both a patent agent and a trademark agent | $2,815”
cpata-cabamc.ca/en/2027-2028-proposed-licence-fees-call-for-comments - Issuance or renewal of a class 2 licence: $1,564
Source
“Issuance or renewal of a class 2 licence | $1,564”
cpata-cabamc.ca/en/2027-2028-proposed-licence-fees-call-for-comments - Renewal of a class 2 licence for a licensee who is both a patent agent and a trademark agent: $2,346 (for a licensee who is both a patent agent and a trademark agent)
Source
“Renewal of a class 2 licence for a licensee who is both a patent agent and a trademark agent | $2,346”
cpata-cabamc.ca/en/2027-2028-proposed-licence-fees-call-for-comments
Other listed fees
The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.
- Registrar's certificate application fee: $105 (for individuals)
Source
“The fee for individuals to apply for a Registrar’s certificate is $105.00 plus applicable taxes.”
cpata-cabamc.ca/en/your-practice/licensure - Change to Class 4 (inactive) application fee: $157 (for inactive Class 1 or Class 2 Licensees)
Source
“The fee for inactive Class 1 or Class 2 Licensees to apply to the Registrar to change their licence class to inactive (Class 4) is $157.00 plus applicable taxes.”
cpata-cabamc.ca/en/your-practice/licensure
Requirements
Education
The applicant must demonstrate completion of the training and examination requirements.
Source
“completion of the training and examination requirements;”
cpata-cabamc.ca/en/your-practice/licensure
Insurance
The applicant must provide proof of professional liability insurance or an exemption.
Source
“proof of professional liability insurance or an exemption;”
cpata-cabamc.ca/en/your-practice/licensure
Good character
The applicant must demonstrate good character and fitness to practise.
Residency
The applicant must demonstrate Canadian residency.
Other
Proof of language proficiency in English or French is required if it is not the applicant's first language or their education was taught in another language.
Source
“Proof of language proficiency is required if English or French is not the applicant’s first language, or if their education was taught in a language other than English or French.”
cpata-cabamc.ca/en/become-an-agent/become-an-agent-in-trainingApplicants registered with another regulatory body inside or outside Canada must have that regulator send a certificate or letter of standing directly to CPATA.
Source
“If an applicant is registered with another regulatory body inside or outside of Canada, they also need to request the other regulator send a certificate/letter of standing directly to CPATA.”
cpata-cabamc.ca/en/become-an-agent/become-an-agent-in-training
Already licensed in another province?
Not stated
The pages do not describe how someone already licensed in another Canadian province or territory registers as a trademark agent in Canada. Source
“Certificate of Standing from another regulatory body: If an applicant is registered with another regulatory body inside or outside of Canada, they also need to request the other regulator send a certificate/letter of standing directly to CPATA.”
cpata-cabamc.ca/en/become-an-agent/become-an-agent-in-training
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with College of Patent Agents and Trademark Agents
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with College of Patent Agents and Trademark Agents
Exams
-
Trademark Knowledge Examination
Source
“Trademark Knowledge Examination – $365 + applicable taxes”
cpata-cabamc.ca/en/become-an-agent/registration-and-accommodations-... -
Trademark Agent Skills Examination
Source
“Trademark Agent Skills Examination – $730 + applicable taxes (this includes Components A and B)”
cpata-cabamc.ca/en/become-an-agent/registration-and-accommodations-...
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with College of Patent Agents and Trademark Agents
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with College of Patent Agents and Trademark Agents
Supervised practice
Required
Applicants must complete 24 months of training under the supervision of an approved training supervisor, or the equivalent as determined by a prior experience assessment. Source
“completion of twenty-four (24) months of training under the supervision of an approved training Supervisor, or the equivalent as determined by the Registrar’s Policy on Prior Experience Assessments”
cpata-cabamc.ca/en/about-us/regulatory-policies/approved-training-p...
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Canada | $21.63 | $33.05 | $52.19 | — |
Trademark agents in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Not confirmed yet
- Alberta Not confirmed yet
- Saskatchewan Not confirmed yet
- Manitoba Not confirmed yet
- Ontario Not confirmed yet
- Quebec Not confirmed yet
- New Brunswick Not confirmed yet
- Nova Scotia Not confirmed yet
- Prince Edward Island Not confirmed yet
- Newfoundland and Labrador Not confirmed yet
- Yukon Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories Not confirmed yet
- Nunavut Not confirmed yet
Sources checked
- Maintaining Registration Upon Completion of Training Period - CPATA cpata-cabamc.ca/en/about-us/regulatory-policies/maintaining-registr... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Become an Agent in Training - CPATA cpata-cabamc.ca/en/become-an-agent/become-an-agent-in-training · fetched October 10, 2026
- Registration and Accommodations - Trademark Agent Qualifying Examinations - CPATA cpata-cabamc.ca/en/become-an-agent/registration-and-accommodations-... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Applications - CPATA cpata-cabamc.ca/en/your-practice/licensure · fetched October 10, 2026
- 2027-2028 Proposed Licence Fees: Call for Comments - CPATA cpata-cabamc.ca/en/2027-2028-proposed-licence-fees-call-for-comments · fetched October 10, 2026
- Approved Training Programs - CPATA cpata-cabamc.ca/en/about-us/regulatory-policies/approved-training-p... · fetched October 10, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as a trademark agent in Canada?
Yes. A licence or certificate from the College of Patent Agents and Trademark Agents is required to work in Canada.
Which exams are required?
Trademark Knowledge Examination, Trademark Agent Skills Examination.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.