How to Become a Pork Production Technician in Manitoba
Do you need certification?
Certification is voluntary
Pork production technician is a voluntary trade in Manitoba. You can work in the trade without a certificate.
- Protected titles
- Not listed in the sources checked
Show the source
“Pork production technicians are certified to handle and care for pigs in the breeding, farrowing, nursery and finishing stages of pork production.”
From gov.mb.ca/apprenticeship/explore-trades/trade-profiles/pork-product..., checked October 11, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Voluntary certification See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 4 steps, listed one-time fees $5,066 (2 fees depend on your situation and are not in the total)
- Licensed in another province: 5 steps, listed one-time fees $200
- Trained outside Canada: 4 steps
- Annual fees
- Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Manitoba
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 4 done
- Listed one-time fees: $5,066
- 2 fees depend on your situation and are not in the total
- 3 steps without a listed fee
-
Apprenticeship Manitoba emails you the Apprenticeship Agreement, which you sign on paper or electronically, and your employer signs Part C.
Source
“Sign the Apprenticeship Agreement - Apprenticeship Manitoba sends an email to you with the Apprenticeship Agreement - you can print out the agreement and sign it, or electronically sign the agreement - your employer must also sign Part C of the agreement”
gov.mb.ca/apprenticeship/apprenticeship-program/apply-for-your-appr... -
Submit your education records, documentation of related work or educational experience, and the signed Apprenticeship Agreement to Apprenticeship Manitoba.
Source
“Provide documentation and register your Apprenticeship Agreement with Apprenticeship Manitoba Follow instructions on your Apprenticeship Agreement to submit: - a copy of your education records (post-secondary transcript, or high school diploma, and/or Grade 12 transcripts, GED certificate/ Canadian Adult Education Credential (CAEC), or equivalent).”
gov.mb.ca/apprenticeship/apprenticeship-program/apply-for-your-appr... -
Complete the on-the-job hours, technical training hours and exams required under the Act and your trade's by-law, and pay the personal contribution fees toward tuition.
- Technical Training Personal Contribution Fee: $425
Source
“Technical Training Personal Contribution Fee | Length of Technical Training<br>(# of weeks) | Before August 1, 2026 | August 1, 2026 and after | | 4 | $464 | $425 |”
gov.mb.ca/apprenticeship/apprenticeship-program/manage-your-apprent... - Technical Training Personal Contribution Fee: $450
- Technical Training Personal Contribution Fee: $475
- Technical Training Personal Contribution Fee: $500
- Technical Training Personal Contribution Fee: $525
- Technical Training Personal Contribution Fee: $550
- Technical Training Personal Contribution Fee: $575
- Technical Training Personal Contribution Fee: $464
- Technical Training Personal Contribution Fee: $522
- Technical Training Personal Contribution Fee: $580
- Technical Training: $425 (starting price for technical training)
Source
“Technical Training (click link for full fee breakdown) Starting at $425”
gov.mb.ca/apprenticeship/apprenticeship-program/apply-for-your-appr... - NSF Cheque Service Fee: $20 (when a cheque is returned NSF)
Source
“NSF Cheque Service Fee $20”
gov.mb.ca/apprenticeship/apprenticeship-program/apply-for-your-appr...
Source
“complete on-the-job hours, technical training hours and exams according to The Apprenticeship and Certification Act and for your specific trade regulation or by-law. - pay the personal contribution fees towards tuition and other applicable fees”
gov.mb.ca/apprenticeship/apprenticeship-program/apply-for-your-appr... - Technical Training Personal Contribution Fee: $425
-
After completing all levels and apprenticeship requirements, pass the certification (final) exam with a minimum grade of 70 per cent to earn your Certificate of Qualification.
Source
“Once you’ve completed all levels and apprenticeship requirements for your program, you must pass the certification (final) exam. The minimum passing grade is 70 per cent.”
gov.mb.ca/apprenticeship/apprenticeship-program/discover-apprentice...
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $5,066
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Application | $5,066 | 100% |
| One-time total | $5,066 | 100% |
2 fees depend on your situation and are not in the total.
3 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Licensed in another province
0 of 5 done
- Listed one-time fees: $200
- 4 steps without a listed fee
-
Complete the Trades Qualification Application form and follow its instructions.
Source
“Trades Qualification Application Form Complete and follow instructions.”
gov.mb.ca/apprenticeship/experienced-tradespersons/apply-to-become-... -
Submit as many employer or statutory declaration forms as needed to meet the trade's requirements for approval.
Source
“Declaration Form Submit as many declaration forms as needed in order to meet the trade’s requirements for approval.”
gov.mb.ca/apprenticeship/experienced-tradespersons/apply-to-become-... -
Provide copies of all trade-related certificates and credentials.
Source
“Proof of Education and Training Provide copies of all trade-related certificates and credentials.”
gov.mb.ca/apprenticeship/experienced-tradespersons/apply-to-become-... -
Include a non-refundable $200 payment made payable to Apprenticeship Manitoba to have your application assessed.
- Application fee: $200
Source
“Application fee - Include a $200 payment (non-refundable).”
gov.mb.ca/apprenticeship/experienced-tradespersons/apply-to-become-...
Source
“Application fee - Include a $200 payment (non-refundable). - Make cheque payable to: Apprenticeship Manitoba.”
gov.mb.ca/apprenticeship/experienced-tradespersons/apply-to-become-... - Application fee: $200
-
If approved, you are notified by email that you can challenge the certification exam, and you write it in Manitoba.
Source
“If you meet the requirements, you will be notified via email that you have been approved to challenge the certification exam and you are accepted as a trade qualifier.”
gov.mb.ca/apprenticeship/experienced-tradespersons/apply-to-become-...
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $200
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Application | $200 | 100% |
| One-time total | $200 | 100% |
4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Trained outside Canada
0 of 4 done
- 4 steps without a listed fee
- Listed time: 1.4 months (only 1 of 4 steps state a time)
-
Determine whether you have the required work experience, training, knowledge and skills to write the qualification exam by reviewing the work experience form for your trade.
Source
“Determine if you have the work experience, training, knowledge and skills required to be eligible to write the qualification exam by reviewing the work experience form for your trade on the Apprenticeship Manitoba website.”
immigratemanitoba.com/life/regulated-occupations -
Submit your trades qualification application with your completed work experience form, employer letters and copies of previous trades certification if you meet all requirements.
Source
“Submit to Apprenticeship Manitoba your trades qualification application (along with your completed work experience form, employer letter(s) and copies of previous trades certification) only if you meet all requirements to write the qualification exam in your trade.”
immigratemanitoba.com/life/regulated-occupations -
Wait for a reply from Apprenticeship Manitoba; approval means you are eligible to write the exam.
Time: 6 weeksTime source
“application review typically takes about six weeks”
immigratemanitoba.com/life/regulated-occupationsSource
“Wait for a reply from Apprenticeship Manitoba (application review typically takes about six weeks). Approval of your application means you are eligible to write the exam.”
immigratemanitoba.com/life/regulated-occupations -
Provide the approved Authorization Letter from the Government of Canada to Apprenticeship Manitoba before registering for technical training while on a work permit.
Source
“You are required to provide the approved Authorization Letter from the Government of Canada to Apprenticeship Manitoba before you will be able to register for technical training while on a work-permit.”
gov.mb.ca/apprenticeship/explore-trades/newcomers.html
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Apprenticeship Manitoba
4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Other listed fees
The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.
- Level Placement Exam: $200 (to write a level placement exam to start at a higher apprenticeship level)
Source
“Level Placement Exam $200”
gov.mb.ca/apprenticeship/apprenticeship-program/apply-for-your-appr... - Technical Training Personal Contribution Fee: 4 weeks of technical training (August 1, 2026 and after): $425
- Technical Training Personal Contribution Fee: 5 weeks of technical training (before August 1, 2026): $464
- Technical Training Personal Contribution Fee: 6 weeks of technical training (before August 1, 2026): $464
- Technical Training Personal Contribution Fee: 7 weeks of technical training (before August 1, 2026): $464
- Technical Training Personal Contribution Fee: 8 weeks of technical training (before August 1, 2026): $464
Requirements
Education
When registering your Apprenticeship Agreement you must provide education records, or state in your application if you do not have Grade 12 or equivalent education.
Source
“a copy of your education records (post-secondary transcript, or high school diploma, and/or Grade 12 transcripts, GED certificate/ Canadian Adult Education Credential (CAEC), or equivalent). NOTE: If you do not have Grade 12 or equivalent education, state this in your application.”
gov.mb.ca/apprenticeship/apprenticeship-program/apply-for-your-appr...
Experience
To challenge the certification exam as a trade qualifier you need 3 years of experience in the last 5 years and 5,400 hours in the trade.
Source
“3 (in last 5 years) Years of Experience 5,400 Hours Required”
gov.mb.ca/apprenticeship/explore-trades/trade-profiles/pork-product...You must have experience in at least 70 per cent of the scope of the trade.
Source
“experience (skills) in at least 70 per cent scope of the trade”
gov.mb.ca/apprenticeship/experienced-tradespersons/apply-to-become-...
Residency
You must reside in Manitoba to challenge a certification exam as a trade qualifier.
Source
“Important: You must reside in Manitoba to challenge a Red Seal, provincial or practical certification exam.”
gov.mb.ca/apprenticeship/experienced-tradespersons/apply-to-become-...You must be a Manitoba resident to apply as a trade qualifier.
Source
“You must be a Manitoba resident to apply as a trade qualifier.”
gov.mb.ca/apprenticeship/explore-trades/trade-profiles/pork-product...
Already licensed in another province?
Not stated
The pages state that certification from elsewhere in Canada is recognized for trades requiring compulsory certification in Manitoba, but pork production technician is a voluntary trade, so recognition for this trade is not stated. Source
“If you have received certification elsewhere in Canada for a trade that requires compulsory certification in Manitoba, your certification will be recognized.”
gov.mb.ca/apprenticeship/apprenticeship-program/discover-apprentice...
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Manitoba
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Manitoba
Exams
-
certification (final) exam
Source
“you must pass the certification (final) exam. The minimum passing grade is 70 per cent.”
gov.mb.ca/apprenticeship/apprenticeship-program/discover-apprentice... -
Level Placement Exam
Source
“Level Placement Exam $200”
gov.mb.ca/apprenticeship/apprenticeship-program/apply-for-your-appr...
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Manitoba
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Manitoba
Supervised practice
Not stated by the regulator Check with Apprenticeship Manitoba
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Manitoba | $16.00 | $21.54 | $33.00 | Limited (2 of 5) |
| Canada | $15.00 | $22.00 | $32.00 | — |
Pork production technicians in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Not confirmed yet
- Alberta Not confirmed yet
- Saskatchewan Not confirmed yet
- Ontario Not confirmed yet
- Quebec Voluntary certification
- New Brunswick Not confirmed yet
- Nova Scotia Not confirmed yet
- Prince Edward Island Not confirmed yet
- Newfoundland and Labrador Not confirmed yet
- Yukon Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories Not confirmed yet
- Nunavut Not confirmed yet
Sources checked
- Apprenticeship Manitoba | Province of Manitoba gov.mb.ca/apprenticeship/explore-trades/trade-profiles/pork-product... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Apprenticeship Manitoba | Province of Manitoba gov.mb.ca/apprenticeship/apprenticeship-program/apply-for-your-appr... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Apprenticeship Manitoba | Province of Manitoba gov.mb.ca/apprenticeship/apprenticeship-program/manage-your-apprent... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Apprenticeship Manitoba | Province of Manitoba gov.mb.ca/apprenticeship/apprenticeship-program/discover-apprentice... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Apprenticeship Manitoba | Province of Manitoba gov.mb.ca/apprenticeship/experienced-tradespersons/apply-to-become-... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Regulated Occupations | Manitoba Immigration immigratemanitoba.com/life/regulated-occupations · fetched October 10, 2026
- Apprenticeship Manitoba | Province of Manitoba gov.mb.ca/apprenticeship/explore-trades/newcomers.html · fetched October 10, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as a pork production technician in Manitoba?
No. Certification is available, but it is not required to work in the trade in Manitoba. Certification is managed by Apprenticeship Manitoba.
Which exams are required?
certification (final) exam, Level Placement Exam.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.