How to Become a Blaster in New Brunswick
Do you need certification?
Certification is voluntary
Blaster is a voluntary trade in New Brunswick. You can work in the trade without a certificate.
- Protected titles
- Not listed in the sources checked
Show the source
“Blaster Apprenticeship”
From gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/designated..., checked October 11, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Voluntary certification See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 3 steps, listed one-time fees $250
- Licensed in another province: 2 steps
- Trained outside Canada: 5 steps, listed one-time fees $350
- Annual fees
- Not stated by the regulator Check with New Brunswick Department of Post-Secondary Education, Training and Labour
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 3 done
- Listed one-time fees: $250
- 2 steps without a listed fee
-
Work the required number of hours in the skilled trade.
Source
“Trade Qualification — work the required number of hours in a particular skilled trade, supply proof of those hours, scope coverage and challenge the Certification Exam.”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/apprentice... -
Supply proof of the hours worked and scope coverage.
Source
“Trade Qualification — work the required number of hours in a particular skilled trade, supply proof of those hours, scope coverage and challenge the Certification Exam.”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/apprentice... -
Challenge the Certification Exam.
- Certificate of qualification examination: $250
Source
“Certificate of qualification examination | $250”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/fees-forms...
Source
“Trade Qualification — work the required number of hours in a particular skilled trade, supply proof of those hours, scope coverage and challenge the Certification Exam.”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/apprentice... - Certificate of qualification examination: $250
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $250
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Exams | $250 | 100% |
| One-time total | $250 | 100% |
2 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Licensed in another province
0 of 2 done
- 2 steps without a listed fee
-
Supply proof of a certificate of qualification from a jurisdiction outside New Brunswick.
Source
“Equivalency Standards — supply proof of a certificate of qualification from a jurisdiction outside New Brunswick and application to challenge the certification examination or to recognize the certification based on equivalent standards.”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/apprentice... -
Apply to challenge the certification examination or to have the certification recognized based on equivalent standards.
Source
“Equivalency Standards — supply proof of a certificate of qualification from a jurisdiction outside New Brunswick and application to challenge the certification examination or to recognize the certification based on equivalent standards.”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/apprentice...
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with New Brunswick Department of Post-Secondary Education, Training and Labour
2 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Trained outside Canada
0 of 5 done
- Listed one-time fees: $350
- 3 steps without a listed fee
-
Get a job in your trade and gain local experience.
Source
“Start by getting a job in your trade and gaining local experience then, contact Skilled Trades NB to see if you can challenge the certification exam or if the apprenticeship program is the better path for your success.”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/trained-tr... -
Contact Skilled Trades NB to find out whether you can challenge the certification exam or whether the apprenticeship program is the better path.
Source
“Start by getting a job in your trade and gaining local experience then, contact Skilled Trades NB to see if you can challenge the certification exam or if the apprenticeship program is the better path for your success.”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/trained-tr... -
Your international education and work experience are reviewed to identify credit toward New Brunswick certification.
- Foreign credential assessment fee: $100
Source
“Foreign credential assessment fee | $100”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/fees-forms...
Source
“Assessment of your experience: Your international education and work experience are reviewed to identify credit toward NB certification.”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/trained-tr... - Foreign credential assessment fee: $100
-
Develop and complete a plan created with Skilled Trades NB and your employer to address differences in language, terminology, safety and trade practices and standards.
Source
“Personalized learning plan: Develop and complete a plan is created with Skilled Trades NB and your employer to address differences in language, terminology and safety and trade practices and standards.”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/trained-tr... -
Attend training or challenge the exam when ready.
- Certificate of qualification examination: $250
Source
“Certificate of qualification examination | $250”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/fees-forms...
Source
“Training and certification exam: Attend training or challenge the exam when ready.”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/trained-tr... - Certificate of qualification examination: $250
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $350
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Assessment | $100 | 29% |
| Exams | $250 | 71% |
| One-time total | $350 | 100% |
3 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Other listed fees
The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.
- Certificate of qualification challenger assessment: $100
Source
“Certificate of qualification challenger assessment | $100”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/fees-forms... - Certificate of qualification re-examination: $120
Source
“Certificate of qualification re-examination | $120”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/fees-forms... - Practical examination: $350
Source
“Practical examination | $350”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/fees-forms... - Work permit in a compulsory occupation: $200
Source
“Work permit in a compulsory occupation | $200”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/fees-forms... - Assessment for prior learning: $100
Source
“Assessment for prior learning | $100”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/fees-forms...
Requirements
Experience
Category M applicants must have performed at least 1,000 hours of supervised work in blasting operations in a smelter operation.
Source
“Category M: - has performed at least 1,000 hours of supervised work in blasting operations in a smelter operation”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/designated...Category 3 applicants must have performed at least 1,000 hours of supervised work in blasting operations and assisted in a minimum of 5 blasts.
Source
“Category 3: - has performed at least 1,000 hours of supervised work in blasting operations - has assisted in a minimum of 5 blasts”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/designated...Category 2 applicants must hold a Category 3 Certificate of Qualification, have performed at least 1,500 hours of work in blasting, performed at least 5 blasts unsupervised, and assisted in 5 blasts exceeding 250 kg of explosive per shot.
Source
“Category 2: - holds a Category 3 Certificate of Qualification - has performed at least 1,500 hours of work in blasting - has performed at least 5 blasts unsupervised - has assisted in 5 blasts exceeding 250 kg of explosive per shot”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/designated...Category 1 applicants must hold a Category 2 Certificate of Qualification, have performed at least 1,500 hours of work in blasting after obtaining the Category 2 certificate, performed at least 5 blasts exceeding 1,000 kg of explosive per shot, and assisted in 5 blasts within 50 m of a normally occupied structure.
Source
“Category 1: - holds a Category 2 Certificate of Qualification - has performed at least 1,500 hours of work in blasting after obtaining the Category 2 certificate of qualification, - has performed at least 5 blasts exceeding 1,000 kg of explosive per shot - has assisted in 5 blasts within 50 m of a structure normally occupied in whole or in part by people”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/designated...
Already licensed in another province?
Direct transfer
Tradespeople with a valid out-of-province Certificate of Qualification or Red Seal endorsement can work in New Brunswick using their existing credential. Source
“Tradespeople with a valid out-of-province Certificate of Qualification (C of Q) or Red Seal endorsement can work in New Brunswick using their existing credential.”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/trained-tr...
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with New Brunswick Department of Post-Secondary Education, Training and Labour
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with New Brunswick Department of Post-Secondary Education, Training and Labour
Exams
-
Certification Exam
Source
“Trade Qualification — work the required number of hours in a particular skilled trade, supply proof of those hours, scope coverage and challenge the Certification Exam.”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/apprentice...
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with New Brunswick Department of Post-Secondary Education, Training and Labour
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with New Brunswick Department of Post-Secondary Education, Training and Labour
Supervised practice
Not stated by the regulator Check with New Brunswick Department of Post-Secondary Education, Training and Labour
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| New Brunswick | — | — | — | Undetermined |
| Canada | $27.00 | $37.50 | $49.00 | — |
Blasters in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Not confirmed yet
- Alberta Certification required
- Saskatchewan Not confirmed yet
- Manitoba Certification required
- Ontario Voluntary certification
- Quebec Certification required
- Nova Scotia Certification required
- Prince Edward Island Not confirmed yet
- Newfoundland and Labrador Certification required
- Yukon Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories Not confirmed yet
- Nunavut Not confirmed yet
Sources checked
- List of designated occupations - gnb.ca gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/designated... · fetched October 11, 2026
- The apprenticeship and occupational certification program - gnb.ca gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/apprentice... · fetched October 11, 2026
- Fees and forms - gnb.ca gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/fees-forms... · fetched October 11, 2026
- Internationally and nationally trained or certified trades people - gnb.ca gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/trained-tr... · fetched October 11, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as a blaster in New Brunswick?
No. Certification is available, but it is not required to work in the trade in New Brunswick. Certification is managed by the New Brunswick Department of Post-Secondary Education, Training and Labour.
Which exams are required?
Certification Exam.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.