How to Become a Floorcovering Installer in New Brunswick
Do you need certification?
Certification is voluntary
Floorcovering installer is a voluntary trade in New Brunswick. You can work in the trade without a certificate.
- Protected titles
- Not listed in the sources checked
Show the source
“Twelve of the designated occupations are prescribed to be compulsory.”
From gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/designated..., checked October 10, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Voluntary certification See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 3 steps, listed one-time fees $100
- Licensed in another province: 2 steps, listed one-time fees $250
- Trained outside Canada: 5 steps, listed one-time fees $350
- Annual fees
- Not stated by the regulator Check with New Brunswick Department of Post-Secondary Education, Training and Labour
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 3 done
- Listed one-time fees: $100
- 2 steps without a listed fee
-
Get a job in the trade and register as an apprentice.
Source
“Apprenticeship — obtain employment and register as an apprentice, successfully complete all apprenticeship program requirements such as the on-the-job, technical training requirements and examinations to achieve a Diploma of Apprenticeship and Certificate of Qualification.”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/apprentice... -
After registering as an apprentice, credit can be applied to the program for previous education and experience.
- Assessment for prior learning: $100
Source
“Assessment for prior learning | $100”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/fees-forms...
Source
“Once you get a job and get registered as an apprentice, credit can be applied to the apprenticeship program for previous education and experience.”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/apprentice... - Assessment for prior learning: $100
-
Successfully complete all on-the-job and technical training requirements and examinations to achieve a Diploma of Apprenticeship and Certificate of Qualification.
Source
“Apprenticeship — obtain employment and register as an apprentice, successfully complete all apprenticeship program requirements such as the on-the-job, technical training requirements and examinations to achieve a Diploma of Apprenticeship and Certificate of Qualification.”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/apprentice...
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $100
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Assessment | $100 | 100% |
| One-time total | $100 | 100% |
2 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Licensed in another province
0 of 2 done
- Listed one-time fees: $250
- 1 step without a listed fee
-
Provide proof of a certificate of qualification from a jurisdiction outside New Brunswick.
Source
“Equivalency Standards — supply proof of a certificate of qualification from a jurisdiction outside New Brunswick and application to challenge the certification examination or to recognize the certification based on equivalent standards.”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/apprentice... -
Apply to challenge the certification examination or to have the certification recognized based on equivalent standards.
- Certificate of qualification examination: $250
Source
“Certificate of qualification examination | $250”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/fees-forms...
Source
“Equivalency Standards — supply proof of a certificate of qualification from a jurisdiction outside New Brunswick and application to challenge the certification examination or to recognize the certification based on equivalent standards.”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/apprentice... - Certificate of qualification examination: $250
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $250
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Exams | $250 | 100% |
| One-time total | $250 | 100% |
1 step without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Trained outside Canada
0 of 5 done
- Listed one-time fees: $350
- 3 steps without a listed fee
-
Start by getting a job in the trade and gaining local experience.
Source
“Start by getting a job in your trade and gaining local experience then, contact Skilled Trades NB to see if you can challenge the certification exam or if the apprenticeship program is the better path for your success.”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/trained-tr... -
Contact Skilled Trades NB to find out whether you can challenge the certification exam or whether the apprenticeship program is the better path.
Source
“Start by getting a job in your trade and gaining local experience then, contact Skilled Trades NB to see if you can challenge the certification exam or if the apprenticeship program is the better path for your success.”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/trained-tr... -
Your international education and work experience are reviewed to identify credit toward New Brunswick certification.
- Foreign credential assessment fee: $100
Source
“Foreign credential assessment fee | $100”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/fees-forms...
Source
“Assessment of your experience: Your international education and work experience are reviewed to identify credit toward NB certification.”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/trained-tr... - Foreign credential assessment fee: $100
-
Develop and complete a plan created with Skilled Trades NB and your employer to address differences in language, terminology, safety, and trade practices and standards.
Source
“Personalized learning plan: Develop and complete a plan is created with Skilled Trades NB and your employer to address differences in language, terminology and safety and trade practices and standards.”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/trained-tr... -
Attend training or challenge the exam when ready.
- Certificate of qualification examination: $250
Source
“Certificate of qualification examination | $250”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/fees-forms...
Source
“Training and certification exam: Attend training or challenge the exam when ready.”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/trained-tr... - Certificate of qualification examination: $250
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $350
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Assessment | $100 | 29% |
| Exams | $250 | 71% |
| One-time total | $350 | 100% |
3 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Other listed fees
The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.
- Apprentice registration: $25
Source
“Apprentice registration | $25”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/fees-forms... - Certificate of qualification challenger assessment: $100
Source
“Certificate of qualification challenger assessment | $100”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/fees-forms... - Certificate of qualification re-examination: $120
Source
“Certificate of qualification re-examination | $120”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/fees-forms... - Practical examination: $350
Source
“Practical examination | $350”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/fees-forms... - Interprovincial standards (Red Seal) examination: $200
Source
“Interprovincial standards (Red Seal) examination | $200”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/fees-forms... - Letter of authenticity: $200
Source
“Letter of authenticity | $200”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/fees-forms... - Replacement certificate: $20
Source
“Replacement certificate | $20”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/fees-forms... - Work permit in a compulsory occupation: $200
Source
“Work permit in a compulsory occupation | $200”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/fees-forms... - Photo identification card replacement: $20
Source
“Photo identification card replacement | $20”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/fees-forms... - Progress record book replacement: $25
Source
“Progress record book replacement | $25”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/fees-forms...
Requirements
Experience
A person with the equivalent of 5,400 hours of practical experience in the floorcovering installer occupation may apply to challenge the certification examination.
Source
“A person who has gained the equivalent of 5,400 hours of practical experience in the floorcovering installer occupation may apply to challenge the certification examination.”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/designated...
Already licensed in another province?
Direct transfer
Tradespeople with a valid out-of-province Certificate of Qualification or Red Seal endorsement can work in New Brunswick using their existing credential. Source
“Tradespeople with a valid out-of-province Certificate of Qualification (C of Q) or Red Seal endorsement can work in New Brunswick using their existing credential.”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/trained-tr...
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with New Brunswick Department of Post-Secondary Education, Training and Labour
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with New Brunswick Department of Post-Secondary Education, Training and Labour
Exams
-
certification examination
Source
“A person who has gained the equivalent of 5,400 hours of practical experience in the floorcovering installer occupation may apply to challenge the certification examination.”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/designated...
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with New Brunswick Department of Post-Secondary Education, Training and Labour
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with New Brunswick Department of Post-Secondary Education, Training and Labour
Supervised practice
Not stated by the regulator Check with New Brunswick Department of Post-Secondary Education, Training and Labour
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| New Brunswick | $20.25 | $23.14 | $28.34 | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Canada | $17.00 | $26.00 | $43.00 | — |
Floorcovering installers in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Voluntary certification
- Alberta Voluntary certification
- Saskatchewan Not confirmed yet
- Manitoba Voluntary certification
- Ontario Voluntary certification
- Quebec Certification required
- Nova Scotia Voluntary certification
- Prince Edward Island Voluntary certification
- Newfoundland and Labrador Voluntary certification
- Yukon Voluntary certification
- Northwest Territories Voluntary certification
- Nunavut Voluntary certification
Sources checked
- Designated occupations - gnb.ca gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/designated... · fetched October 9, 2026
- The apprenticeship and occupational certification program - gnb.ca gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/apprentice... · fetched October 9, 2026
- Fees and forms - gnb.ca gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/fees-forms... · fetched October 9, 2026
- Internationally and nationally trained or certified trades people - gnb.ca gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/trained-tr... · fetched October 9, 2026
- List of designated occupations - gnb.ca gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/designated... · fetched October 9, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as a floorcovering installer in New Brunswick?
No. Certification is available, but it is not required to work in the trade in New Brunswick. Certification is managed by the New Brunswick Department of Post-Secondary Education, Training and Labour.
Which exams are required?
certification examination.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.