At a glance

Licence status
Voluntary certification See the source
Routes

Your roadmap

Trained in Canada

  • Listed one-time fees: $250
  • 2 steps without a listed fee
  1. Gain the equivalent of 7,200 hours of practical experience with a training program or 9,000 hours without a training program in the occupation.

    Source
    “A person who has gained the equivalent of 7,200 hours of practical experience with a training program or 9,000 hours of practical experience without a training program in the heat treatment technician occupation may apply to challenge the certification examination.”
    gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/designated...
  2. Apply to challenge the certification examination.

    Source
    “may apply to challenge the certification examination.”
    gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/designated...
  3. Pass the certification examination.

    Source
    “Successful candidates will receive a New Brunswick Certificate of Qualification.”
    gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/designated...

Listed fees for this route

One-time total listed: $250

One-time fees listed for Trained in Canada, by type
Fee typeAmountShare
Application $250 100%
One-time total $250 100%

2 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Licensed in another province

  • 1 step without a listed fee
  1. Work in New Brunswick using a valid out-of-province Certificate of Qualification or Red Seal endorsement.

    Source
    “Tradespeople with a valid out-of-province Certificate of Qualification (C of Q) or Red Seal endorsement can work in New Brunswick using their existing credential.”
    gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/trained-tr...

Listed fees for this route

No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with New Brunswick Department of Post-Secondary Education, Training and Labour

1 step without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Trained outside Canada

  • Listed one-time fees: $100
  • 4 steps without a listed fee
  1. Get a job in your trade and gain local experience.

    Source
    “Start by getting a job in your trade and gaining local experience then, contact Skilled Trades NB to see if you can challenge the certification exam or if the apprenticeship program is the better path for your success.”
    gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/trained-tr...
  2. Contact Skilled Trades NB to find out whether to challenge the certification exam or enter the apprenticeship program.

    Source
    “Start by getting a job in your trade and gaining local experience then, contact Skilled Trades NB to see if you can challenge the certification exam or if the apprenticeship program is the better path for your success.”
    gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/trained-tr...
  3. Have your international education and work experience reviewed to identify credit toward New Brunswick certification.

    Source
    “Assessment of your experience: Your international education and work experience are reviewed to identify credit toward NB certification.”
    gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/trained-tr...
  4. Develop and complete a personalized learning plan with Skilled Trades NB and your employer to address differences in language, terminology, safety and trade practices and standards.

    Source
    “Personalized learning plan: Develop and complete a plan is created with Skilled Trades NB and your employer to address differences in language, terminology and safety and trade practices and standards.”
    gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/trained-tr...
  5. Attend training or challenge the certification exam when ready.

    Source
    “Training and certification exam: Attend training or challenge the exam when ready.”
    gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/trained-tr...

Listed fees for this route

One-time total listed: $100

One-time fees listed for Trained outside Canada, by type
Fee typeAmountShare
Assessment $100 100%
One-time total $100 100%

4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Other listed fees

The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.

Requirements

Experience

  • Applicants must have gained the equivalent of 7,200 hours of practical experience with a training program or 9,000 hours without a training program in the heat treatment technician occupation.

    Source
    “A person who has gained the equivalent of 7,200 hours of practical experience with a training program or 9,000 hours of practical experience without a training program in the heat treatment technician occupation may apply to challenge the certification examination.”
    gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/designated...

Already licensed in another province?

Direct transfer

Tradespeople with a valid out-of-province Certificate of Qualification or Red Seal endorsement can work in New Brunswick using their existing credential without first obtaining a New Brunswick Certificate of Qualification.

Source
“Tradespeople with a valid out-of-province Certificate of Qualification (C of Q) or Red Seal endorsement can work in New Brunswick using their existing credential.”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/trained-tr...

Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with New Brunswick Department of Post-Secondary Education, Training and Labour

Check a move between two provinces

Credential assessment

Not stated by the regulator Check with New Brunswick Department of Post-Secondary Education, Training and Labour

Exams

Language tests

Not stated by the regulator Check with New Brunswick Department of Post-Secondary Education, Training and Labour

Compare scores across provinces and professions

Canadian experience

Not stated by the regulator Check with New Brunswick Department of Post-Secondary Education, Training and Labour

Supervised practice

Not stated by the regulator Check with New Brunswick Department of Post-Secondary Education, Training and Labour

Demand and pay

No Job Bank wage or outlook data for this occupation yet.

Heat treatment technicians in other provinces and territories

  • British Columbia Not confirmed yet
  • Alberta Not confirmed yet
  • Saskatchewan Not confirmed yet
  • Manitoba Not confirmed yet
  • Ontario Not confirmed yet
  • Quebec Not confirmed yet
  • Nova Scotia Not confirmed yet
  • Prince Edward Island Not confirmed yet
  • Newfoundland and Labrador Not confirmed yet
  • Yukon Not confirmed yet
  • Northwest Territories Not confirmed yet
  • Nunavut Not confirmed yet

Compare heat treatment technician licensing across Canada

Sources checked

  1. List of designated occupations - gnb.ca gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/designated... · fetched October 11, 2026
  2. Fees and forms - gnb.ca gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/fees-forms... · fetched October 11, 2026
  3. Internationally and nationally trained or certified trades people - gnb.ca gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/trained-tr... · fetched October 11, 2026

Frequently asked questions

2

Do you need a licence to work as a heat treatment technician in New Brunswick?

No. Certification is available, but it is not required to work in the trade in New Brunswick. Certification is managed by the New Brunswick Department of Post-Secondary Education, Training and Labour.

Which exams are required?

Certification examination.

Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too

Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.

Schedule a Call

Free consultation. No commitment.