How to Become a Heavy Duty Equipment Technician in New Brunswick
Do you need certification?
Certification is voluntary
Heavy duty equipment technician is a voluntary trade in New Brunswick. You can work in the trade without a certificate.
- Protected titles
- Not listed in the sources checked
Show the source
“Heavy Duty Equipment Technician — Red Seal”
From gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/designated..., checked October 11, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Voluntary certification See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 4 steps, listed one-time fees $475
- Licensed in another province: 1 step
- Trained outside Canada: 5 steps, listed one-time fees $550
- Annual fees
- Not stated by the regulator Check with New Brunswick Department of Post-Secondary Education, Training and Labour
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 4 done
- Listed one-time fees: $475
- 2 steps without a listed fee
- Listed time: 236.8 months (only 1 of 4 steps state a time)
-
Get a job in the trade with an employer.
- Apprentice registration: $25
Source
“| Apprentice registration | $25 |”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/fees-forms...
Source
“Apprenticeship — obtain employment and register as an apprentice, successfully complete all apprenticeship program requirements such as the on-the-job, technical training requirements and examinations to achieve a Diploma of Apprenticeship and Certificate of Qualification.”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/apprentice... - Apprentice registration: $25
-
Register as an apprentice with the apprenticeship authority.
Source
“Apprenticeship — obtain employment and register as an apprentice, successfully complete all apprenticeship program requirements such as the on-the-job, technical training requirements and examinations to achieve a Diploma of Apprenticeship and Certificate of Qualification.”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/apprentice... -
Complete the on-the-job and technical training requirements of the apprenticeship program.
Time: 7,200 daysTime source
“A New Brunswick Diploma of Apprenticeship and a Certificate of Qualification are awarded upon successful completion of 7,200 hours of on the job and technical training and the final examination.”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/designated...Source
“Apprenticeship — obtain employment and register as an apprentice, successfully complete all apprenticeship program requirements such as the on-the-job, technical training requirements and examinations to achieve a Diploma of Apprenticeship and Certificate of Qualification.”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/apprentice... -
Successfully complete the examinations required by the apprenticeship program.
- Certificate of qualification examination: $250
Source
“| Certificate of qualification examination | $250 |”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/fees-forms... - Interprovincial standards (Red Seal) examination: $200
Source
“| Interprovincial standards (Red Seal) examination | $200 |”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/fees-forms...
Source
“Apprenticeship — obtain employment and register as an apprentice, successfully complete all apprenticeship program requirements such as the on-the-job, technical training requirements and examinations to achieve a Diploma of Apprenticeship and Certificate of Qualification.”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/apprentice... - Certificate of qualification examination: $250
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $475
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Application | $25 | 5% |
| Exams | $450 | 95% |
| One-time total | $475 | 100% |
2 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Licensed in another province
0 of 1 done
- 1 step without a listed fee
-
Work in New Brunswick using a valid out-of-province Certificate of Qualification or Red Seal endorsement.
Source
“Tradespeople with a valid out-of-province Certificate of Qualification (C of Q) or Red Seal endorsement can work in New Brunswick using their existing credential.”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/trained-tr...
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with New Brunswick Department of Post-Secondary Education, Training and Labour
1 step without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Trained outside Canada
0 of 5 done
- Listed one-time fees: $550
- 3 steps without a listed fee
-
Get a job in the trade and gain local experience.
Source
“Start by getting a job in your trade and gaining local experience then, contact Skilled Trades NB to see if you can challenge the certification exam or if the apprenticeship program is the better path for your success.”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/trained-tr... -
Contact Skilled Trades NB to find out whether to challenge the certification exam or enter the apprenticeship program.
Source
“Start by getting a job in your trade and gaining local experience then, contact Skilled Trades NB to see if you can challenge the certification exam or if the apprenticeship program is the better path for your success.”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/trained-tr... -
Have your international education and work experience reviewed to identify credit toward New Brunswick certification.
- Foreign credential assessment fee: $100
Source
“| Foreign credential assessment fee | $100 |”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/fees-forms... - Assessment for prior learning: $100
Source
“| Assessment for prior learning | $100 |”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/fees-forms...
Source
“Assessment of your experience: Your international education and work experience are reviewed to identify credit toward NB certification.”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/trained-tr... - Foreign credential assessment fee: $100
-
Develop and complete a learning plan with Skilled Trades NB and your employer to address differences in language, terminology, safety, and trade practices and standards.
Source
“Personalized learning plan: Develop and complete a plan is created with Skilled Trades NB and your employer to address differences in language, terminology and safety and trade practices and standards.”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/trained-tr... -
Attend training or challenge the certification exam when ready.
- Certificate of qualification examination: $250
Source
“| Certificate of qualification examination | $250 |”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/fees-forms... - Certificate of qualification challenger assessment: $100
Source
“| Certificate of qualification challenger assessment | $100 |”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/fees-forms...
Source
“Training and certification exam: Attend training or challenge the exam when ready.”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/trained-tr... - Certificate of qualification examination: $250
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $550
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Assessment | $200 | 36% |
| Exams | $350 | 64% |
| One-time total | $550 | 100% |
3 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Other listed fees
The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.
- Certificate of qualification re-examination: $120
Source
“| Certificate of qualification re-examination | $120 |”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/fees-forms... - Practical examination: $350
Source
“| Practical examination | $350 |”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/fees-forms... - Letter of authenticity: $200
Source
“| Letter of authenticity | $200 |”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/fees-forms... - Replacement certificate: $20
Source
“| Replacement certificate | $20 |”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/fees-forms... - Work permit in a compulsory occupation: $200
Source
“| Work permit in a compulsory occupation | $200 |”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/fees-forms... - Photo identification card replacement: $20
Source
“| Photo identification card replacement | $20 |”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/fees-forms... - Progress record book replacement: $25
Source
“| Progress record book replacement | $25 |”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/fees-forms...
Requirements
Experience
Applicants must complete 7,200 hours of on-the-job and technical training and pass the final examination to receive a Diploma of Apprenticeship and a Certificate of Qualification.
Source
“A New Brunswick Diploma of Apprenticeship and a Certificate of Qualification are awarded upon successful completion of 7,200 hours of on the job and technical training and the final examination.”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/designated...A person with the equivalent of 10,800 hours of practical experience in the occupation may apply to challenge the certification examination.
Source
“A person who has gained the equivalent of 10,800 hours of practical experience in the heavy duty equipment technician occupation may apply to challenge the certification examination.”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/designated...
Already licensed in another province?
Direct transfer
Tradespeople with a valid out-of-province Certificate of Qualification or Red Seal endorsement can work in New Brunswick using their existing credential without first obtaining a New Brunswick Certificate of Qualification. Source
“Tradespeople with a valid out-of-province Certificate of Qualification (C of Q) or Red Seal endorsement can work in New Brunswick using their existing credential.”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/trained-tr...
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with New Brunswick Department of Post-Secondary Education, Training and Labour
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with New Brunswick Department of Post-Secondary Education, Training and Labour
Exams
-
certification examination
Source
“A person who has gained the equivalent of 10,800 hours of practical experience in the heavy duty equipment technician occupation may apply to challenge the certification examination.”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/designated... -
final examination
Source
“A New Brunswick Diploma of Apprenticeship and a Certificate of Qualification are awarded upon successful completion of 7,200 hours of on the job and technical training and the final examination.”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/designated... -
Interprovincial standards (Red Seal) examination
Source
“| Interprovincial standards (Red Seal) examination | $200 |”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/fees-forms...Which provinces ask for the Interprovincial standards (Red Seal) examination
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with New Brunswick Department of Post-Secondary Education, Training and Labour
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with New Brunswick Department of Post-Secondary Education, Training and Labour
Supervised practice
Not stated by the regulator Check with New Brunswick Department of Post-Secondary Education, Training and Labour
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| New Brunswick | $20.00 | $29.00 | $40.20 | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Canada | $23.87 | $37.12 | $55.00 | — |
Heavy duty equipment technicians in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Voluntary certification
- Alberta Certification required
- Saskatchewan Voluntary certification
- Manitoba Voluntary certification
- Ontario Voluntary certification
- Quebec Certification required
- Nova Scotia Voluntary certification
- Prince Edward Island Voluntary certification
- Newfoundland and Labrador Voluntary certification
- Yukon Voluntary certification
- Northwest Territories Certification required
- Nunavut Voluntary certification
Compare heavy duty equipment technician licensing across Canada
Sources checked
- List of designated occupations - gnb.ca gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/designated... · fetched October 11, 2026
- The apprenticeship and occupational certification program - gnb.ca gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/apprentice... · fetched October 11, 2026
- Fees and forms - gnb.ca gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/fees-forms... · fetched October 11, 2026
- Internationally and nationally trained or certified trades people - gnb.ca gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/trained-tr... · fetched October 11, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as a heavy duty equipment technician in New Brunswick?
No. Certification is available, but it is not required to work in the trade in New Brunswick. Certification is managed by the New Brunswick Department of Post-Secondary Education, Training and Labour.
Which exams are required?
certification examination, final examination, Interprovincial standards (Red Seal) examination.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.