How to Become a Medical Laboratory Technologist in New Brunswick
Do you need a licence?
Licence required
You must be registered with the New Brunswick Society of Medical Laboratory Technologists to work as a medical laboratory technologist in New Brunswick or to use a protected title.
- Protected titles
- Not listed in the sources checked
Show the source
“Mandatory license in order to use protected titles and/or perform controlled acts.”
From nbsmlt.nb.ca/en/about-us/who-we-are, checked October 10, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Licence required See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 5 steps, listed one-time fees $110 (1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total)
- Licensed in another province: 6 steps (1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total)
- Trained outside Canada: 4 steps
- Annual fees
-
- 2026 NBSMLT license: $290 (proof of PLI must be provided)
Source
“2026 NBSMLT license (proof of PLI must be provided) $290.00 CAD”
nbsmlt.nb.ca/en/registration-renewal/inter-province-transfer - 2027 NBSMLT license: $315 (proof of PLI must be provided)
Source
“2027 NBSMLT license (proof of PLI must be provided) $315.00 CAD”
nbsmlt.nb.ca/en/registration-renewal/inter-province-transfer
- 2026 NBSMLT license: $290 (proof of PLI must be provided)
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 5 done
- Listed one-time fees: $110
- 1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total
- 3 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $290 (proof of PLI must be provided), $315 (proof of PLI must be provided)
- Listed time: 0.3 months (only 1 of 5 steps state a time)
-
Successfully complete didactic and clinical training at an accredited technical school or university.
Source
“An MLT is trained at an accredited technical school or university; the candidate must successfully complete didactic and clinical training to be eligible to write the national entry to practice examinations.”
nbsmlt.nb.ca/en/standards/position-statements/entry-to-practice-for... -
Write and pass the national entry-to-practice examination recognized by the NBSMLT.
Source
“The NBSMLT recognizes the CAMLPR entry-to-practice examination as the minimum standard for entry to practice as a Medical Laboratory Technologist (MLT), effective March 1, 2026.”
nbsmlt.nb.ca/en/standards/position-statements/entry-to-practice-for... -
Fill out the initial application form and the provincial registration form with the code sheet, and scan and email all documents together.
- Initial application: $110
Source
“Fill out initial application form ($110)”
nbsmlt.nb.ca/en/registration-renewal/canadian-certified-mlt -
Within 24 hours, pay both the initial application fee and the NBSMLT dues.
- 2026 NBSMLT license: $290 (proof of PLI must be provided)
Source
“2026 NBSMLT license (proof of PLI must be provided) $290.00 CAD”
nbsmlt.nb.ca/en/registration-renewal/canadian-certified-mlt
Source
“Within 24 hrs, Pay both initial application and NBSMLT dues”
nbsmlt.nb.ca/en/registration-renewal/canadian-certified-mlt - 2026 NBSMLT license: $290 (proof of PLI must be provided)
-
Allow 10 business days for the application to be processed.
Time: 10 daysTime source
“PLEASE ALLOW 10 BUSINESS DAYS FOR PROCESSING”
nbsmlt.nb.ca/en/registration-renewal/canadian-certified-mltSource
“PLEASE ALLOW 10 BUSINESS DAYS FOR PROCESSING”
nbsmlt.nb.ca/en/registration-renewal/canadian-certified-mlt
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $110
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Application | $110 | 100% |
| One-time total | $110 | 100% |
1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total.
3 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.
- 2026 NBSMLT license: $290 (proof of PLI must be provided)
Source
“2026 NBSMLT license (proof of PLI must be provided) $290.00 CAD”
nbsmlt.nb.ca/en/registration-renewal/inter-province-transfer - 2027 NBSMLT license: $315 (proof of PLI must be provided)
Source
“2027 NBSMLT license (proof of PLI must be provided) $315.00 CAD”
nbsmlt.nb.ca/en/registration-renewal/inter-province-transfer
Licensed in another province
0 of 6 done
- 1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total
- 5 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $290 (proof of PLI must be provided), $315 (proof of PLI must be provided)
- Listed time: 0.3 months (only 1 of 6 steps state a time)
-
Submit a letter of good standing from the last registered province.
Source
“Submit letter of good standing from last registered province.”
nbsmlt.nb.ca/en/registration-renewal/inter-province-transfer -
Submit proof of professional liability insurance coverage.
Source
“Submit proof PLI coverage either from CSMLS, MLPAO or Harvard Western Insurance”
nbsmlt.nb.ca/en/registration-renewal/inter-province-transfer -
Submit the NBSMLT application form, the provincial registration form and the code sheet.
Source
“Submit NBSMLT application form (fee waived)”
nbsmlt.nb.ca/en/registration-renewal/inter-province-transfer -
Scan and email all documents in one email.
Source
“Scan to email all documents in ONE email to”
nbsmlt.nb.ca/en/registration-renewal/inter-province-transfer -
Make the online payment within 24 hours of submitting the documents.
- 2026 NBSMLT license: $290 (proof of PLI must be provided)
Source
“2026 NBSMLT license (proof of PLI must be provided) $290.00 CAD”
nbsmlt.nb.ca/en/registration-renewal/inter-province-transfer
Source
“Make online payment within 24 hours of submitting documents”
nbsmlt.nb.ca/en/registration-renewal/inter-province-transfer - 2026 NBSMLT license: $290 (proof of PLI must be provided)
-
Allow 10 business days for processing once all documents have been submitted.
Time: 10 daysTime source
“Please allow 10 business days for processing once all documents have been submitted”
nbsmlt.nb.ca/en/registration-renewal/inter-province-transferSource
“Please allow 10 business days for processing once all documents have been submitted”
nbsmlt.nb.ca/en/registration-renewal/inter-province-transfer
Listed fees for this route
1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total.
5 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.
- 2026 NBSMLT license: $290 (proof of PLI must be provided)
Source
“2026 NBSMLT license (proof of PLI must be provided) $290.00 CAD”
nbsmlt.nb.ca/en/registration-renewal/inter-province-transfer - 2027 NBSMLT license: $315 (proof of PLI must be provided)
Source
“2027 NBSMLT license (proof of PLI must be provided) $315.00 CAD”
nbsmlt.nb.ca/en/registration-renewal/inter-province-transfer
Trained outside Canada
0 of 4 done
- 4 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $290 (proof of PLI must be provided), $315 (proof of PLI must be provided)
-
Apply for the CAMLPR Prior Learning Assessment, which starts the pre-assessment stage that ends when all required documents have been received.
Source
“Stage 1: Pre-assessment Starts when the IEMLT applies for the PLA and ends when all required documents have been received”
nbsmlt.nb.ca/en/registration-renewal/internationally-educated-mlt -
After CAMLPR receives all documents, the assessment team reviews the education and experience against Canadian competencies and sends a technical report.
Source
“When CAMLPR has received all the required documents, the PLA file is forwarded to the assessment team for review.”
nbsmlt.nb.ca/en/registration-renewal/internationally-educated-mlt -
If gaps are identified, complete any Canadian courses or training required to obtain equivalency, and consider a bridging program.
Source
“Some IEMLTs must complete some Canadian courses or training to obtain equivalency. It is strongly recommended that IEMLTs complete a bridging program to be successful on the national certification exam and integrate in the health care system.”
nbsmlt.nb.ca/en/registration-renewal/internationally-educated-mlt -
Register to write the CAMLPR entry-to-practice exams, which may make the candidate eligible for a restricted temporary license.
Source
“Candidates who have been declared equivalent by CAMLPR and have registered to write the CAMLPR entry to practice exams may be eligible for a restricted temporary license with restrictions..”
nbsmlt.nb.ca/en/registration-renewal/internationally-educated-mlt
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with New Brunswick Society of Medical Laboratory Technologists
4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.
- 2026 NBSMLT license: $290 (proof of PLI must be provided)
Source
“2026 NBSMLT license (proof of PLI must be provided) $290.00 CAD”
nbsmlt.nb.ca/en/registration-renewal/inter-province-transfer - 2027 NBSMLT license: $315 (proof of PLI must be provided)
Source
“2027 NBSMLT license (proof of PLI must be provided) $315.00 CAD”
nbsmlt.nb.ca/en/registration-renewal/inter-province-transfer
Other listed fees
The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.
- Reinstatement: $200
Source
“Including the above, an additional $200 reinstatement is also required.”
nbsmlt.nb.ca/en/registration-renewal/canadian-certified-mlt - Letter of standing request: $50
Requirements
Education
You must have either successfully completed an accredited MLT program or been deemed equivalent after a prior learning assessment conducted by CAMLPR.
Source
“To be eligible for registration as an MLT in New Brunswick, education requirements state that you must have either successfully completed an accredited MLT program, or been deemed equivalent after having a prior learning assessment conducted by CAMLPR which is the NBSMLT recognized body to perfrom PLA.”
nbsmlt.nb.ca/en/registration-renewal/education-requirements
Experience
Applicants re-entering practice must show proof of 750 practice hours in the last 3 years.
Source
“Proof of 750 practice hours in the last 3 years is required.”
nbsmlt.nb.ca/en/registration-renewal/canadian-certified-mlt
Insurance
Applicants must provide proof of current professional liability insurance.
Source
“Proof of current PLI (CSMLS, MLPAO,Harvard Western Insurance)”
nbsmlt.nb.ca/en/registration-renewal/canadian-certified-mlt
Good character
Applicants transferring from another province must be in good standing with their regulatory body.
Source
“and are in good standing with the regulatory body and who have successfully completed an approved entry to practice exam.”
nbsmlt.nb.ca/en/registration-renewal/inter-province-transfer
Other
Applicants re-entering practice must submit their Professional Development Program credit hours of the last 3 years.
Source
“Submit your Professional Development Program credit hours of the last 3 years.”
nbsmlt.nb.ca/en/registration-renewal/canadian-certified-mlt
Already licensed in another province?
Extra steps
Source
“Certified Medical Laboratory Technologist transferring from another province shall be those persons licensed by a regulatory body in another Canadian jurisdiction immediately prior to application for licensure in New Brunswick, and are in good standing with the regulatory body and who have successfully completed an approved entry to practice exam.”
nbsmlt.nb.ca/en/registration-renewal/inter-province-transfer
Submit documents and payment
Source
“Submit letter of good standing from last registered province.”
nbsmlt.nb.ca/en/registration-renewal/inter-province-transfer
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with New Brunswick Society of Medical Laboratory Technologists
Credential assessment
CAMLPR Prior Learning Assessment (PLA)
Determines whether internationally educated applicants' education and experience are equivalent to Canadian standards.
Source
“The NBSMLT requires that all internationally educated medical laboratory technologists (IEMLTs) complete the Canadian Alliance of Medical Laboratory Professionals Regulators (CAMLPR) Prior Learning Assessment (PLA) to determine if the education and experience is equivalent to Canadian standards.”
nbsmlt.nb.ca/en/registration-renewal/internationally-educated-mlt
Exams
-
CAMLPR entry-to-practice examination
Source
“The NBSMLT recognizes the CAMLPR entry-to-practice examination as the minimum standard for entry to practice as a Medical Laboratory Technologist (MLT), effective March 1, 2026.”
nbsmlt.nb.ca/en/standards/position-statements/entry-to-practice-for... -
CSMLS entry-to-practice examination
Source
“Applicants who successfully completed the CSMLS entry-to-practice examination prior to March 1, 2026, continue to have that examination recognized for registration purposes.”
nbsmlt.nb.ca/en/standards/position-statements/entry-to-practice-for... -
Québec MLT Ministerial exam
Source
“NON-Certified Medical Laboratory Technologist transferring from Quebec shall be those persons who have either wrote the Québec MLT Ministerial exam and/or worked as an MLT for a period of one (1) year in Québec”
nbsmlt.nb.ca/en/registration-renewal/inter-province-transfer
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with New Brunswick Society of Medical Laboratory Technologists
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with New Brunswick Society of Medical Laboratory Technologists
Supervised practice
Not required
The pages do not describe a supervised practice requirement. Source
“Candidates who have been declared equivalent by CAMLPR and have registered to write the CAMLPR entry to practice exams may be eligible for a restricted temporary license with restrictions..”
nbsmlt.nb.ca/en/registration-renewal/internationally-educated-mlt
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| New Brunswick | $30.50 | $35.78 | $44.95 | Very good (5 of 5) |
| Canada | $25.13 | $39.00 | $49.00 | — |
Medical laboratory technologists in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Not confirmed yet
- Alberta Licence required
- Saskatchewan Licence required
- Manitoba Licence required
- Ontario Licence required
- Quebec Licence required
- Nova Scotia Licence required
- Prince Edward Island Not confirmed yet
- Newfoundland and Labrador Licence required
- Yukon Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories Not confirmed yet
- Nunavut Not confirmed yet
Compare medical laboratory technologist licensing across Canada
Sources checked
- Who We Are - NBSMLT nbsmlt.nb.ca/en/about-us/who-we-are · fetched October 10, 2026
- Entry To Practice for Medical Laboratory Technologists in New Brunswick - NBSMLT nbsmlt.nb.ca/en/standards/position-statements/entry-to-practice-for... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Canadian Certified MLT - NBSMLT nbsmlt.nb.ca/en/registration-renewal/canadian-certified-mlt · fetched October 10, 2026
- Interprovincial Transfer - NBSMLT nbsmlt.nb.ca/en/registration-renewal/inter-province-transfer · fetched October 10, 2026
- Internationally Educated MLT - NBSMLT nbsmlt.nb.ca/en/registration-renewal/internationally-educated-mlt · fetched October 10, 2026
- Education Requirements - NBSMLT nbsmlt.nb.ca/en/registration-renewal/education-requirements · fetched October 10, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as a medical laboratory technologist in New Brunswick?
Yes. Registration with the New Brunswick Society of Medical Laboratory Technologists is required to practise in New Brunswick.
Which exams are required?
CAMLPR entry-to-practice examination, CSMLS entry-to-practice examination, Québec MLT Ministerial exam.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.