How to Become a Transport Refrigeration Mechanic in New Brunswick
Do you need certification?
Certification is voluntary
Transport refrigeration mechanic is a voluntary trade in New Brunswick. You can work in the trade without a certificate.
- Protected titles
- Not listed in the sources checked
Show the source
“Transport Refrigeration Service Technician”
From gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/designated..., checked October 11, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Voluntary certification See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 4 steps, listed one-time fees $25
- Licensed in another province: 1 step
- Trained outside Canada: 5 steps, listed one-time fees $350
- Annual fees
- Not stated by the regulator Check with New Brunswick Department of Post-Secondary Education, Training and Labour
Your roadmap
The New Brunswick Department of Post-Secondary Education, Training and Labour has no page of its own for this trade. These are the steps it gives for every designated trade in New Brunswick.
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 4 done
- Listed one-time fees: $25
- 3 steps without a listed fee
-
Get a job in the trade with an employer.
Source
“obtain employment and register as an apprentice”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/apprentice... -
Register as an apprentice with the apprenticeship authority.
- Apprentice registration: $25
Source
“Apprentice registration | $25”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/fees-forms...
Source
“obtain employment and register as an apprentice”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/apprentice... - Apprentice registration: $25
-
Successfully complete all apprenticeship program requirements such as the on-the-job and technical training requirements and examinations.
Source
“successfully complete all apprenticeship program requirements such as the on-the-job, technical training requirements and examinations”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/apprentice... -
Achieve a Diploma of Apprenticeship and Certificate of Qualification.
Source
“to achieve a Diploma of Apprenticeship and Certificate of Qualification”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/apprentice...
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $25
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Registration | $25 | 100% |
| One-time total | $25 | 100% |
3 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Licensed in another province
0 of 1 done
- 1 step without a listed fee
-
Work in New Brunswick using a valid out-of-province Certificate of Qualification or Red Seal endorsement.
Source
“Tradespeople with a valid out-of-province Certificate of Qualification (C of Q) or Red Seal endorsement can work in New Brunswick using their existing credential.”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/trained-tr...
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with New Brunswick Department of Post-Secondary Education, Training and Labour
1 step without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Trained outside Canada
0 of 5 done
- Listed one-time fees: $350
- 3 steps without a listed fee
-
Get a job in your trade and gain local experience.
Source
“Start by getting a job in your trade and gaining local experience”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/trained-tr... -
Contact Skilled Trades NB to find out whether you can challenge the certification exam or whether the apprenticeship program is the better path.
Source
“contact Skilled Trades NB to see if you can challenge the certification exam or if the apprenticeship program is the better path for your success”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/trained-tr... -
Your international education and work experience are reviewed to identify credit toward New Brunswick certification.
- Foreign credential assessment fee: $100
Source
“Foreign credential assessment fee | $100”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/fees-forms...
Source
“Assessment of your experience: Your international education and work experience are reviewed to identify credit toward NB certification.”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/trained-tr... - Foreign credential assessment fee: $100
-
Develop and complete a plan created with Skilled Trades NB and your employer to address differences in language, terminology, safety and trade practices and standards.
Source
“Personalized learning plan: Develop and complete a plan is created with Skilled Trades NB and your employer to address differences in language, terminology and safety and trade practices and standards.”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/trained-tr... -
Attend training or challenge the exam when ready.
- Certificate of qualification examination: $250
Source
“Certificate of qualification examination | $250”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/fees-forms...
Source
“Training and certification exam: Attend training or challenge the exam when ready.”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/trained-tr... - Certificate of qualification examination: $250
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $350
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Assessment | $100 | 29% |
| Exams | $250 | 71% |
| One-time total | $350 | 100% |
3 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Other listed fees
The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.
- Certificate of qualification challenger assessment: $100
Source
“Certificate of qualification challenger assessment | $100”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/fees-forms... - Certificate of qualification re-examination: $120
Source
“Certificate of qualification re-examination | $120”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/fees-forms... - Practical examination: $350
Source
“Practical examination | $350”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/fees-forms... - Interprovincial standards (Red Seal) examination: $200
Source
“Interprovincial standards (Red Seal) examination | $200”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/fees-forms... - Letter of authenticity: $200
Source
“Letter of authenticity | $200”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/fees-forms... - Replacement certificate: $20
Source
“Replacement certificate | $20”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/fees-forms... - Work permit in a compulsory occupation: $200
Source
“Work permit in a compulsory occupation | $200”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/fees-forms... - Assessment for prior learning: $100
Source
“Assessment for prior learning | $100”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/fees-forms... - Photo identification card replacement: $20
Source
“Photo identification card replacement | $20”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/fees-forms... - Progress record book replacement: $25
Source
“Progress record book replacement | $25”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/fees-forms...
Requirements
Experience
A person who has gained the equivalent of 8,100 hours of practical experience in the transport refrigeration service technician occupation may apply to challenge the certification examination.
Source
“Transport Refrigeration Service Technician | ● | n/a | 8,100”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/fast-facts...
Other
To work in a compulsory occupation, an individual must hold a Certificate of Qualification, a Certificate of Qualification Without Written Examination, or a Diploma of Apprenticeship in the compulsory occupation issued under the act.
Source
“hold a Certificate of Qualification, a Certificate of Qualification Without Written Examination, or a Diploma of Apprenticeship in the compulsory occupation issued under the act”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/designated...Alternatively, a person may hold a work permit or improver card issued under the act, register as an apprentice or pre-apprentice under the act, or be registered as an apprentice in the compulsory occupation in another province or territory of Canada and be working in New Brunswick for a period of six months or less.
Source
“be registered as an apprentice in the compulsory occupation in another province or territory of Canada and be working in New Brunswick for a period of six months or less”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/designated...
Already licensed in another province?
Direct transfer
Certified tradespeople with a valid out-of-province Certificate of Qualification or Red Seal endorsement can move to New Brunswick and work in their trade without first obtaining a New Brunswick Certificate of Qualification. Source
“This means certified tradespeople can move to New Brunswick and work in their trade without first obtaining a New Brunswick Certificate of Qualification (C of Q).”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/trained-tr...
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with New Brunswick Department of Post-Secondary Education, Training and Labour
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with New Brunswick Department of Post-Secondary Education, Training and Labour
Exams
-
Certification Exam
Source
“supply proof of those hours, scope coverage and challenge the Certification Exam”
gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/apprentice...
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with New Brunswick Department of Post-Secondary Education, Training and Labour
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with New Brunswick Department of Post-Secondary Education, Training and Labour
Supervised practice
Not stated by the regulator Check with New Brunswick Department of Post-Secondary Education, Training and Labour
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| New Brunswick | $20.50 | $29.76 | $45.63 | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Canada | $22.00 | $37.50 | $56.00 | — |
Transport refrigeration mechanics in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Not confirmed yet
- Alberta Voluntary certification
- Saskatchewan Not confirmed yet
- Manitoba Not confirmed yet
- Ontario Not confirmed yet
- Quebec Not confirmed yet
- Nova Scotia Not confirmed yet
- Prince Edward Island Not confirmed yet
- Newfoundland and Labrador Not confirmed yet
- Yukon Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories Not confirmed yet
- Nunavut Not confirmed yet
Compare transport refrigeration mechanic licensing across Canada
Sources checked
- List of designated occupations - gnb.ca gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/designated... · fetched October 11, 2026
- The apprenticeship and occupational certification program - gnb.ca gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/apprentice... · fetched October 11, 2026
- Fees and forms - gnb.ca gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/fees-forms... · fetched October 11, 2026
- Internationally and nationally trained or certified trades people - gnb.ca gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/trained-tr... · fetched October 11, 2026
- Designated occupations - gnb.ca gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/designated... · fetched October 11, 2026
- Fast facts about Skilled Trades NB - gnb.ca gnb.ca/en/topic/education-training/apprenticeship-trades/fast-facts... · fetched October 11, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as a transport refrigeration mechanic in New Brunswick?
No. Certification is available, but it is not required to work in the trade in New Brunswick. Certification is managed by the New Brunswick Department of Post-Secondary Education, Training and Labour.
Which exams are required?
Certification Exam.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.