How to Become a Speech-language Pathologist in Newfoundland and Labrador
Do you need a licence?
Licence required
You must be registered with the Newfoundland and Labrador Council of Health Professionals to work as a speech-language pathologist in Newfoundland and Labrador or to use a protected title.
- Protected titles
- Not listed in the sources checked
Show the source
“In Newfoundland and Labrador, only registrants with the NLCHP and CASLPNL can use the following titles and practice in the following areas.”
From nlchp.ca/colleges/caslp-nl, checked October 10, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Licence required See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 3 steps
- Licensed in another province: 3 steps
- Trained outside Canada: 1 step
- Annual fees
- Not stated by the regulator Check with Newfoundland and Labrador Council of Health Professionals
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 3 done
- 3 steps without a listed fee
- Listed time: 1.6 months (only 1 of 3 steps state a time)
-
Graduates of Canadian accredited programs can enroll for the CETP Exams during the exam enrollment period through the SAC website.
Source
“You can apply to write the CETP Exam through the SAC website: https://www.sac-oac.ca/joining-the-profession/cetp-exams/writing-the-cetp-exams/.”
nlchp.ca/speech-language-pathologist -
The applicant submits an application to the NLCHP with government issued photo ID, a criminal record and vulnerable sector check, official transcripts, proof of the national exam, a mentorship guidance contract, professional liability insurance and completed online courses.
-
The NLCHP makes a registration decision no later than 50 business days after all required documentation has been submitted and notifies the applicant by email once approved.
Time: 50 daysTime source
“A registration decision will be made no later than 50 business days after all required documentation has been submitted to the NLCHP.”
nlchp.ca/speech-language-pathologistSource
“A registration decision will be made no later than 50 business days after all required documentation has been submitted to the NLCHP.”
nlchp.ca/speech-language-pathologist
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Newfoundland and Labrador Council of Health Professionals
3 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Licensed in another province
0 of 3 done
- 3 steps without a listed fee
- Listed time: 0.7 months (only 1 of 3 steps state a time)
-
Applicants registered in another jurisdiction must have a Verification of Registration/Letter of Good Standing sent directly to the NLCHP from the regulatory body.
Source
“Individuals currently or previously registered to practice in another jurisdiction must provide a Verification of Registration/Letter of Good Standing (s): These letters must be sent directly to NLCHP from the Regulatory Body.”
nlchp.ca/speech-language-pathologist-2 -
The applicant submits an application to the NLCHP with government issued photo ID, a criminal record and vulnerable sector check, official transcripts, proof of the Canadian Entry-To-Practice Exam, professional liability insurance, proof of practice hours and completed online courses.
-
The NLCHP makes a registration decision no later than 20 business days after all required documentation has been submitted and notifies the applicant by email once approved.
Time: 20 daysTime source
“A registration decision will be made no later than 20 business days after all required documentation has been submitted to the NLCHP.”
nlchp.ca/speech-language-pathologist-2Source
“A registration decision will be made no later than 20 business days after all required documentation has been submitted to the NLCHP.”
nlchp.ca/speech-language-pathologist-2
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Newfoundland and Labrador Council of Health Professionals
3 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Trained outside Canada
0 of 1 done
- 1 step without a listed fee
-
Internationally educated applicants should contact the NLCHP office for information about the registration process.
Source
“Contact NLCHP office for information about the registration process.”
nlchp.ca/registration-renewal/internationally-educated-health-profe...
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Newfoundland and Labrador Council of Health Professionals
1 step without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Other listed fees
The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.
- Unauthorized Practice Fee: $100 (per day worked without a valid practicing license)
Source
“Individuals who practice without a valid practicing license will be subject to a penalty of $100/per day worked and where the period of practice exceeds three days from and including the 1st day will be subject to discipline in accordance with Part V of the *Health Professions Act* (2010).”
nlchp.ca/speech-language-pathologist
Requirements
Education
Applicants must have official transcripts or proof of education program completion sent directly from their educational institution to the NLCHP.
Source
“You must have official transcripts/proof of education program completion sent directly from your educational institution to the NLCHP.”
nlchp.ca/speech-language-pathologist
Experience
Speech-Language Pathologists must confirm that they have practiced 1000 hours in the previous four years.
Source
“Speech-Language Pathologists must confirm that they have practiced 1000 hours in the previous four years.”
nlchp.ca/speech-language-pathologist-2
Police check
Applicants must submit a Certificate of Conduct and Vulnerable Sector Check dated within 6 months of the application date, with the original documents forwarded to the NLCHP office.
Source
“The Certificate of Conduct and Vulnerable Sector Check must be dated within 6 months of your application date. The NLCHP requires the original document(s) be forwarded to the NLCHP office via mail or drop off following submission of your application.”
nlchp.ca/speech-language-pathologist
Insurance
Speech-Language Pathologists must have professional liability insurance with a minimum coverage of $2,000,000.
Source
“Proof of professional liability insurance (PLI) must show your name, dates of coverage, and amount of coverage. Speech-Language Pathologists must have a minimum of $ 2,000,000 PLI”
nlchp.ca/speech-language-pathologist
Other
Applicants must provide proof that they have successfully completed the National Certification Exam.
Source
“You must provide proof that you have successfully completed the National Certification Exam.”
nlchp.ca/speech-language-pathologistApplicants must complete the required online courses within 3 months of the date their application is submitted.
Source
“Certificates of completion are required for the following online courses. Courses must be completed withing 3 months of the date your application is submitted.”
nlchp.ca/speech-language-pathologistApplicants must submit their Mentorship Guidance Contract to CASLPNL.
Source
“You must submit your Mentorship Guidance Contract to CASLPNL.”
nlchp.ca/speech-language-pathologist
Already licensed in another province?
Not stated
The pages require applicants registered in another jurisdiction to provide a Verification of Registration/Letter of Good Standing but do not state whether they can register based on their current licence without an exam or assessment. Source
“Individuals currently or previously registered to practice in another jurisdiction must provide a Verification of Registration/Letter of Good Standing (s): These letters must be sent directly to NLCHP from the Regulatory Body.”
nlchp.ca/speech-language-pathologist-2
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Newfoundland and Labrador Council of Health Professionals
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with Newfoundland and Labrador Council of Health Professionals
Exams
-
Canadian Entry -To-Practice (CETP) Exam
Source
“You must submit proof that you have successfully completed the Canadian Entry -To-Practice (CETP) Exam.”
nlchp.ca/speech-language-pathologist-2 -
National Certification Exam
Source
“You must provide proof that you have successfully completed the National Certification Exam.”
nlchp.ca/speech-language-pathologist
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with Newfoundland and Labrador Council of Health Professionals
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with Newfoundland and Labrador Council of Health Professionals
Supervised practice
Not stated by the regulator Check with Newfoundland and Labrador Council of Health Professionals
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Newfoundland and Labrador | $23.75 | $45.00 | $50.00 | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Canada | $33.33 | $46.15 | $59.52 | — |
Wages by region and job outlook in Newfoundland and Labrador
Speech-language pathologists in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Licence required
- Alberta Licence required
- Saskatchewan Licence required
- Manitoba Not confirmed yet
- Ontario Licence required
- Quebec Not confirmed yet
- New Brunswick Licence required
- Nova Scotia Licence required
- Prince Edward Island Not confirmed yet
- Yukon Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories Not confirmed yet
- Nunavut Not confirmed yet
Sources checked
- College of Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology of Newfoundland and Labrador (CASLP-NL) – NLCHPShapeGroup 11 nlchp.ca/colleges/caslp-nl · fetched October 9, 2026
- Speech-Language Pathologists – NLCHPShapeGroup 11 nlchp.ca/speech-language-pathologist · fetched October 9, 2026
- Speech-Language Pathologists – NLCHPShapeGroup 11 nlchp.ca/speech-language-pathologist-2 · fetched October 9, 2026
- Internationally Educated Health Professionals – NLCHPShapeGroup 11 nlchp.ca/registration-renewal/internationally-educated-health-profe... · fetched October 9, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as a speech-language pathologist in Newfoundland and Labrador?
Yes. Registration with the Newfoundland and Labrador Council of Health Professionals is required to practise in Newfoundland and Labrador.
Which exams are required?
Canadian Entry -To-Practice (CETP) Exam, National Certification Exam.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.