At a glance

Licence status
Licence required See the source
Routes
Annual fees
  • Registered Member annual fee: $547.20
    Source
    “Registered Member : $480 + HST (14%) $67.20 = $547.20”
    idns.ca/newmbrscate
  • Non-Resident Registered Member annual fee: $547.20
    Source
    “Non-Resident Registered Member : $480 + HST (14%) $67.20 = $547.20”
    idns.ca/newmbrscate
  • Intern Member annual fee: $250.80
    Source
    “Intern Member : $220.00 + HST (14%) $30.80 = $250.80”
    idns.ca/newmbrscate
  • Allied Member annual fee: $250.80
    Source
    “Allied Member : $220.00 + HST (14%) $30.80 = 250.80”
    idns.ca/newmbrscate
  • Inactive Member annual fee: $199.50
    Source
    “Inactive Member : $175.00 + HST (14%) $24.50 = $199.50”
    idns.ca/newmbrscate
  • Retired Member annual fee: $28.50
    Source
    “Retired Member : $25.00 + HST (14%) $3.50 = $28.50”
    idns.ca/newmbrscate
  • Student annual fee: $28.50
    Source
    “Student : $25.00 + HST (14%) $3.50 = $28.50”
    idns.ca/newmbrscate

Your roadmap

Trained in Canada

  • Listed one-time fees: $35
  • 5 steps without a listed fee
  • Annual fees: $1,852.50
  • Listed time: 1 month (only 1 of 6 steps state a time)
  1. Source
    “Post- Secondary Education prior to December 2007, IDNS has a minimal requirement of the successful completion of a three year diploma granting professional level program at an accredited institute.”
    idns.ca/become-an-interior-designer
  2. Accumulate a minimum of 3250 hours of interior design experience under the direct supervision of a Registered Interior Designer or Architect.

    Source
    “IDNS requires a minimum of 3250 hours of Interior Design experience under the direct supervision of a Registered Interior Designer or Architect.”
    idns.ca/become-an-interior-designer
  3. Successfully complete the NCIDQ exam to qualify for Registered membership.

    Source
    “IDNS requires successful completion of the NCIDQ exam, (National Council for Interior Design Qualification exam) to become a Registered, Allied or Non Resident Registered member with IDNS.”
    idns.ca/become-an-interior-designer
  4. Complete the membership application, agree to abide by the Act, Regulations and By-Laws, and pay the application administration fee.

    • Application administration fee: $35
      Source
      “How would you like to pay the administration fee ($35.00) to process your application?”
      idns.ca/appnewmbr
    Source
    “I hereby make application for membership in the Association of Interior Designers of Nova Scotia (IDNS). If accepted, I agree to abide by the Act, Regulations and By-Laws of this Association and accept any decisions of the Board of Directors.”
    idns.ca/appnewmbr
  5. The application is reviewed within 30 days of receipt of the application fee and all required forms and documentation.

    Time: 30 days
    Time source
    “Applications will be reviewed within 30 days of receipt of application fee, all required forms and documentations.”
    idns.ca/appnewmbr
    Source
    “Applications will be reviewed within 30 days of receipt of application fee, all required forms and documentations.”
    idns.ca/appnewmbr
  6. After acceptance, pay the annual membership dues and provide proof of liability insurance for membership to commence.

    Source
    “If an applicant is accepted, a letter will be issued along with an invoice for the annual membership dues.”
    idns.ca/appnewmbr

Listed fees for this route

One-time total listed: $35

One-time fees listed for Trained in Canada, by type
Fee typeAmountShare
Application $35 100%
One-time total $35 100%

5 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Annual fees: $1,852.50 a year Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.

  • Registered Member annual fee: $547.20
    Source
    “Registered Member : $480 + HST (14%) $67.20 = $547.20”
    idns.ca/newmbrscate
  • Non-Resident Registered Member annual fee: $547.20
    Source
    “Non-Resident Registered Member : $480 + HST (14%) $67.20 = $547.20”
    idns.ca/newmbrscate
  • Intern Member annual fee: $250.80
    Source
    “Intern Member : $220.00 + HST (14%) $30.80 = $250.80”
    idns.ca/newmbrscate
  • Allied Member annual fee: $250.80
    Source
    “Allied Member : $220.00 + HST (14%) $30.80 = 250.80”
    idns.ca/newmbrscate
  • Inactive Member annual fee: $199.50
    Source
    “Inactive Member : $175.00 + HST (14%) $24.50 = $199.50”
    idns.ca/newmbrscate
  • Retired Member annual fee: $28.50
    Source
    “Retired Member : $25.00 + HST (14%) $3.50 = $28.50”
    idns.ca/newmbrscate
  • Student annual fee: $28.50
    Source
    “Student : $25.00 + HST (14%) $3.50 = $28.50”
    idns.ca/newmbrscate

Other listed fees

The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.

  • Administration fee for returned cheque: $50 (for any cheque returned due to non-sufficient funds)
    Source
    “A $50 administration fee will be assessed for any cheque returned due to non-sufficient funds.”
    idns.ca/newmbrscate
  • Category change processing fee: $50 (when a member changes category within six months of the billable date)
    Source
    “If a member changes category within six months of the billable date, a credit of 50% of their paid portion of the fee will be applied to the new category fee, less a $50 processing fee.”
    idns.ca/newmbrscate

Requirements

Education

  • Applicants must have successfully completed a minimum three year course in Interior Design at an institute accredited by the Council for Interior Design Accreditation.

    Source
    “have successfully completed a minimum three year course in Interior Design at an institute accredited by the Council for Interior Design Accreditation;”
    idns.ca/newmbrscate

Experience

  • Registered members must have an accumulation of seven years of education and active engagement in practical interior design experience.

    Source
    “have an accumulation of seven years of education and active engagement in practical interior design experience;”
    idns.ca/newmbrscate
  • Registered members must be actively engaged in the profession, defined as 1,000 hours in the past consecutive five years or 500 hours in the immediate past year.

    Source
    “be actively engaged in the profession of interior design (defined as 1,000 hours in the past consecutive five years or 500 hours in the immediate past year);”
    idns.ca/newmbrscate

Insurance

  • Professional Liability Insurance is mandatory for all Registered members, with some exceptions.

    Source
    “Professional Liability Insurance is mandatory for all Registered members. Some exceptions do apply.”
    idns.ca/newmbrscate

Residency

  • Registered members must be a permanent or usual resident of Nova Scotia, or a temporary resident outside the province for a maximum of five years.

    Source
    “be a permanent or usual resident of the province of Nova Scotia, (or a temporary resident outside the province of Nova Scotia for a maximum period of five years.)”
    idns.ca/newmbrscate

Already licensed in another province?

Direct transfer

An applicant who holds a Registered membership or equal classification with their local provincial or state interior design association may apply for Non-Resident Registered membership based on that membership.

Source
“have a Registered membership or equal classification with his or her local provincial or state interior design association or meet or exceed the requirements for Registered membership in the Association;”
idns.ca/newmbrscate

Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Association of Interior Designers of Nova Scotia

Check a move between two provinces

Credential assessment

Not stated by the regulator Check with Association of Interior Designers of Nova Scotia

Exams

  • NCIDQ qualification examination

    Source
    “have passed the NCIDQ qualification examination;”
    idns.ca/newmbrscate

Language tests

Not stated by the regulator Check with Association of Interior Designers of Nova Scotia

Compare scores across provinces and professions

Canadian experience

Not stated by the regulator Check with Association of Interior Designers of Nova Scotia

Supervised practice

Not stated by the regulator Check with Association of Interior Designers of Nova Scotia

Demand and pay

Job Bank wages and outlook in Nova Scotia and Canada
WhereLowMedianHighOutlook
Nova Scotia $19.06 $25.40 $40.89 Moderate (3 of 5)
Canada $18.35 $28.85 $48.72 —

Wages by region and job outlook in Nova Scotia

Wages in every province and territory

Interior designers in other provinces and territories

Compare interior designer licensing across Canada

Sources checked

  1. AppNewMbr – IDNS idns.ca/appnewmbr · fetched October 10, 2026
  2. Become an Interior Designer – IDNS idns.ca/become-an-interior-designer · fetched October 10, 2026
  3. NewMbrsCate – IDNS idns.ca/newmbrscate · fetched October 10, 2026

Frequently asked questions

2

Do you need a licence to work as an interior designer in Nova Scotia?

Yes. Registration with the Association of Interior Designers of Nova Scotia is required to practise in Nova Scotia, and to use the title IDNS.

Which exams are required?

NCIDQ qualification examination.

Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too

Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.

Schedule a Call

Free consultation. No commitment.