Province comparison
Acupuncturist Licensing by Province
Licence status by province and territory
Boundaries simplified for display. Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence – Canada. Source: Statistics Canada, 2021 Census boundary files.
- Licence required
- Not confirmed yet
- British Columbia: Licence required
- Alberta: Licence required
- Saskatchewan: Not confirmed yet
- Manitoba: Not confirmed yet
- Ontario: Licence required
- Quebec: Licence required
- New Brunswick: Not confirmed yet
- Nova Scotia: Not confirmed yet
- Prince Edward Island: Not confirmed yet
- Newfoundland and Labrador: Licence required
- Yukon: Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories: Not confirmed yet
- Nunavut: Not confirmed yet
| Where | Licence status | Regulator | Guide |
|---|---|---|---|
| British Columbia | Licence required | College of Complementary Health Professionals of BC | Read the guide for British Columbia |
| Alberta | Licence required | College of Acupuncturists of Alberta | Read the guide for Alberta |
| Saskatchewan | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Manitoba | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Ontario | Licence required | College of Traditional Chinese Medicine Practitioners and Acupuncturists of Ontario | Read the guide for Ontario |
| Quebec | Licence required | Ordre des acupuncteurs du Québec | Read the guide for Quebec |
| New Brunswick | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Nova Scotia | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Prince Edward Island | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | Licence required | Newfoundland and Labrador Council of Health Professionals | Read the guide for Newfoundland and Labrador |
| Yukon | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Northwest Territories | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Nunavut | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
Compare the provinces
Listed one-time fees
| Where | Fees | No-fee steps |
|---|---|---|
| British Columbia | $525 | 4 |
| Alberta | Not listed | 3 |
| Ontario | $3,642 | 7 |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | $1,512 | 4 |
Listed time
Time not stated for every step: British Columbia, Alberta, Ontario, and Newfoundland and Labrador.
Side by side
| Where | Routes | Exams | Language | Listed fees | Listed time | Median wage | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| British Columbia | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | Pan Canadian Acupuncturists Examination, Jurisprudence exam, Interactive Safety Course | — | $525 (Trained outside Canada) | — | $37,929 a year | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Alberta | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | Alberta Acupuncturist Registration Examinations (AARE), Pan-Canadian Acupuncturists Examination, Online Safety Module, Jurisprudence examination, Acupuncture Points Exam, Modalities Exam | — | Not listed | — | $32,867 a year | Very good (5 of 5) |
| Ontario | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | Pan-Canadian Examination for Acupuncturists, Safety Program, Jurisprudence Course | — | $3,642 (Trained outside Canada) | 0.2 to 0.5 months (partial) | $37,561 a year | Good (4 of 5) |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | Pan-Canadian Examination (PCE), Clinical Competency Exam | — | $1,512 (Trained outside Canada) | 1.6 months (partial) | — | Undetermined |
Moving between provinces
- Direct transfer (8)
- Extra steps (4)
- Not stated (8)
All answers as a table
Demand and pay
Median wage
| Where | Low | Median | High |
|---|---|---|---|
| Canada | $32,867 | $32,867 | $79,500 |
| British Columbia | $37,929 | $37,929 | $71,000 |
| Alberta | Not stated | $32,867 | Not stated |
| Saskatchewan | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Manitoba | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Ontario | Not stated | $37,561 | Not stated |
| Quebec | Not stated | $41,600 | Not stated |
| New Brunswick | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Nova Scotia | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Prince Edward Island | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Yukon | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Northwest Territories | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Nunavut | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
Job outlook
| Where | Outlook |
|---|---|
| British Columbia | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Alberta | Very good (5 of 5) |
| Saskatchewan | Outlook not determined |
| Manitoba | Good (4 of 5) |
| Ontario | Good (4 of 5) |
| Quebec | Very good (5 of 5) |
| New Brunswick | Outlook not determined |
| Nova Scotia | Outlook not determined |
| Prince Edward Island | Outlook not determined |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | Outlook not determined |
| Yukon | Outlook not determined |
| Northwest Territories | Outlook not determined |
| Nunavut | Outlook not determined |
Tools and tables
- Licence transfer checker Already licensed in one province? See what another province asks for.
- Roadmap builder Your steps, listed fees and time for one occupation and province.
- Language test scores Minimum IELTS, CELPIP and other scores, by occupation and province.
- Credential assessments Which regulators ask for an assessment of your education.
- Licensing exams Which exams each regulator asks for.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.