Province comparison
Arborist Licensing by Province
Licence status by province and territory
Boundaries simplified for display. Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence – Canada. Source: Statistics Canada, 2021 Census boundary files.
- Certification required
- Voluntary certification
- Not confirmed yet
- British Columbia: Not confirmed yet
- Alberta: Not confirmed yet
- Saskatchewan: Not confirmed yet
- Manitoba: Certification required
- Ontario: Voluntary certification
- Quebec: Certification required
- New Brunswick: Voluntary certification
- Nova Scotia: Voluntary certification
- Prince Edward Island: Not confirmed yet
- Newfoundland and Labrador: Not confirmed yet
- Yukon: Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories: Not confirmed yet
- Nunavut: Not confirmed yet
| Where | Licence status | Regulator | Guide |
|---|---|---|---|
| British Columbia | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Alberta | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Saskatchewan | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Manitoba | Certification required | — | Read the guide for Manitoba |
| Ontario | Voluntary certification | Skilled Trades Ontario | Read the guide for Ontario |
| Quebec | Certification required | Ministère de l'Emploi et de la Solidarité sociale | Read the guide for Quebec |
| New Brunswick | Voluntary certification | New Brunswick Department of Post-Secondary Education, Training and Labour | Read the guide for New Brunswick |
| Nova Scotia | Voluntary certification | Nova Scotia Apprenticeship Agency | Read the guide for Nova Scotia |
| Prince Edward Island | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Yukon | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Northwest Territories | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Nunavut | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
Compare the provinces
Listed one-time fees
No one-time fees are listed in the guides for Ontario, Quebec, New Brunswick, and Nova Scotia.
Listed time
Time not stated for every step: Ontario, Quebec, New Brunswick, and Nova Scotia.
Side by side
| Where | Routes | Exams | Language | Listed fees | Listed time | Median wage | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ontario | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | certifying exam, in-school exemption test | — | Not listed | — | $31.05 an hour | Limited (2 of 5) |
| Quebec | Trained in Canada | — | — | Not listed | — | $27.00 an hour | Limited (2 of 5) |
| New Brunswick | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | certification examination | — | Not listed | — | $24.00 an hour | Undetermined |
| Nova Scotia | — | Arborist certification exam | — | Not listed | — | $24.89 an hour | Moderate (3 of 5) |
Moving between provinces
- Direct transfer (8)
- Not stated (12)
All answers as a table
| Licensed in / moving to | Manitoba | Ontario | Quebec | New Brunswick | Nova Scotia |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Manitoba | Same place | Direct transfer, Manitoba to Ontario | Not stated, Manitoba to Quebec | Direct transfer, Manitoba to New Brunswick | Not stated, Manitoba to Nova Scotia |
| Ontario | Not stated, Ontario to Manitoba | Same place | Not stated, Ontario to Quebec | Direct transfer, Ontario to New Brunswick | Not stated, Ontario to Nova Scotia |
| Quebec | Not stated, Quebec to Manitoba | Direct transfer, Quebec to Ontario | Same place | Direct transfer, Quebec to New Brunswick | Not stated, Quebec to Nova Scotia |
| New Brunswick | Not stated, New Brunswick to Manitoba | Direct transfer, New Brunswick to Ontario | Not stated, New Brunswick to Quebec | Same place | Not stated, New Brunswick to Nova Scotia |
| Nova Scotia | Not stated, Nova Scotia to Manitoba | Direct transfer, Nova Scotia to Ontario | Not stated, Nova Scotia to Quebec | Direct transfer, Nova Scotia to New Brunswick | Same place |
Demand and pay
Median wage
| Where | Low | Median | High |
|---|---|---|---|
| Canada | $21.00 | $30.00 | $40.87 |
| British Columbia | $20.00 | $25.00 | $33.00 |
| Alberta | $18.00 | $23.00 | $32.00 |
| Saskatchewan | $15.35 | $24.28 | $36.19 |
| Manitoba | $18.00 | $21.50 | $27.00 |
| Ontario | $22.00 | $31.05 | $42.82 |
| Quebec | $20.00 | $27.00 | $38.00 |
| New Brunswick | $17.69 | $24.00 | $34.78 |
| Nova Scotia | $18.09 | $24.89 | $37.56 |
| Prince Edward Island | $20.02 | $26.11 | $36.13 |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | $20.97 | $26.28 | $40.86 |
| Yukon | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Northwest Territories | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Nunavut | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
Job outlook
| Where | Outlook |
|---|---|
| British Columbia | Limited (2 of 5) |
| Alberta | Limited (2 of 5) |
| Saskatchewan | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Manitoba | Limited (2 of 5) |
| Ontario | Limited (2 of 5) |
| Quebec | Limited (2 of 5) |
| New Brunswick | Outlook not determined |
| Nova Scotia | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Prince Edward Island | Outlook not determined |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | Outlook not determined |
| Yukon | Outlook not determined |
| Northwest Territories | Outlook not determined |
| Nunavut | Outlook not determined |
Tools and tables
- Licence transfer checker Already licensed in one province? See what another province asks for.
- Roadmap builder Your steps, listed fees and time for one occupation and province.
- Language test scores Minimum IELTS, CELPIP and other scores, by occupation and province.
- Credential assessments Which regulators ask for an assessment of your education.
- Licensing exams Which exams each regulator asks for.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.