Province comparison
Chiropractor Licensing by Province
Licence status by province and territory
Boundaries simplified for display. Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence – Canada. Source: Statistics Canada, 2021 Census boundary files.
- Licence required
- Not confirmed yet
- British Columbia: Licence required
- Alberta: Licence required
- Saskatchewan: Licence required
- Manitoba: Licence required
- Ontario: Licence required
- Quebec: Licence required
- New Brunswick: Licence required
- Nova Scotia: Licence required
- Prince Edward Island: Licence required
- Newfoundland and Labrador: Licence required
- Yukon: Licence required
- Northwest Territories: Not confirmed yet
- Nunavut: Not confirmed yet
Compare the provinces
Listed one-time fees
| Where | Fees | Route | No-fee steps |
|---|---|---|---|
| British Columbia | Not listed | Trained in Canada | 2 |
| Alberta | Not listed | Trained outside Canada | 6 |
| Manitoba | Not listed | — | — |
| Ontario | $5,672 | Trained in Canada | 2 |
| Quebec | $800 | Trained outside Canada | 1 |
| New Brunswick | Not listed | — | — |
| Nova Scotia | Not listed | Trained outside Canada | 3 |
| Prince Edward Island | Not listed | Trained outside Canada | 1 |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | $150 | Trained in Canada | 4 |
| Yukon | $100 | Trained in Canada | 4 |
Listed time
Time not stated for every step: British Columbia, Alberta, Manitoba, Ontario, Quebec, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island, Newfoundland and Labrador, and Yukon.
Side by side
| Where | Routes | Exams | Language | Listed fees | Listed time | Median wage | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| British Columbia | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province | Canadian Chiropractic Examining Board (CCEB) exams, jurisprudence Examination | — | Not listed | — | $60,000 a year | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Alberta | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | online jurisprudence examination, national two-part written and clinical competency examination, Canadian Chiropractic Examining Board (CCEB) exams | — | Not listed | — | $53,600 a year | Good (4 of 5) |
| Manitoba | — | national exams | — | Not listed | — | $91,000 a year | Good (4 of 5) |
| Ontario | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province | Canadian Chiropractic Examining Board (CCEB) Written and Clinical Examinations, CCO’s Legislation and Ethics Examination | — | $5,672 (Trained in Canada) | 2.2 to 2.6 months (partial) | $61,200 a year | Good (4 of 5) |
| Quebec | Trained in Canada, Trained outside Canada | Examens nationaux du Conseil canadien des examens chiropratiques (CCEB), Examen de français de l’Office québécois de la langue française | — | $800 (Trained outside Canada) | — | $68,000 a year | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| New Brunswick | — | national licensing exams | — | Not listed | — | $62,400 a year | Undetermined |
| Nova Scotia | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | Canadian Chiropractic Examining Board entry-to-practice examinations (Written and Clinical Examinations), Jurisprudence Examination, NSCNR Jurisprudence/Ethics exam | — | Not listed | — | $65,000 a year | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Prince Edward Island | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | — | — | Not listed | — | — | Undetermined |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province | Canadian Chiropractic Examining Board (CCEB) exams, Jurisprudence examination | — | $150 (Trained in Canada) | — | — | Undetermined |
| Yukon | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province | — | — | $100 (Trained in Canada) | — | — | Undetermined |
Moving between provinces
- Direct transfer (50)
- Extra steps (10)
- Not stated (50)
All answers as a table
Demand and pay
Median wage
| Where | Low | Median | High |
|---|---|---|---|
| Canada | $32,867 | $62,000 | $138,000 |
| British Columbia | $37,929 | $60,000 | $130,000 |
| Alberta | $32,867 | $53,600 | $134,000 |
| Saskatchewan | Not stated | $57,200 | Not stated |
| Manitoba | Not stated | $91,000 | Not stated |
| Ontario | $37,561 | $61,200 | $137,000 |
| Quebec | $33,109 | $68,000 | $140,000 |
| New Brunswick | Not stated | $62,400 | Not stated |
| Nova Scotia | Not stated | $65,000 | Not stated |
| Prince Edward Island | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Yukon | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Northwest Territories | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Nunavut | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
Job outlook
| Where | Outlook |
|---|---|
| British Columbia | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Alberta | Good (4 of 5) |
| Saskatchewan | Good (4 of 5) |
| Manitoba | Good (4 of 5) |
| Ontario | Good (4 of 5) |
| Quebec | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| New Brunswick | Outlook not determined |
| Nova Scotia | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Prince Edward Island | Outlook not determined |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | Outlook not determined |
| Yukon | Outlook not determined |
| Northwest Territories | Outlook not determined |
| Nunavut | Outlook not determined |
Tools and tables
- Licence transfer checker Already licensed in one province? See what another province asks for.
- Roadmap builder Your steps, listed fees and time for one occupation and province.
- Language test scores Minimum IELTS, CELPIP and other scores, by occupation and province.
- Credential assessments Which regulators ask for an assessment of your education.
- Licensing exams Which exams each regulator asks for.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.