Province comparison
Drywall Finisher and Plasterer Licensing by Province
Licence status by province and territory
Boundaries simplified for display. Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence – Canada. Source: Statistics Canada, 2021 Census boundary files.
- Certification required
- Voluntary certification
- Not confirmed yet
- British Columbia: Voluntary certification
- Alberta: Not confirmed yet
- Saskatchewan: Voluntary certification
- Manitoba: Not confirmed yet
- Ontario: Voluntary certification
- Quebec: Certification required
- New Brunswick: Not confirmed yet
- Nova Scotia: Voluntary certification
- Prince Edward Island: Voluntary certification
- Newfoundland and Labrador: Voluntary certification
- Yukon: Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories: Not confirmed yet
- Nunavut: Not confirmed yet
Compare the provinces
Listed one-time fees
| Where | Fees | Route | No-fee steps |
|---|---|---|---|
| British Columbia | $120 | Trained outside Canada | 4 |
| Ontario | Not listed | Trained in Canada | 3 |
| Quebec | $100 | Trained outside Canada | 3 |
| Nova Scotia | Not listed | Trained in Canada | 2 |
| Prince Edward Island | Not listed | — | — |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | Not listed | Trained outside Canada | 1 |
Listed time
Time not stated for every step: British Columbia, Ontario, Quebec, Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island, and Newfoundland and Labrador.
Side by side
| Where | Routes | Exams | Language | Listed fees | Listed time | Median wage | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| British Columbia | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | Certificate of Qualification Exam, Red Seal exam, Level 1 Standardized Level Exam, Practical assessment | — | $120 (Trained outside Canada) | 25.8 to 26.3 months (partial) | $30.00 an hour | Limited (2 of 5) |
| Ontario | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province | certifying exam | — | Not listed | — | $35.48 an hour | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Quebec | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | Provincial qualification examination | — | $100 (Trained outside Canada) | 0.7 months (partial) | $38.00 an hour | Very limited (1 of 5) |
| Nova Scotia | Trained in Canada | trade qualifier exam, certification exam | — | Not listed | — | $28.00 an hour | Good (4 of 5) |
| Prince Edward Island | — | Written Certification Examination | — | Not listed | — | — | Good (4 of 5) |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | certification exam, Red Seal exam | — | Not listed | — | $25.00 an hour | Undetermined |
Moving between provinces
- Direct transfer (18)
- Not stated (24)
All answers as a table
Demand and pay
Median wage
| Where | Low | Median | High |
|---|---|---|---|
| Canada | $23.00 | $33.00 | $43.75 |
| British Columbia | $22.00 | $30.00 | $39.84 |
| Alberta | $20.00 | $28.65 | $37.00 |
| Saskatchewan | $20.00 | $26.50 | $35.00 |
| Manitoba | $19.00 | $26.52 | $34.00 |
| Ontario | $24.00 | $35.48 | $48.73 |
| Quebec | $25.00 | $38.00 | $43.34 |
| New Brunswick | $21.00 | $28.00 | $34.28 |
| Nova Scotia | $18.88 | $28.00 | $35.13 |
| Prince Edward Island | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | $20.00 | $25.00 | $33.00 |
| Yukon | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Northwest Territories | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Nunavut | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
Job outlook
| Where | Outlook |
|---|---|
| British Columbia | Limited (2 of 5) |
| Alberta | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Saskatchewan | Good (4 of 5) |
| Manitoba | Limited (2 of 5) |
| Ontario | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Quebec | Very limited (1 of 5) |
| New Brunswick | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Nova Scotia | Good (4 of 5) |
| Prince Edward Island | Good (4 of 5) |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | Outlook not determined |
| Yukon | Outlook not determined |
| Northwest Territories | Outlook not determined |
| Nunavut | Outlook not determined |
Tools and tables
- Licence transfer checker Already licensed in one province? See what another province asks for.
- Roadmap builder Your steps, listed fees and time for one occupation and province.
- Language test scores Minimum IELTS, CELPIP and other scores, by occupation and province.
- Credential assessments Which regulators ask for an assessment of your education.
- Licensing exams Which exams each regulator asks for.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.