Province comparison
Engineering Technician Licensing by Province
Licence status by province and territory
Boundaries simplified for display. Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence – Canada. Source: Statistics Canada, 2021 Census boundary files.
- Licence required
- Not confirmed yet
- British Columbia: Not confirmed yet
- Alberta: Not confirmed yet
- Saskatchewan: Not confirmed yet
- Manitoba: Not confirmed yet
- Ontario: Licence required
- Quebec: Not confirmed yet
- New Brunswick: Licence required
- Nova Scotia: Licence required
- Prince Edward Island: Not confirmed yet
- Newfoundland and Labrador: Not confirmed yet
- Yukon: Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories: Not confirmed yet
- Nunavut: Not confirmed yet
| Where | Licence status | Regulator | Guide |
|---|---|---|---|
| British Columbia | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Alberta | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Saskatchewan | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Manitoba | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Ontario | Licence required | Ontario Association of Certified Engineering Technicians & Technologists | Read the guide for Ontario |
| Quebec | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| New Brunswick | Licence required | New Brunswick Society of Certified Engineering Technicians and Technologists | Read the guide for New Brunswick |
| Nova Scotia | Licence required | Society of Certified Engineering Technicians and Technologists of Nova Scotia | Read the guide for Nova Scotia |
| Prince Edward Island | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Yukon | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Northwest Territories | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
| Nunavut | Not confirmed yet | — | — |
Compare the provinces
Listed one-time fees
| Where | Fees | Route | No-fee steps |
|---|---|---|---|
| Ontario | $310.60 | Trained outside Canada | 2 |
| New Brunswick | Not listed | Trained in Canada | 8 |
| Nova Scotia | Not listed | Trained outside Canada | 2 |
Listed time
Time not stated for every step: Ontario, New Brunswick, and Nova Scotia.
Side by side
| Where | Routes | Exams | Language | Listed fees | Listed time | Median wage | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ontario | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | Professional Practice Exam (PPE), Internationally Educated Professional Practice Exam (IEPPE), Technical exam | IELTS Academic 6 overall | $310.60 (Trained outside Canada) | 3 to 4 months (partial) | — | — |
| New Brunswick | Trained in Canada | — | — | Not listed | — | — | — |
| Nova Scotia | Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada | — | — | Not listed | — | — | — |
Moving between provinces
- Direct transfer (2)
- Not stated (4)
All answers as a table
| Licensed in / moving to | Ontario | New Brunswick | Nova Scotia |
|---|---|---|---|
| Ontario | Same place | Not stated, Ontario to New Brunswick | Not stated, Ontario to Nova Scotia |
| New Brunswick | Direct transfer, New Brunswick to Ontario | Same place | Not stated, New Brunswick to Nova Scotia |
| Nova Scotia | Direct transfer, Nova Scotia to Ontario | Not stated, Nova Scotia to New Brunswick | Same place |
Tools and tables
- Licence transfer checker Already licensed in one province? See what another province asks for.
- Roadmap builder Your steps, listed fees and time for one occupation and province.
- Language test scores Minimum IELTS, CELPIP and other scores, by occupation and province.
- Credential assessments Which regulators ask for an assessment of your education.
- Licensing exams Which exams each regulator asks for.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.